We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved This Place!”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed in a river view room. It Was Awesome! This is a must if you are going to stay here. They give you a firm and soft pillow so you can choose which one you want and not have to fold a pillow three times to get comfortable. The breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, waffles and the usual pastries. Several restaurants within walking distance. They do charge you $1.00 (plus tax) per day for the room safe, even if you don't use it. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,
It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your guest room along with the River View it offerred. In each of our rooms a variety of pillows are placed out so that our guest receive just the right one for sleepring preferences. We do hope that along with the great complimentary breakfast you received you once again enjoyed the River View that our Galley gives to our guest while they partake in our morning meal. Our rooms do include a safe for valuables so that our guest may feel secure in leaving items behind while they take advantage of our ideal location alongside the banks of the Ohio River. With the Newport Levee only 3 blocks away, there is so much to do and see while in Newport. We welcome you to return to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed here one night to see a concert at Newport Syndicate. The check-in staff was extremely friendly and efficient and the room was clean and comfortable. The price is very reasonable and the hotel is close to the freeway..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRK1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We do hope that you enjoyed your concert at the nearby Syndicate, we are happy that our location worked out for you. We are ideally located near both entrances to the North and South Frewways and just 3 blocks from the Newport Levee which host the Newport Aquarium. Thank you for your kinds words about our staff, it is nice to see that you had a great arrival experience and your room added to the enjoyment of your overall stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I arrived in town early and the staff was AWESOME at accommodating me with an earlier check-in. Their systems were down but everything was handled so professionally and stress free. The girls at the front desk were helpful in recommending restaurants and attractions and the room had an awesome riverfront view. I will absolutely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ecady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We are excited to see that you were pleased with your arrival experience even though we were having technical difficulties with our system. I am glad to see that you were given assistance in your restaurant selection. We have so many, 80, restaurants within walking distance along with numerous attractions as the Newport Levee is only 3 blocks from our hotel. Sounds like you had a great time in our River View guest room! Thank you for our comments about our hotel and please know that we welcome you back to Comfort Suites Newport to experience all that our hotel and its location has to offer you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ask for a River view, it is worth it. Spectacular view of Cincinnati. So the hotel is clean with rooms that large enough. There are two suites and if you have need of a larger suite, these are very nice. OK, OK, some of the furniture is a bit dated, but come on, it's not a Ritz. Plenty of nearby restaurants and you can walk to the Aquarium (hint: if you are going with kids and plan to visit the aquarium more than once, spring for the membership.) Also,the pictures are fun and if you buy the flash drive, you can get a LOT of pictures. Across the street is a HUGE party store and a good place to stock up on booze :)

Room Tip: Go high and get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STLtravelerRBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2014

Dear Newport Aquarium Fans,
Comfort Suites Riverfront is happy to learn that your family enjoyed the Newport Aquarium, while you were at the Levee. The Newport Levee is a restaurant and entertainment complex that host the Aquarium and families find so much to do there to keep everyone occupied.
Should you like to bring your family back to the area, please think of our hotel. The Great American Ballpark, home of the Cincinnati Reds, and the Paul Brown Stadium, home of the Cincinnati Bengals are very close to us as well as the US Bank Arena which host the Cincinnati Cyclones Ice Hockey Team each winter.
We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have stayed at this location previously. It offers a great convenient location to downtown Cincinnati. We came to celebrate our wedding anniversary and go to a Reds/Cardinals Baseball game. We arrived at the hotel around 1:30pm and asked if we could check in. The staff members at the desk weren't really helpful just saying that our room wouldn't be ready for about an hour. The problem to me is that other people were checking in during this same time. (Maybe they could give an explanation for why our room isn't ready but other's is ready - it would just come across better to the person checking in if it was the type of room or other reason that caused the delay for one person but not another). The room was clean. You do have to pay a $1 safe fee even if you don't want to use the safe (And the safe is in an awkward location under the sink in the bathroom). The room we had was on the second floor right near the breakfast room. When we arrived there was a large family gathering in this area so it was VERY noisy in our room. Would recommend if you are staying on the second floor you ask for a room furthest from the elevator/breakfast area. Breakfast the next day was good for a free breakfast. Waffles, eggs, crumbled bacon, cereal, milk and yogurt along with a few Danish. Breakfast area has a nice view of the river. There is a Burger King, Subway, Don Pablos, Joe's Crab Shack and a few other restaurants within a short walking distance as well. TANK Bus Stop is right outside the hotel and makes a cheap way to transport around Newport and over to Cincy for the ball game. $1 per person per way. Much cheaper than parking at the game!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slags68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay this past weekend. We greatly appreciate your loyalty to Comfort Suites. As you stated our hotel is in a great location as it allows our guest to experience Newport Levee our entertainment and restaurant complex featuring the Newport Aquarium an d themed dinning at its best. The charming Southbank Shuttle does stop directly behind our hotel and will take passengers around the Newport and to the south Cincinnati attractions such as the Cincinnati Reds and Cincinnati Bengals stadiums. They are also within walking distance of our hotel via the pedestrian bridges that are quite close to our hotel. We do apologize for the confusion during check in time, our check in time is at 4pm and sometimes there are delays, such as other guest already on a waiting list for an early check in as we try our best to honor these request. and waiting on a specific room type to be cleared of guest than our housekeepers to enter the room and clean it to perfection. Our check out time is 11am, and all though we ask guest to please be respectful of this, some do need a little extra time departing, maybe it is because of the stunning River Views our rooms offer! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast in our Galley that offers large windows to enjoy the view of the Ohio River with the Cincinnati Skyline the other side of the river bank. Thank you for visiting us once again, we look forward to your future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were looking for a place to stay one night while in the area to attend a Reds game. This Comfort Suites is perfect. Great location, convenient for using the trolley system into downtown
Cincinnati to attend the game or other events, free parking a plus.

Terrific view if you request and get a room facing the river, but be prepared for noise if you
are near the elevators and an additional caution for the very thin walls and slamming doors.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lifeisonetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for selecting our hotel while the Cincinnati Reds were playing at the Great American Ballpark. With our location, guest may use the South Bank Shuttle to take them to the Ballpark for $1.00 per ride. Also guest may walk across the pedestrian bridges or even take a Water Taxi to transport them across the Ohio River. With the Newport Levee just 3 ½ blocks from our hotel, there is no shortage on entertainment that surrounds our hotel. Please think of Comfort Suites Newport once again should you come out for another Reds Game.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Family of 4 we stayed late April for a quck get away for our kid's birthday. We arrived at 9 pm and we could tell it was going to be a busy weekend at this hotel because the parking lot was nearly full. The wait for check in was delayed a little by a clerk who was working alone and struggling with keys that weren't working. This is the point where I could go off and complain about staffing levels, but I won't because the young woman was so polite and honest about her struggles that the three parties waiting to check in could see she was truly making lemonade out of lemons. The room was nice. Clean and with a great view of downtown Cincinnati. I paid a little extra for the view and thought it was worth. I took a big chance on traveling to a hotel without a pool with kids, but we were so close to entertainment that it was okay. Newport on the Levee is within walking distance and it has shopping, movies and lots of restaurants. There is a trolley stop right outside the hotel that will take you around. Lots of fun activities easily accessible from this location. Breakfast was great and clean. The hotel was nicely appointed and easy to locate. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: River view is worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cadchick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabitha M, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your bringing your family to Newport, KY. Our hotel is within 3 blocks of the Newport Levee with a lot of activities for families to participate in such as the Newport Aquarium, Star Lanes, Theatre and themed Restaurants. Thank you for the kind words about our front desk staff, unfortunately we do not live in a perfect world and sometimes as much as we are proactive, things do malfunction. I am glad to see that she was able to assist you in a professional manner during a stressful situation. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the River View that your room offered. Some of our guest state that it is therapeutic to sit in front of the windows and watch the sunset as the moon rises above the Ohio River with the Cincinnati Skyline in the distance. Thank you for your kind comments once again about our hotel and staff. We definitely welcome you and your family back to once again experience Newport at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.5 mi away
Aloft Newport on the Levee
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport / Cincinnati
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cincinnati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cincinnati Riverfront
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cincinnati - RiverCenter (Covington, KY)
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Cincinnati Riverfront Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 420 Riverboat Row, Newport, KY 41071-4556
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: £82 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Newport
Comfort Suites Newport
Newport Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing