We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE SERVICE”
Review of Claddagh Pubs of Newport LLC - CLOSED

Claddagh Pubs of Newport LLC
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE SERVICE”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We went around 1:45 on a Saturday, after the lunch hour crowd had thinned out. We were seated immediately, and it took nearly 15 minutes to have a waitress even approach us (the host had to go get her). She took our orders, and 15 minutes later she comes back to tell my fiance that they are out of his choice, and he needs to make another order. She then disappears for the rest of the meal.

He had to go to the bar to get his own beer (the one he had placed an order with her for) bc she could not find the time to go and bring it to him. I had to flag down the host for a refill on my diet coke. When the busser finally brought our food out, it was ok.

She finally reappears to hand us the check and is not hasty in processing the order. WORST. WAITRESS. EVER.

I understand it was a Saturday at Newport Aquarium, but the restaurant was not busy due to the late lunch. I will NEVER be back there or to any other of their chains.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    13
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, GA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, good food, good time”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Claddagh's was my son's choice for his 40th birthday dinner. Seating was by an open fireplace with great view of a snowy evening on the Ohio River. Friendly service, good choices for ages ranging from 10 to senior. The grilled salmon on colcannon was perfection, others at the table enjoyed shepherd's pie, baked mac 'n cheese, and steak. Bourbon soaked bread pudding was the perfect ending to the meal. One hiccup: two of us wanted Pinot Grigio, but the manager apologetically explained they were out. He offered a chardonnay instead at a reduced price. The charonnay was acceptable but not our preference. Claddagh's did not, however, run out of Guinness.

Overall, a very nice evening. Drinks, food, dessert and tip for 6: $175.00.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PATRICIA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good idea and location, poor service and cold food”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The location is great overlooking the river, the dark Irish Pub feel is just what we wanted but waitress was slow and stand off-ish. Menu described things well and seemed like great selections but it came out sloppy in preparation and some meals were cold.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChiefPontiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sub Par for Customer Service”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My husband and friend went here for Thanksgiving dinner and while the food good and our server, Matthew, was excellent, the customer service from the hostess and manager were not acceptable. We had a 2pm seating time for dinner and arrived about 1:50 and when they showed us to our table the hostess tried to put us up against a dark wall with no view of the river. There was an open 4-top table by the window that we asked if we could have that one and the hostess, very reluctantly, said she would go check. When she returned she said that that table was for a 2:30 pm seating but she could put us at this table (still behind the same dark wall but it did have two seats with a view). We said no we would rather sit here at this table by the window and you can put the other party coming at 2:30 at our table - she reluctantly gave us the table with a huge sigh. Our server came right away and took our drink order and while we were waiting for the drinks the other hostess and a manager came into the room and were giving us the look like they were thinking of moving us. Instead the manager cleans off one of the tables and dragged one of the tables (very loud and rudely I might add) very close to our table and then put a reserved sign on the other table -- was this really necessary? We were there until almost 4pm and they never did seat anyone at the table they tried to sit us at. I doubt that we will return to this place again because of the rudeness of the hostess and manager.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrishB396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible Food”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I am married to a Scottish/Irish man who loves pubs. We are very acquainted with the food available in pubs and usually all that is ordered is very good. Not here, there were 4 of us who ordered 4 different things and no one enjoyed their food. In fact, most of us left it behind and went elsewhere to get food. Very disappointing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twins1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Claddagh Pubs of Newport LLC also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing