We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View Cincinnati” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Newport
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“View Cincinnati”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ask for a River view, it is worth it. Spectacular view of Cincinnati. So the hotel is clean with rooms that large enough. There are two suites and if you have need of a larger suite, these are very nice. OK, OK, some of the furniture is a bit dated, but come on, it's not a Ritz. Plenty of nearby restaurants and you can walk to the Aquarium (hint: if you are going with kids and plan to visit the aquarium more than once, spring for the membership.) Also,the pictures are fun and if you buy the flash drive, you can get a LOT of pictures. Across the street is a HUGE party store and a good place to stock up on booze :)

Room Tip: Go high and get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STLtravelerRBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 22 December 2014
Dear Newport Aquarium Fans,
Comfort Suites Riverfront is happy to learn that your family enjoyed the Newport Aquarium, while you were at the Levee. The Newport Levee is a restaurant and entertainment complex that host the Aquarium and families find so much to do there to keep everyone occupied.
Should you like to bring your family back to the area, please think of our hotel. The Great American Ballpark, home of the Cincinnati Reds, and the Paul Brown Stadium, home of the Cincinnati Bengals are very close to us as well as the US Bank Arena which host the Cincinnati Cyclones Ice Hockey Team each winter.
We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    127
    55
    29
    19
See reviews for
99
104
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have stayed at this location previously. It offers a great convenient location to downtown Cincinnati. We came to celebrate our wedding anniversary and go to a Reds/Cardinals Baseball game. We arrived at the hotel around 1:30pm and asked if we could check in. The staff members at the desk weren't really helpful just saying that our room wouldn't be ready for about an hour. The problem to me is that other people were checking in during this same time. (Maybe they could give an explanation for why our room isn't ready but other's is ready - it would just come across better to the person checking in if it was the type of room or other reason that caused the delay for one person but not another). The room was clean. You do have to pay a $1 safe fee even if you don't want to use the safe (And the safe is in an awkward location under the sink in the bathroom). The room we had was on the second floor right near the breakfast room. When we arrived there was a large family gathering in this area so it was VERY noisy in our room. Would recommend if you are staying on the second floor you ask for a room furthest from the elevator/breakfast area. Breakfast the next day was good for a free breakfast. Waffles, eggs, crumbled bacon, cereal, milk and yogurt along with a few Danish. Breakfast area has a nice view of the river. There is a Burger King, Subway, Don Pablos, Joe's Crab Shack and a few other restaurants within a short walking distance as well. TANK Bus Stop is right outside the hotel and makes a cheap way to transport around Newport and over to Cincy for the ball game. $1 per person per way. Much cheaper than parking at the game!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slags68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay this past weekend. We greatly appreciate your loyalty to Comfort Suites. As you stated our hotel is in a great location as it allows our guest to experience Newport Levee our entertainment and restaurant complex featuring the Newport Aquarium an d themed dinning at its best. The charming Southbank Shuttle does stop directly behind our hotel and will take passengers around the Newport and to the south Cincinnati attractions such as the Cincinnati Reds and Cincinnati Bengals stadiums. They are also within walking distance of our hotel via the pedestrian bridges that are quite close to our hotel. We do apologize for the confusion during check in time, our check in time is at 4pm and sometimes there are delays, such as other guest already on a waiting list for an early check in as we try our best to honor these request. and waiting on a specific room type to be cleared of guest than our housekeepers to enter the room and clean it to perfection. Our check out time is 11am, and all though we ask guest to please be respectful of this, some do need a little extra time departing, maybe it is because of the stunning River Views our rooms offer! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast in our Galley that offers large windows to enjoy the view of the Ohio River with the Cincinnati Skyline the other side of the river bank. Thank you for visiting us once again, we look forward to your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were looking for a place to stay one night while in the area to attend a Reds game. This Comfort Suites is perfect. Great location, convenient for using the trolley system into downtown
Cincinnati to attend the game or other events, free parking a plus.

Terrific view if you request and get a room facing the river, but be prepared for noise if you
are near the elevators and an additional caution for the very thin walls and slamming doors.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifeisonetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 22 December 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for selecting our hotel while the Cincinnati Reds were playing at the Great American Ballpark. With our location, guest may use the South Bank Shuttle to take them to the Ballpark for $1.00 per ride. Also guest may walk across the pedestrian bridges or even take a Water Taxi to transport them across the Ohio River. With the Newport Levee just 3 ½ blocks from our hotel, there is no shortage on entertainment that surrounds our hotel. Please think of Comfort Suites Newport once again should you come out for another Reds Game.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ann arbor
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Family of 4 we stayed late April for a quck get away for our kid's birthday. We arrived at 9 pm and we could tell it was going to be a busy weekend at this hotel because the parking lot was nearly full. The wait for check in was delayed a little by a clerk who was working alone and struggling with keys that weren't working. This is the point where I could go off and complain about staffing levels, but I won't because the young woman was so polite and honest about her struggles that the three parties waiting to check in could see she was truly making lemonade out of lemons. The room was nice. Clean and with a great view of downtown Cincinnati. I paid a little extra for the view and thought it was worth. I took a big chance on traveling to a hotel without a pool with kids, but we were so close to entertainment that it was okay. Newport on the Levee is within walking distance and it has shopping, movies and lots of restaurants. There is a trolley stop right outside the hotel that will take you around. Lots of fun activities easily accessible from this location. Breakfast was great and clean. The hotel was nicely appointed and easy to locate. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: River view is worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cadchick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your bringing your family to Newport, KY. Our hotel is within 3 blocks of the Newport Levee with a lot of activities for families to participate in such as the Newport Aquarium, Star Lanes, Theatre and themed Restaurants. Thank you for the kind words about our front desk staff, unfortunately we do not live in a perfect world and sometimes as much as we are proactive, things do malfunction. I am glad to see that she was able to assist you in a professional manner during a stressful situation. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the River View that your room offered. Some of our guest state that it is therapeutic to sit in front of the windows and watch the sunset as the moon rises above the Ohio River with the Cincinnati Skyline in the distance. Thank you for your kind comments once again about our hotel and staff. We definitely welcome you and your family back to once again experience Newport at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed two nights to explore Cincinnati and go to Reds games. The room was nice and spacious, and the staff was courteous and helpful. I arrived early in the morning and they held my luggage while I explored Newport until my room was ready. The breakfast was a typical hotel breakfast, but I liked the flavored waffles and raspberry lemonade.

There are several restaurants within walking distance and it is a short walk from Newport on the Levee. I didn't have a car but it is easy to get around. There is a Southbank Shuttle stop across the street from the parking lot that will take you to and from Cincinnati/Covington for $1. I went to two night games and felt safe when traveling back to the hotel on the shuttle.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sameoldmelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,
You summed it up beautifully in your comments – no car needed while staying at the Comfort Suites Newport!! We are within walking distance of all the local attractions including the Cincinnati Reds and for those going out further in our area the Southbank Shuttle stops at our hotel and will take our guest around the Newport/Covington area and Cincinnati. A one way ticket is $1.00 and for only $3.00 one can purchase an all day pass. The Newport Levee, an entertainment and restaurant complex featuring the Newport Aquarium, is all within 3 blocks of our hotel. We invite you stay with us once again to explore and discover Northern Kentucky, the South Side of Cincinnati.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torreon, Mexico
Level Contributor
203 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

we stayed here for 4 nights to check out cincinnati..........was a short cab ride to reds games......my wife really enjoyed antique shops in newport,bellevue and dayton, kentucky...........plus having the chart house next door was a real treat for me as i enjoyed drinks and seafood...........the beds were wonderful and the river view was nice.......will definatley stay here if and when we return to cincinnati...........good job to the staff of this hotel!!

Room Tip: ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 77mockmotorspitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,
It is wonderful to hear that you and your wife were able to explore our area and take in some of our unique attractions. The antique shops in the area are full of items from Northern Kentucky and Cincinnati’s history that you can take home with you. The Cincinnati Reds are only a short distance away, either by cab, Southbank Shuttle, Water Taxi or just a short walk away via our pedestrian bridges. The Chart House, located directly behind our hotel is an amazing River View Restaurant that offers our guest one culinary delight after another. Please think of us again when you return to our region as we would be happy to have the opportunity to serve you and your spouse once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Pretty typical Comfort Inn and Suites, but the location was perfect for our needs. Apparently, a lot of activity in and around the Cincinnati area this weekend so the rate was outrageous. Room was clean, reasonably updated, with a mini-fridge and microwave. Big plus was a large number of outlets on the small desk. Breakfast had many options although the hot breakfast was meh. Good comfortable stay and would have rated it a 4 star had the rate been better.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for letting us know that you had a comfortable stay at our Comfort Suites Newport. I am happy to see that you enjoyed the amenities that your suite offered and our complimentary breakfast. During the first weekend of May the Flying Pig Marathon takes place in Cincinnati. Each year attendance has grown and we are proud to have this nationally recognized race so close to Northern Kentucky. This weekend also host the Newport Levee Chili Cook Off, the Cincinnati Reds Game and a numerous amount of other entertainment is occurring. Due to the activities our rates reflect the demand upon the area and our River Front Location next to Newport Levee. Please consider our hotel once again, perhaps when things are a little bit more quiet in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#12 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 420 Riverboat Row, Newport, KY 41071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Newport
Comfort Suites Newport
Newport Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing