We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Nights Sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shelbyville
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We hadn't planned on staying in the hotel, in fact we didn't have a reservation when we arrived. However this was not an issue, Stacey was working the front desk - it was quite late when we did arrive. She gave us a room with two queens and managed to check us in without too much delay.

After a short confusion over the keys we did get into our room. It was a huge room, possible a suite with two queens, sofa/seating area, kitchenette area and a large bathroom.

Having driving from DC that afternoon we were thankful to have somewhere to rest our heads. Don't let that sell this place short though, we stayed in 8 other US city hotels during our trip and had the best night sleep in this hotel! The bed was extremely comfortable, I slept solidly and didn't want to get up.

Great hotel that certainly looks the part!
I'll probably never be visiting this area again, which is a shame!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rusholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxsSV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for selecting our property for your relaxing stay. We are glad that you were very satisfied and we certainly appreciate all the complements including ones for a spacious and recently upgraded, redecorated rooms and customer service. We hope one day you will visit USA again and you are most welcomed to visit our horse country part and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is a little more worn than most we've been to lately. Pillows not as soft or fluffy, bedding a little worn. We were tired and just went to bed as we checked in late and left early without breakfast. Front desk person seemed to smoke outside alot and was absent when we called and when we checked out. Floor of our bathtub needed a scrub and bleach. Looks like they are refurbishing this place and are not done yet but it was all we needed.

Room Tip: Good place to crash
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caylinsgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxsSV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for your compliments for quite and comfortable sleep. We appreciate that you liked our refurbished room furniture. Please come back and visit us soon to enjoy all the updates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent the night here after driving all day. Reception and front desk were great. Our room was more than adequate, a great mattress and a quiet room allowed for a great nights sleep. We didn't eat breakfast as we were up early and on the road. It appeared the room had been renovated recently. Two negatives; the coffee pot needs replacing, terrible coffee and the tub floor is either dirty or the paint is peeling. We were in room 328.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrampaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxsSV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for your compliments to our customer service. We are glad you liked our renovated and recently decorated rooms and great mattress that allowed quite and great night's sleep. Unfortunately, the coffee maker in your room was not replaced with our new programmable coffee makers. Please visit us again for a free upgrade to a suite with small kitchenette and new coffee maker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had not stayed at a Holiday Inn Express hotel before and were pleasantly surprised. This was the only hotel at this exit which is in nice rural area. The room was very clean and nicely furnished and the bed was comfortable. There was a Cracker Barrel restaurant and a Waffle House just down the road. The breakfast was average. I would highly recommend for anyone traveling in this area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billatlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxsSV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for your compliments for cleanliness and nicely furnished large rooms and mattress quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Hotel is alone at the exit, so there isn't any competition. We were tired after a long day of travel. Hotel seems relatively new; rooms are nice with microwave and frig. Cleaning staff need to learn how to clean the bathrooms - a person in our group had to get their bath recleaned after finding hair, dirt and used shampoo bottles in the tub area. The front desk lady went to their room with a white glove and was disgusted herself. Our bath was clean but they need to learn to keep the stains out of the bottom of the tub. Nice lobby and breakfast area. Breakfast was the usual complimentary fare. Bed was firm; A/C units and filters may need to be checked, as the room temperature didn't seem to jibe with the setting. Easy on and off the interstate, and there is a Cracker Barrel down the street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubbette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxsSV, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you for staying at our facility with a good night sleep and your feedback. We are happy to note that your room was clean, nice and you liked the new decor and furnitute. Please come back and visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Convenient to I-64, grand southern building. Check in was efficient and accommodating, plus received water and bag of chips for being Priority member. Room looked great, at first. In shower after long day on motorcycle in high 90+ temp, turn to see hair on wall at end of tub that was nothing like mine. No restaurant nearby. King bed had uphill roll to middle. First try for coffee at breakfast met with bad cream from carafe. Second coffee was cold. Then went to room and coffee maker didn't work. First clue when carafe full of water before I could add a cup. This is not the standard for this chain. Would not stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank gentletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxsSV, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for recognizing our special effort to welcome Priority (IHG) club mebers. We very much appreciate your comments and sorry to hear that the coffee maker did not work to your expectation. We constantly update and upgrade our facility - coffee makers are one of those recently being replaced with newer 1-cup coffee makers in the rooms. We also provide Smart Roast coffee 24 hours in the lobby, freshly prepared every 2-4 hours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Arrived at this hotel and met by desk clerk who was obviously not enjoying her job. Found the room to be Ok but nothing special. After traveling to serval locations and other hotels this one had numerous faults others did not have. If you are a WiFi user or rely on it for business forget this hotel. Internet would not connect and when it did would cut out.
Bathroom was not very clean, hair on floor, tile not clean. Floor was dirty, coffee maker in bathroom did not work, roof fan did not work.
Breakfast was poor. Coffee was cold. Bread area not refilled there was only one piece in shelf and the breakfast area person was in the area but not watching anything.
Location of this hotel was poor. No restaurant within walking distance of the hotel.
No I would not return here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIxsSV, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for your comments. We have taken your comments and suggestions and have decided to replace all in-room coffee makers with progammable new coffee makers from Sunbeam. We are glad that you noticed that we have a full time breakfast attendent who was in training and will keep improving for the guest satisfaction for the memorable breakfast experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelbyville
Econo Lodge
#4 of 5 in Shelbyville
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Louisville
Wingate by Wyndham Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville

Address: 110 Clubhouse Dr, Shelbyville, KY 40065-8367
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Shelbyville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Shelbyville
Price Range: £71 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Shelbyville
Holiday Inn Shelbyville
Shelbyville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing