We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough. Great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shelbyville
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice enough. Great staff.”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This hotel is not fancy, but was adequate. Great staff- friendly and very helpful. Decorated for Kentucky Derby and nice selection of breakfast items. Some furniture a bit shabby looking, but all clean. Politeness and friendliness of staff made an average hotel a great experience. We got a good bargain on the rate through expedia.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    34
    19
    12
    9
See reviews for
28
20
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, Kentucky
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My room was nice & clean, I loved the way the headboard had reading lights, electric outlets, etc, right beside the bed! Breakfast offered a good variety.
Only negative during this stay was: Hearing people in hallway talking and knocking on doors.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxsSV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for complimenting on our new decor and furniture. We strive to have the best possible property and customer service. Please visit us on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

A bad experience. Reservation had been in for days, arrived at the hotel and they would not upgrade me due to my rate. Forget the fact I have been a platinum member for almost 20 years and made my reservation days in advance. Hotel front desk was not friendly, and the interstate was near my room and all night had noise from the traffic. The bathroom floor was sticky, internet service was slow, staff was not friendly, breakfast was terrible, lemonade was water as well as the orange juice, tasteless eggs and bacon, and just an bad overall experience. Was booked for more than one day and decided to leave. Bed was not comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler2492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear WorldTraveler2492,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Platinum Member and for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shelbyville hotels

Houston
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I stayed here for two nights... came in around 4 pm during the third day and asked if I could check out for only two. They told me no, which was fine... I understood the policy. So, we (I went with co-workers for business) left and told them we were going into Louisville and may or may not be back for the night but would like to for sure check out tomorrow and NOT pay for a fourth day. They said it would be fine and that they could just email our bills.

Well we ended up NOT staying the night and when I called for my bill they CHARGED me for the FOURTH day which we had specifically asked them not to do. I guess them saying that they would email our bill was a way to stick it to us. Anyways.... they ended up NOT charging my co-workers but charged me. We all left in the same rent car and everything. I will NEVER stay in a Holiday Inn again after what I have experienced. The manager will NOT call me back after I have called twice to talk to the staff. I called Holiday Inn customer relations and even they did not follow through on their promises. DO NOT STAY THERE.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Kyleen S,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We take comments such as these seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel was not bad. It is in a great location. It is a 35-minute drive from downtown Louisville, perfect if you are traveling west on I-64 and want a hotel close to the interstate without having to deal with heavy traffic in Louisville. The rooms are clean and have reading lights on each side of the bed, something I've never seen in another Holiday Inn hotel.

However, I was a little disappointed by my stay, mainly because I found the beds extremely itchy since there was no flat sheet under the duvet. Overall, it's a fine hotel and not a bad place to spend the night, but I probably won't stay here again just because there are so many other hotel options in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motowngirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Motowngirl77,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our location and cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry that the bed caused you discomfort which was unacceptable. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludington, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Room was slightly dated but clean. Reading lights above the bed were a nice touch. Breakfast was well below the HI Express Standards; cinnamon rolls were a minimum of two days old and hard as a rock, biscuits were also old, scrambled eggs could have been sipped through a straw. Internet service was extremely slow. This is foreign owned and ALL of the staff that I came in contact with were very difficult to understand; I could not understand anything the front desk clerk said when I checked in. I most likely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhkfwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I prefer to stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels when I'm traveling and was pleased to find this one in Shelbyville, KY. It was clean and had been recently renovated. I initially had a room with a king-sized bed; the two bedside tables each held a wall lamp and a bedside spotlight, something I had never seen before, but liked. There were also bedside electrical outlets at the bedside -- a nice touch for someone who takes her laptop to bed with her.

The sink in the bathroom had a nonfunctional plug (I couldn't release the water from the basin), so I was promptly offered a different room. This had the same amenities -- I really liked the bedside table with the built-in electrical outlets and spotlight reading lamps.

Breakfast hours are from 6:30 to 9:30 and I went down at 8 a.m. I found that many of the breakfast offerings had been depleted and hadn't been replenished, but still managed to cobble together a filling meal before I got underway. I tend to bring a tray from my room down to the breakfast room, so I can return to my room with breakfast and eat while I watch the news and dress. I appreciated having a microwave in my room as some of the breakfast items required reheating.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwillow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelbyville
Econo Lodge
#4 of 5 in Shelbyville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Frankfort
#1 of 10 in Frankfort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
East Louisville
Wingate by Wyndham Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville
Address: 110 Clubhouse Dr, Shelbyville, KY 40065-8367
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Shelbyville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shelbyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Shelbyville
Holiday Inn Shelbyville
Shelbyville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing