We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family and friends carry out.”
Review of Ken-Tex Bar-B-Q

Ken-Tex Bar-B-Q
Ranked #30 of 61 Restaurants in Shelbyville
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Berry, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Family and friends carry out.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The ribs were tender and juicy..excellent! Briscut was a little dry for my taste. Coleslaw & beans were very good. The barbeque sauce was a little sour for my taste, but that was just me!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaBerry_Kentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
463 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Great selection they had a very good selection on the menu. Food was cooked very well. The quantity was good. Food taste great and service was excellent and fast.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, Small little hole in the wall joint! I'd give it a B.”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

The food was good! I loved the BBQ Pork Sandwich. Awesome potato salad and amaaaaaazing baked beans. Great value for the price! Over all, it wasn't a clean restaurant. The staff, yes younger guys, but very nice! A great place to stop for something quick right off the highway.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fisherville
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Flavor”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My wife & I stopped in at Ken-Tex Bar-B-Q for a take home meal. We had the Pork Bar-B-Q & Slaw. The pork was the best I have had in ages. Real smoke flavor. I've not found this in some of the larger restaurants in Louisville. The slaw was also very good. The two young men who waited on us were very nice & friendly. This place is well worth the drive to Shelbyville if you like real smoke flavored Bar-B-Q. We will be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Made the now annual trip to Ken-Tex and service was better at least :)”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Trying to throw a bone here as the service was finally friendly and reasonable. The food hadn't improved any as none of us could finish it but in that regard they're consistent. It's the same bad as it was last year so I guess if you like it you still like it, but if you think it should be banned for human consumption like my bunch then...that hasn't changed either. I am happy at least to report no raucus teens running the joint and I at least got a nice smile from staff. That much probably gets them another visit from me in another year...who knows...maybe the food will improve too.... Here's hoping for good BBQ to find it's way to Shelbyville again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ken-Tex Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Ken-Tex Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing