We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating piece of Kentucky history”

White Hall State Historic Site
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: White Hall State Historic Site was the home of Cassius Marcellus Clay, 19th century emancipationist, politician, newspaper publisher, Ambassador to Russia, and friend to Abraham Lincoln. The restored Italianate mansion was built in 1798 and remodeled in the 1860s. General Green Clay built the original brick Georgian-style home called Clermont. Cassius M. Clay inherited the house upon his father’s passing. He and his wife Mary Jane Warfield Clay built the new addition that more than doubled the size of the house and added such modern amenities as indoor plumbing and central heating.
Richmond, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fascinating piece of Kentucky history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

I love the White hall house! Beautifully restored large home with a fascinating history. Hour long tours given by guides in period costume. Special tours and events take place there several times a year, such as a Christmas open house and ghost story tours. I live nearby and always take out of town guests to visit this state historic site. A new county park is located right next door with a small, yet well stocked, fishing lake, walking and biking trails, a covered picnic shelter and restrooms. Very enjoyable place to spend an afternoon when the weather is nice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LWehrly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very informative!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Cassius Clay was quite a fellow and each time I go back it seems they have dug up some other piece of information on the home or Mr. Clay. The home itself has been wonderfully restored and seeing how the upper class lived in small town Kentucky leaves the imagination running.
Kids may not like it so much as it is pretty controlled at where you can go and they typically don't like looking at houses and furnishings anyway!
If you have an afternoon to yourself, go!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We love history so when I found this mansion after googling sites, we were happy to see it as it was only 12 minutes from the hotel we stayed at. once we got there within a few minutes into the tour we knew it was the right choice for us!! so informative and exciting. we recommend to anyone, history buff or not!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessika N James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berea Ky
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Grand Southern Style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

White Hall is a beautiful historical home that has a fascinating history. The grounds are beautiful as well ,,,,,well worth the time to walk around and enjoy. A lake has been added close to the house which makes for an even more relaxing visit. I used the gardens as a photo taking area for my great nieces,,,,,,,,,beautiful backgrounds.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kentuckywild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A national treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Probably my favorite historical site in Kentucky- and I grew up here. I never cease to be fascinated by the estate and the inhabitants.

Helpful?
1 Thank JWalters_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Hall State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to White Hall State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing