We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but smelly rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Shepherdsville
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Shepherdsville
Certificate of Excellence
Galesburg, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Nice, but smelly rooms”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I had a room that was supposed to be non-smoking but there was a lingering odor that never went away during our 2 night stay. It was annoying to say the least. The rest of the stay (amenities, etc) was fine, but that odor just turned us off. As this happened once before, we will probably choose another hotel and hope we don't face this issue again. If it were not for that odor...we would be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Randy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, General Manager at Best Western Shepherdsville, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding the recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using this feedback to implement improvements, and to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
As started to you in an earlier correspondence, I have authorized a partial refund to your card. I hope you accept this small gesture as proof that we care about your business. There is never an excuse for odors to be present in a guest room. I always tell guests to please report such incidents immediately so we can make correction while you are on the property.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. We do not want to loose you as a guest, and hope that we can win you back to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    122
    50
    24
    20
See reviews for
121
121
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Needed place for the night and this was a great value for what we received. The breakfast included gravy and biscuits..gotta love hotels in the South! Clean with friendly service and very informative staff. Lots of restaurants around the hotel to choose from or have pizza and wings delivered like we did.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

room was clean, and they take dogs, very important !! Good breakfast. came in very late at night and the staff was very accomodating, only king rooms were available. called other hotels for me, before I took the king suite with a hot tub

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank C5857AYrichardp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was the final leg on a long trip and we chose this location because of the Plus, the lobby and breakfast room were ok, the room smelled very bad and the AC was not working properly. I sprayed the room with Lysol and made no change, VERY DISSAPPOINTED for being a PLUS. The bed also was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug S, General Manager at Best Western Shepherdsville, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I would like to personally apologize for the lack of quality you experienced during your recent stay with us. There is never an excuse for a guest room that is not properly cleaned. We pride ourselves on the delivery of a quality product, and the fact that you did not get that is unacceptable. I have personally looked into this matter. I determined that your complaint is very valid, and hence have refunded your money in full for your stay. At our hotel and at all Best Western's we take pride in cleanliness above all else. I appreciate your comments, and your information will be used to provide better training for my staff, and to hopefully ensure that situations like this will not occur again. I genuinely hope that you will consider staying with us again, and give us another chance to prove that we honor you as a guest and want your continued loyalty to our hotel and to the brand as a whole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed on a Friday night and there were sports teams staying there. Not really the hotel's fault but the parents let their kids just run back and forth past our door all evening and it really was bad! We finally talked to someone at the front desk who said she would call their room. Couldn't really tell if that happened. Otherwise nice place. The front desk person took my coupon and even got us a room with queen beds. Breakfast had those watery scrambled eggs found everywhere and sausage links.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cindie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Need of maintenance and repairs from the time you drive up Security at hotel questionable to say the least. Unsupervised entry doors left unlocked. Bathroom light fixture had build up of black mold visible as fixture had a bulb burnt out. Various smells from room to room plus sections of hallways unknown what to be. Overall terrible experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank 982timl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,362 reviews
313 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed here for two days while discovering Louisville.

The best thing about the room was the shower. Everything else was fine.

There's a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.

Breakfast is included and there is a guest laundry.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdsville
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Shepherdsville
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Louisville South
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Sheperdsville - Louisville South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn Louisville South
Fairfield Inn Louisville South
#3 of 8 in Shepherdsville
138 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Louisville I-65 @ Brooks Rd.
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hillview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Shepherdsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shepherdsville

Property: Best Western Shepherdsville
Address: 211 S Lakeview Dr, Shepherdsville, KY 40165 (Formerly Best Western Plus South)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Shepherdsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Shepherdsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Shepherdsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Shepherdsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shepherdsville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing