We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly but Slow Internet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pikeville
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pikeville
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Recently stayed a week here for work and was pleased with my stay. Check in was fast and simple and the front desk staff was extremely friendly. When I arrived I was very pleased with how clean my room was. I had a suite room with 2 queen beds and was impressed by the size of the room. Even had a separate room with a couch and TV. This hotel is beginning to show its age a little bit, especially in the bathroom-tiles and bath tub need replaced. But the bathroom was spacious and had plenty of sink space. The day to day room cleaning was done really well, only bad thing is they start cleaning by 9am which may wake you up if you are trying to sleep in. There are a few restaurants all really close; Dairy Queen, Captain D's, Mexican Restaurant and local Italian place Applebee's and Texas Roadhouse is only about 5 minutes down the road.

Only real bad thing about the hotel was the internet speed. It was terribly slow, both wifi and cable, and made the simple task of doing emails difficult because of this. I found the internet on my phone to be 10 times as fast as what the hotel provided. Also it seemed as if there was very little parking. If you have a large vehicle or a pull behind trailer not sure where you would be able to park it.

I never had any problems with the noise level from the nearby highway and slept well every night. If I'm back in Pikeville I will stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G-Man09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Pikeville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights while visiting family, clean rooms, kids played in pool both days, nice breakfast with good service, friendly staff overall, good location to restaurants, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

One night business stay. If you are approaching this hotel from the west, be sure and turn right in before you reach the hotel and then take a sharp curve away from the hotel, follow the fence until it ends and then turn into what looks like a parking lot for a fast food place. Trust me, it is the entrance road. You will see a blood bank and head for it and you will reach the hotel. After you get to the hotel you will enjoy a nice property with friendly staff. Check-in was quick, the room was large and clean, and the bed comfortable for a good night's sleep. The hotel is on the river and you can walk down to the river edge. It made me wish for a fishing pole but not sure about license requirements and such. It also looked like a boat ramp but not sure if it was public of not. There are a few places to eat nearby but I took a ride into Pikeville and learned more about the Pikeville cut. Fascinating story about moving the mountain, filling in the river bed and creating 400 acres of land for Pikeville. An interesting place and a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sometrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I am glad we chose to stay at the Holiday Inn. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. There are many food choices near the hotel. Yes it is close to the road and the railroad tracks and yes you can here the vehicles, however at night with the air conditioning unit running I was never disturbed by these.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaseballFamilyOfFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My family and I thought the staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and large. Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast of fresh pancakes, gravy & biscuits and hot cinnamon rolls. We will stay here again when visiting the area.

Room Tip: My tip is not about the best room to choose, but about how to get into the hotel parking lot. It is...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieDG143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We needed to travel to town for a Funeral. There was very limited selection, but we were familiar with the Holiday Inn. We were there for 2 nights and have no complaints. We checked in very late with no issues. There were some cookies waiting in the lobby for us. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was okay, but limited if you are vegetarian or vegan. Only issue was that the remote for the TV did not work. However, I didn't notify them to let them get a chance to fix. So, really that is fine.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Second time staying this past weekend. Second time my room with a king sized bed given away. The advise of the front desk clerk; call the hotel directly after making online reservation to ensure you get what you want. Hhhhmmmm good advise. The Internet means nothing.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pikeville, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Steven C,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pikeville
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Pikeville
Hampton Inn Pikeville
#1 of 5 in Pikeville
557 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pikeville
19.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 5 in Prestonsburg
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Quality Inn Prestonsburg
Quality Inn Prestonsburg
#3 of 5 in Prestonsburg
50 reviews
19.8 mi away
Brookshire Inn Prestonsburg
Brookshire Inn Prestonsburg
#4 of 5 in Prestonsburg
37 reviews
22.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Clintwood
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pikeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pikeville

Address: 476 S Mayo Trl, Pikeville, KY 41501-1524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Pikeville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pikeville
Price Range: £79 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Pikeville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Pikeville Hotel. Hotel features include complimentary Express Start breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience with our new Smart Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of juices, cereals, breads/pastries, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravey, scrambled eggs, cheese omlets, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Pikeville, KY and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. The official host hotel for East Kentucky Expo Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pikeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pikeville Hotel Pikeville
Holiday Inn Pikeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing