We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel I have ever stayed in”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shelbyville
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed there for 1 night after I read the reviews and I was so dissappointed. I left and went to another hotel. The rooms are very outdated, filthy, and my room had bugs in the bathroom and in the carpet. And when I tried to ask for service and a refund, they said they could not help me. I had planned on staying their a week, but I am staying accross the street at the Best Western.

I will never stay a Country Hearth again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
6  Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed 11 days t the Country Hearth Inn recently. With this much time in one location you get a good feel for the place and we always felt at home. The rooms were neatly cleaned, the TVs are nice, and the refrigerator and microwave were real time savers for us. Friendly staff and a great rate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0hn_C807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This hotel was very clean and the service was great. I lost my credit card while there, and the manager was very concerned and responsive. I finally found the card in my room, but I very much appreciated his concern. Very friendly and professional service. I have stayed in another top rated hotel in Shelbyville on past business, but can say that this hotel is the best hotel for the money in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a king room with a large jacuzzi suite .we usually stay in Louisville but there was no rooms available in the most of the city lucky for us this hotel is a pleasure spotless clean a great value the front desk was so helpful and nice the towels and bedding were Snow White it was worth the extra drive so quite and safe we will be back from now on.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

When I returned home I had a message on my phone from the manager accusing me of smoking in the room. When I told him we did not smoke in the room he as much as called me a liar. I cannot be in a room with smoke, I use a breathing machine at night. Needless to say, this phone call upset me all day. And the manager also hung up on me. I will never go there again. Also their rugs were dirty. When you walked in the room in your white socks they turned black on the bottom.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mrsjayl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We booked during a large trade show in Louisville; when accommodations were a commodity and came at a premium.
This location was about 30 miles from Louisville.
Close to basic food, gas and close to interstate. Easy to find, plenty of parking. Walking distance to food.

Check In:
Check in went smooth. We arrived around 11:00 The young lady who checked us in was pleasant and provided us with our key but indicated that our room wouldn't be ready for an hour or so. Which was not a problem; took that hour and found a nail salon and had my nails done : )
The lobby was basic with seating, fireplace and tv.

Room
We had a first floor room that faced the parking lot. Beds were not plush and the furniture and bedding were dated, but we didn't wake up stiff as a board.
The layout was a little awkward, with the sink area and mirror situated right behind the door.
Bathroom was clean with high pressure showers (Nice)
Microwave, fridge (didn't use either)
Free Wifi which was nice to pass the time.

Breakfast
Continental style with waffle maker, toast and bagels. Enough to get the day started.

Check Out
Quick efficient and pleasant staff. Actually met with smiles here : )

The only negative aspect was that during the afternoon; there were several people who were not guests of the hotel milling about in the hallway with the cleaning crew. We weren't bothered but still was uncomfortable.

I'd recommend for an over nighter with no hesitation, it was pretty far to commute back and forth to Louisville during a 3 day weekend, but worked well for what we needed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krdotson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelbyville
0.1 mi away
Best Western Shelbyville Lodge
0.9 mi away
Ramada Shelbyville/Louisville East
15.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#4 of 4 in La Grange
86 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 100 Howard Dr, Kentucky, Shelbyville, KY 40065-9142 (Formerly Country Hearth Inn - Shelbyville)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Shelbyville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shelbyville
Price Range: £46 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing