We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular stop in Pikeville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brookshire Inn Pikeville
Ranked #3 of 4 Pikeville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This is my regular stop in Pikeville. It is well situated to major highways, shopping, gas, etc. It is an older facility with dated furnishings - but smaller flat screen tv's have recently been added. One side of the hotel is 'quieter' than the other - so ask about this at check-in. There is a breakfast room that opens at 6am - but on my stay another guest was making a pot of coffee in the dark at 6:10 - ? My one concern is the rates - seems a bit 'pricey' for this category of property (one other guest made the same comment to me). The one shining star is the staff - who are all very friendly, helpful and accommodating - probably one big reason people come back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at Brookshire Inn on Tuesday night, September 4, 2012. The first experience was the key to the assigned room didn't work. The front desk clerk shrugged it off as the maitenance man was to fix the door with a battery. She did let us in each time that we left the room. However, we thought...ok, this is small. Surely paying $74.00 a night, it will be worth it. After all...we were getting a free door lady.

Upon entering the non-smoking room, it was very musky and smelled of smoke. We then asked our door lady for a can of aerosol to freshen the room. The odor was that bad! Putting our luggage away, we noticed three roaches on their back around the garbage cans. Their legs were still moving. Calling the front desk again, the lady came and got the three roaches up, not saying anything. I am sure this room isn't the only room that has roaches, although we didn't go looking. We were easily seeing enough. When roaches are found, they are usually infested in the walls.

The beds are very uncomfortable. You can tell by sleeping on the mattress springs they haven't been upgraded for some time. I think a bed of nails would have been more comfortable. We should have gone next door to Lowe's and purchased some.

If you want to pay $74 for a door lady, bad musky smell, free cigarette smoke (even when you don't smoke), roaches and not at all good beds....the Brookshire Inn in Pikeville, KY is for you!

Brookshire's manager and front desk clerk can vouch for the statements that I shared.

Room Tip: Bypass the Brookshire Motel and search for other rooms in Pikeville. If no other available, go elsew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at Brookshire Inn on Friday August 31, 2012. It was a real nice and clean motel,,Employees were very friendly and helpful...The only fault i had was the full size beds...not good for two slightly overweight people.
Would recommend this to anyone..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grannyn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

If your just passing through, it's a great value. If you would like WI-FI and a warm breakfast, cross the parking lot to the Burger King. I would not recommend it for traveling professionals/businessmen. But if you need a shower, bed, and to be close to major highways, shopping and restaurants this may be a good fit for you.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDaddy083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Hotel is an old Super 8 and the only we reason I stayed was because all the other hotels in the area were booked and worked forced an overnight stay. The staff was friendly but the hotel appeared quite old and shows the age. My room was "non smoking" however it reeked of cigarette smoke. The bathroom also smelled of old urine, not very pleasant. Minus the smoke and urine smell the room was okay, for one night....however at midnight the fun began! Every 30 minutes (or so) a train would pass the hotel shaking the room and the horn would blare!! It was like the train was in the room! When the sun rose a look out the window revealed a train track approximately 50 yards away! A trip down for "breakfast" in the morning topped the stay off, nothing but a few donuts, bagels, coffee and some containers of orange juice!

Again, the front desk staff and cleaning crew were nice but the hotel itself is in a poor location and shows that it's very old. If you don't need any sleep and don't eat breakfast then this is the prime choice for you, otherwise I would avoid this location at all costs.

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeBrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

I have had the occasion to stay at this motel twice in December, 2010. 2 nites the first time and 3 nites the second time. Both times, the entire staff has been very courteous, friendly and very informative about the area. The rooms are very clean and neat and have a fridge, microwave, cable tv, iron & board. I have not had any problems with the wireless internet access or speed. Worked fine. Nice little continental breakfast bar and good coffee. It is close to shopping & restaurants. For the price and friendliness it's a nice place to stay and I will stay there again. I will recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry40744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Have stayed at this property when it was formerly the Super 8. As I understand it, local group purchased property and changed to Brooksire.

Have remodeled some--bedding seems improved since last stay. I would still call this a vedry average place. Staff was friendly and location is good next to Applebees, etc...in Pikeville.

Place was clean but offer much in terms of ammenities. Internet service was terrible. Always stated that too many people were trying to access. Limited ability to get online.

Simply put, stayed here because other properties in Pikeville are too high. Saved $30 a night at this place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Milbs_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pikeville hotels
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pikeville
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Pikeville
Hampton Inn Pikeville
#1 of 5 in Pikeville
584 reviews
2.5 mi away
Daniel Boone Motor Inn
Daniel Boone Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Pikeville
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pikeville
2.1 mi away
The Landmark Hotel
The Landmark Hotel
#1 of 4 in Pikeville
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookshire Inn Pikeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookshire Inn Pikeville

Address: 123 Alexandra Dr, Pikeville, KY 41501
Region: United States > Kentucky > Pikeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pikeville
Price Range: £81 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brookshire Inn Pikeville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Brookshire Inn Pikeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing