We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HoJo isn't so good anymore”
Review of Derby Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Derby Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Nicholasville
Reviewed 29 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank PaulFairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Don't know if it was one time things but the place was half flooded, smelled like death,old crusty food be hide the bed and tv. Also sounded like people where running around moving heavy things upstairs all night. Bathroom was nice tho

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

OK this is not the Ritz but it is a great place to stay if you are traveling with a pet and are not looking for luxury! It is clean, the staff is friendly, and the breakfast is fine for what we look for. We have stayed in this hotel for the past three years during the Thanksgiving holiday while visiting my sister, we have had nothing but great experiences staying here. Plus the price is great!!!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Sfarrishoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
3  Thank TackettJT
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We spent the night at the hotel from Jan 25 to Jan 26, 2014. There was snow in the parking lot. We were unable to park in Handicap parking due to the snow. They had not hired anyone to clean the parking lot. That should have been our first indicator there would be problems. When we checked in, we found out they had frozen pipes on one half of the hotel. I asked the desk clerk, if they were going to clean the parking lot. There was no response. On Jan 26 when we were leaving, my husband slipped in the parking lot and hit his knee. Due to the pain of the fall, he was having severe chest pains. We went straight to the hospital in Nicholasville. We spent 4 hours in the ER room. The knee was ok, but swollen and the chest pains calmed down. I reported this to the desk clerk with the paper work for Howard Johnson to pay the bill since it was a slip and fall in their parking lot because of the ice not being removed. When I got home from Kentucky, I called the corporate Howard Johnson Customer Support to report the issue also. Then by email, they advised us to deal with the owner of the Howard Johnson of Nicholasville. Well, I am receiving the Hospital bills and will have to pay them. So Make sure you do not fall or get injured on the premises of a Howard Johnson because they will not take care of you. It makes me wonder if the owner has Hotel insurance on his property.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nicholasville
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Lexington South
Comfort Inn Lexington South
#1 of 4 in Nicholasville
65 reviews
9.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nicholasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Home Place Inn
Home Place Inn
#3 of 4 in Nicholasville
12 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Corner House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derby Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derby Inn & Suites

Address: 2149 Lexington Rd, Nicholasville, KY 40356-9702 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Nicholasville/Lexington)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Nicholasville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Nicholasville
Price Range: £45 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Derby Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Derby Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing