We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing, would never eat here again”

Tumbleweed Tex Mex Grill & Margarita Bar
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing, would never eat here again”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Was recommended by the hotel we were staying at as a "upscale taco bell" which should have been our first clue, but we'd already eaten cracker barrel and waffle house and didn't feel like driving far that night. There was a little drama as the manager told our server we were to be seated at her table, and they weren't busy at the time, but we didn't think much of it. We waited over 30 minutes for a burger, brisquet (sp?) and some chicken dish.
I had the cheddar bacon burger and I've had better burgers at school cafeteria lunches. It was burned, the fries were cold. My companions said the same about their food. The salsa was very ketchup based tasting and the chips were commercial tasting and not warm. Atmosphere was non existent. The server never asked about whether we enjoyed our food, even though it was obvious no one at our table had even made it through half our portions. She didn't want to know, and didn't care. The price was average for a restaurant of this type. Nothing was good. Very disappointing experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    15
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay - nice atmosphere but average food!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Food was average. Portions were large and very conveniently located to our hotel. Wasn't crowded - no wait at all to be seated.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossville, Indiana
1 review
“Long wait, cold food”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Stopped for dinner on our way home from vacation. The place was less than half full, but service was still very slow. Salsa was like ketchup, chips greasy. After 40 minutes our food arrived. My husband's food was lukewarm but edible, but my food was cold--even the plate was cold. I sent it back, but the replacement was only slightly warm. The manager said "well tacos have a lot of fresh ingredients, it's hard to keep them warm" but didn't explain why the rice and beans were cold too. There was no offer to discount our check for the inconvenience. Also overpriced. Won't be back to this chain--Taco Bell is better!

Helpful?
Thank Mooseymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible- Never Again”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were on a road trip and were staying at the Hampton Inn down the street. We asked the hotel staff where a nice place to eat dinner at and they suggested this place. It was horrible! We arrived at 8 pm and asked the waitress what we should order. She said they were popular for burritos and enchiladas. We ordered one of each. We proceeded to wait over one hour for our food. The awesome raspberry ice tea was good, but the food was not coming out. One waitress was more concerned about her birthday and fled the scene while other guests were cancelling their orders because it was taking so long. The waitress was apologetic and said the cook had to re-make all the burritos. When the food did arrive it looked like poop on a plate. The burrito had no flavor and the refried beans were just plopped in the corner. It was gross and disgusting. Asked if we could have a discount for waiting so long and was offered nothing. Then they messed up the check with another table, and the manager had to come and straighten that out. Will never eat here again. Majority of staff was rude and never checked on customers, food was tasteless and gross, and will not recommend to anyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Tasty”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Service was ok, but that Pineapple salsa steak was brutally amazing. I also love the free chips and Salsa, though I wish they wouldn't burn their corn on a cob.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samy245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tumbleweed Tex Mex Grill & Margarita Bar also viewed

Louisville, KY
Shepherdsville, KY
 

Been to Tumbleweed Tex Mex Grill & Margarita Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing