We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old, filthy, bugs... camping in the ditch is cleaner.”
Review of Fort Knox Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Radcliff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort Knox Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Radcliff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Old, filthy, bugs... camping in the ditch is cleaner.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Rolled in late at night. It was dark, and a storm was coming. Beware, the potholes in the parking lot are very deep when filled with water. I was a single but was charged a $45 double rate as there were 2 beds in the room. Got room 115 on the second floor. I think someone was still living there and planning to come back, because there was still a bunch of old food in the 1950's style fridge kitchen unit after opening the mouldy door. Someones big bar of blue soap was still in the shower. Couldn't use the fan as the bearings were shot and sounded like rocks in a washing machine. Didn't have much light in the room, but it didn't matter much as I was able to kill the crawling bugs as they were large enough to see even in the dim light. Was up on the second floor, which after tripping on garbage and old carpet mats below the stairs, does offer a nice view down into the enclosure with the mattresses leaned up against it where the dumpster was supposed to go, but is full of old broken toilets, and motel parts. Fortunately, you don't see them at night because there are no lights in the dark parking lot, and as such, it must be a lot safer as thieves cant afford night vision goggles. Didn't have to worry about a dirty cup as there wasn't any. Drank from my old beverage can I saved. I did get a free foot pumice from all the dirt and sand in the carpets, so I guess it was worth it.

Room Tip: Check out the room first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxHOMEBREWxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    0
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
citronelle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed here for a couple of weeks while my husband worked a shut down. The service was great, people were friendly & it was very clean. Some rooms were a bit old,but they were cutting it while we were there. I would stay here again any day!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsmiller79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloxi, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

The person at the front desk acted like we were bothering him by checking into the hotel. I was caught off guard, as this was the first hotel that wanted me to pay before I checked out. I guess that is their way of making sure they get their money, before you see the room. When we walked into the room, I could see why they wanted me to pay before I saw the room. The room had a bad smell, and the carpet needed some work. I would recommend you bring your own bedsheets for your own safety. Good luck on which tv channels are in your room. Not all the rooms have the same channel. My brother stayed in the room two doors down, and had ESPN, and HGTV, and I had neither channel. The room has a double sink, but only has one working faucet. My fridge door had tape to help the seal. Water pressure at the hotel was horrible. Make sure you bring shower shoes, and your own towels. We had to run to Wal-Mart, because they linen they had in the room was dirty. The shower curtain was paper thin. The towels I bought worked better then the curtain. They have an ice maker by the front office, but they have a lock on it. I asked for the key, so I could keep my drinks cold from our trip, but he wanted me to pay for the ice. For the money I was paying there is no reason for me to pay you for ice, especially in this hotel. The guy went to the back and gave me a half a bag of ice that he probably brought from one of the gas stations. Recommend this hotel as your last possible option. Try to find anything else before having to resort to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AB1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Radcliff hotels

Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2010

There was a couch and two chairs in the room that have not been washed since the motel opened. We asked for extra towels and were given towels that smelled like cigarettes along with yellow washcloths that smelled as well. I agree the locks on the doors were pretty flimsey.
We were also attending a graduation for my son and rooms were booking up fast. Base housing was full. Do some extra checking and spend a little more than we did. If I could do it all again I would spend the $89.00 a night and stay at the Gold Vault Inn. We spent $52.00 a night and we got what we paid for. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfoows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Effingham, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

I was very pleased with with Fort Knox Inn. No, it wasn't perfect but it was clean, safe and close to everything we wanted to go to. The man behind the desk was very helpful and arranged for us to get in quick so we could be on our way to our activities. The rooms were clean and adequate. The carpet was new in the two rooms we rented, the beds were comfortable and everything worked except one faucet on a two sink counter. The furniture didn't look new but I didn't see anything broken. I would recommend this motel to my friends and family because they, like me, would rather spend my money on things I can take home with me instead of an over priced room. Fort Knox Inn was comfortable, safe. convenience. Need I say anything else?

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SabEffingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

I recently went to Ft. Knox for a graduation. There was so much going on there that week that I couldn't get a room on post or near it. There is a small cluster of motels close to the south gate and they were all booked. The Fort Knox Inn was the only one with a room and since I only needed it for one night, I took it.
Let me say that the place was very clean. I pulled back the sheets and the mattress was newer and comfortable. It looked like the rooms had been painted recently and the carpet was newer. That said, the place is full of old, beat up furniture. The handles on the dressers were all broken off and they drilled new holes and put in knobs. The bathroom had two sinks, but only one had a faucet knob. The shower had one of those paper thin shower curtains and it was ripped. The water pressure was so low in the toilets, I guess that's why they have a plunger there for you.

There's a kitchenette in the room with a new frig, but they left the old microwave on top of the new one and the cabinets were from the 1970's. The chairs by the window were stained and you wouldn't want to sit in them. The table didn't match anything else in the room. The second bed was almost up against the cabinets.

When I checked in, the office is full of cigarette smoke and the man checking me in, though he was very nice, couldn't be bothered putting his cigarette out and didn't care that the smoke was right in my face the whole time I was trying to sign in! There is a coffemaker on an old table in the office, which I assumed was for guests, and a vending machine outside. There is a Chinese restaurant attached to it.

At night the place filled up. At only $50 a night it seemed to be popular with out of town workers and was well lit, so I did feel safe.

All in all, try to get into one of the better chains or on post. Use this place as a last resort!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radcliff
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Radcliff/Fort Knox
0.1 mi away
Gold Vault Inn
Gold Vault Inn
#4 of 8 in Radcliff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Radcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Radcliff - Fort Knox
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Elizabethtown
12.0 mi away
Ramada Elizabethtown
Ramada Elizabethtown
#5 of 17 in Elizabethtown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Knox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Knox Inn

Property: Fort Knox Inn
Address: 1400 N. Dixie Blvd., Radcliff, KY 40160
Region: United States > Kentucky > Radcliff
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Radcliff
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing