We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Corporate office should send in mystery guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shelbyville
barrie, ontario, canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Corporate office should send in mystery guest”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Convenient to I-64, grand southern building. Check in was efficient and accommodating, plus received water and bag of chips for being Priority member. Room looked great, at first. In shower after long day on motorcycle in high 90+ temp, turn to see hair on wall at end of tub that was nothing like mine. No restaurant nearby. King bed had uphill roll to middle. First try for coffee at breakfast met with bad cream from carafe. Second coffee was cold. Then went to room and coffee maker didn't work. First clue when carafe full of water before I could add a cup. This is not the standard for this chain. Would not stay here again.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gentletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxsSV, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thank you for recognizing our special effort to welcome Priority (IHG) club mebers. We very much appreciate your comments and sorry to hear that the coffee maker did not work to your expectation. We constantly update and upgrade our facility - coffee makers are one of those recently being replaced with newer 1-cup coffee makers in the rooms. We also provide Smart Roast coffee 24 hours in the lobby, freshly prepared every 2-4 hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    34
    19
    12
    9
See reviews for
28
20
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
452 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Arrived at this hotel and met by desk clerk who was obviously not enjoying her job. Found the room to be Ok but nothing special. After traveling to serval locations and other hotels this one had numerous faults others did not have. If you are a WiFi user or rely on it for business forget this hotel. Internet would not connect and when it did would cut out.
Bathroom was not very clean, hair on floor, tile not clean. Floor was dirty, coffee maker in bathroom did not work, roof fan did not work.
Breakfast was poor. Coffee was cold. Bread area not refilled there was only one piece in shelf and the breakfast area person was in the area but not watching anything.
Location of this hotel was poor. No restaurant within walking distance of the hotel.
No I would not return here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxsSV, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We have taken your comments and suggestions and have decided to replace all in-room coffee makers with progammable new coffee makers from Sunbeam. We are glad that you noticed that we have a full time breakfast attendent who was in training and will keep improving for the guest satisfaction for the memorable breakfast experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocola, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Spent one night at this hotel, not sure how old this hotel is, almost seems like it may have been refurbished but for the most part just an average HIE.
The front desk clerk was very nice when we arrived and took care of us quickly, they even had an easel in the lobby with the names of platinum card holders welcoming us to the hotel. Would stay here again if I was in the area. No problems or major complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffani243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxsSV, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thank you for complimenting our front desk staff and the special welcome and recognition of IHG members. We thrive for the best possible customer service. We share your view that it is unfortunate that there are only a few fast food restaurants in walking distance and glad that you rated us as the one that you would visit again and select in future for your stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asher, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We had been driving most of the day, pulled in at 10:30 pm and was in a room 10 minutes later. The front desk clerk was polite and helpful. They offer a Triple A rate and helped to find us the best rate possible. One note, IHG rewards points (Holiday Inn, etc.) do not expire! We usually stay in Choice hotels, but recently lost a lot of rewards points because they expired. I believe we are going to stay in IHG hotels from now on. I wanted to write the review right away, because these reviews really help me pick the best places to stay and visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Shannon456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxsSV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for the compliments to our customer service and room quality. Making our customers feel as valued guest and provide them the best value is what we live for. Thank you for converting to IHG guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddleston, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We were traveling east and had planned to stay at the HEI in Winchester, KY. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, quickly decided to change our plans. We made reservations for this HEI in Shelbyville, KY. The property is new (2 yrs old) and nice. The front desk person was extremely nice and helpful. Upon getting to our rooms, we found out that neither of our IPADS would connect to the wifi. We called the desk, and called the 800# helpline. The helpline and front desk personnel did all they could to help, but nothing worked. We all figured out that one of the six routers in the building (the one nearest our room) must be down. The manager (Jay) graciously upgraded us to a suite (after we checked the wifi) at no extra charge. The room was nice, spacious, and clean.
The breakfast had great bacon (more limp than crisp! - a rare thing at HEI locations!) The only (minor) negatives were the lack of cream cheese for bagels, no cranberry juice, and no sugar free syrup. Other than that... it was a great night/morning. We will be back. Thanks Jay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carterkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxsSV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for kind words and compliments. Customer service is what we take pride in and go extra mile for every guest. Your compliments on the room and breakfast are very much appreciated. On your next visit, please ask the front desk for your choice of juice, for example cranberry or grape, we would be glad to substitute the bottled juice that has more choices and variety than the fountain which is limited to four choices..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We were on our way to Cincinnati and wanted to stay close to the casino (Indiana Grand/Indiana Downs). We thought there was a shuttle bus between the casino and hotel which is about 4 miles away but it turns out it only runs on the weekend. The hotel was clean and the breakfast buffet was very nice. We were disappointed the shuttle bus wasn't running and that the pool closed at 10pm.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 1 am and were very glad to have this hotel which was neat and clean. I did not receive the usual priority club welcome but attributed it to the late arrival. We left by 7am so it was a short stay. The hotel met our needs and was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlb2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelbyville
Econo Lodge
#4 of 5 in Shelbyville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Frankfort
#1 of 10 in Frankfort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
East Louisville
Wingate by Wyndham Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville
Address: 110 Clubhouse Drive, Shelbyville, KY 40065
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Shelbyville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shelbyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Shelbyville
Holiday Inn Shelbyville
Shelbyville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing