We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is some room for improvement”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
654 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“There is some room for improvement”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

On arrival....................only one entrance to the hotel parking lot...........NO SIGNAGE. The only signage for the hotel is on the top of the building on the southern face. If arriving from the north side of the hotel, you are on your own.

The desk clerk was less than friendly......almost somewhat gruff.

On check-in they make you sign that you will pay for the in-room safe (or some kind of insurance).....(never really explained so that I could understand)..............if you do not use the safe, do not agree to pay the extra dollar (plus tax).

The room was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gold-vintner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Guest,
The staff apologizes for the inconveniences that you had to endure while staying at our River Front property. All though we only have one entry to our parking lot we do have garage parking available to our guest. We also have a sign up in front of our hotel and on our hotel, we will be looking into the issue of visibility especially at night. We do regret that you had difficulty finding our hotel. We are happy to hear that you found our hotel clean and you were able to enjoy our hotel during your stay. We would like to welcome you back should your travels bring you to the Northern Kentucky area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    135
    59
    30
    21
See reviews for
106
112
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Some of the nicest hotel staff that I have meet in a long time, they made sure that we had everything we needed and were really friendly. The hotel has a very nice location near Newport on the levee and you can easily get a trolley from the hotel. We decided to upgrade to a river view, it was a really nice view you could see Cincinnati and watch boats go along the river. I have lots of family ine area and the next time I go up there to visit I plan on staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
148 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This hotel is one of our favorites. We try to stay here every summer when we take a long weekend into Kentucky. Location is fantastic for summer nights as it is situated along the Ohio River. Very close to several restaurants and there are many attractions within walking distance as Newport is a City that is old and new combined. All of the staff has been very friendly and accommodating. The suites are awesome and are just big enough to make you feel like you are not cramped into a small space but also not lost in too much space either. Great place to stay for a long weekend!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 22 December 2014
This hotel is one of our favorites. We try to stay here every summer when we take a long weekend into Kentucky. Location is fantastic for summer nights as it is situated along the Ohio River. Very close to several restaurants and there are many attractions within walking distance as Newport is a City that is old and new combined. All of the staff has been very friendly and accommodating. The suites are awesome and are just big enough to make you feel like you are not cramped into a small space but also not lost in too much space either. Great place to stay for a long weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The comfort suites is based on the south side of Cincinnati, in Kentucky, an excellent area to visit the many bars and restaurants of Newport. Staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast is also included in the price.

Room Tip: River view is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here as a last blast trip to Kings Island the weekend before Labor Day. I will try to keep my review simple as possible. The location is great. Restaurants, grocery, Newport Aquarium in walking distance. It is right next to the river and the restaurant I ate at had amazing night time river views. The building is ok. The rooms are ok. It is just fine for a overnight stay to see one of the local attractions. NO river views from my room. The doors are thin, as well as the windows, I could everything going on all around me. The staff....ummm...no comment. I have learned to expect if stay at a cheaper place, you get less customer service. The person who checked me in and out was very nice to me and remembered my name, but the rest of the staff...just typical of the service of a lower end chain. Would I return...jury is still out. It is only thirty minutes from Kings Islands. the zoo,minutes from Cincinnati attractions...maybe...maybe not

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,
We apologize that you experienced difficulties while staying at the Comfort Suites, Newport, KY. We do take your comments seriously about staff interaction and regret that your arrival experience was less than satisfying. We do offer both riverview rooms and rooms that do not face the river. To have a room facing the river and the Cincinnati Skyline they do need to be reserved ahead of time as they stay in high demand. We are sorry that you did not have a river view facing room. In our river facing rooms you would have the same view as you did in our breakfast room. It is such a beautiful sight and we are sorry that you were not able to take advantage of that scenic view. Should you like to give us another chance to give you a great stay, please contact me direct and we can ensure that you receive a river facing room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Spent one night while in town for Bengals game. Location is great. Rooms spacious, clean and AC worked great. Beds were extremely comfortable. Front desk staff was friendly even though it was busy at check in. Only issue I had were prices are raised too much when the Bengals are playing. All the hotels do so but this place seems a little high.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spoc911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
331 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel room wasn't what I expected for a "suite". It was ok, the fridge was small and did not get very cold. Breakfast was very nice. I would stay here again, but only if I had Choice Rewards points or discounts to use.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royal5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 420 Riverboat Row, Newport, KY 41071-4556
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Newport
Comfort Suites Newport
Newport Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing