We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the Way But Well Worth It!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Natural Bridge State Resort Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2012

OMG, this is really off the beaten path which makes it a hidden jewel in Kentucky. Our family stayed here for two nights and we found it to be fun and well worth it. The pool is amazing and one of the best and the hiking trails are shady. Some trials are quite challenging and yet others are easy enough for the whole family. Hiking up to the Land Bridge is a must for the most amazing view for miles in all directions. Just take your time if you are out of shape. One trail has several benches to rest on.

While you are here, take the nearby circular drive that goes through a one only car tunnel and into a most beautiful and scenic park.

Also nearby down the road about 3 miles past the Resort entrance is a wonderful restaurant up on a hill that is so friendly and serves great food called Red River Rock House. Well worth going to for a beer and just good food.

This Resort is where time slows down and family time or just couple time becomes a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Natural Bridge State Resort Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

Natural Bridge State Resort Park is one of Kentucky’s 17 ‘resort’ parks where there is a lodge with rooms and a restaurant. On 2,380 acres of land, Natural Bridge is one of the larger ones. It offers year round cabins (11) and lodge facilities (35 rooms) with a pool, as well as seasonal camping.
Chef Susan in the Sandstone Arches Restaurant whips up a great selection of buffet items including fried chicken and catfish. Rumor has it that many people drive all the way from Cincinnati, OH just for the catfish.
The rooms in the lodge are quite comfortable, all with forest views and balconies cantilevered over the edge of the woods. Mine had a pair of queen beds with table and chairs and a six drawer dresser. A flat screen TV, big coffee pot and full carpeting made me feel right at home. Wi-Fi let me keep in touch and post some photos to Facebook.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelWriterDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The rooms are a nice size and carry out the 1950s or 60s lodge decor. They are well lit and neatly cleaned. There is a beautiful view of the Red River and the mountains outside the rooms especially in the Welcome Center. Most importantly, I would recommend the stay here, just because of the staff help. Everybody from the front desk to the cleaning and maintenance crew is extremely accommodating and great people. I felt really cared for here at the resort than at big chain expensive hotels. The only downside is there is no WiFi except in the Welcome Center and that is even intermittent, but that just means you’re one step closer to nature.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

At first I was dissapointed in the cottage because the pictures they show on the website are much different. I guess those photos belong to a "luxury cabin" but overall I found this cottage and park very comfortable clean and relaxing. I attached photos of the inside of cottages that are in the 129.00 price range. As you can see there are many steep steps down to the cottage. Most of them were like this, only a couple you could drive by front door. You may need to request one without steps if needed. They did get tiresome unloading/loading heavy coolers and luggage. The cottage was well appointed and very clean. Outdated a bit but still very nice. Kitchen was fully stocked with pots, pans etc, full size dishwasher (dishwasher tablets for your use on counter), full size fridge, stove and microwave. Jamming air conditioner that kept the entire cottage comfortable. Large living area with cable tv and a decent selection of channels. Back door off living area with screened in porch. Charcoal grill right outside porch. Full size bathroom, our shower was hot and great pressure. There was a heat lamp in the bathroom that will sizzle the top of your head- felt good after shower. Bedroom was far enough away from living room that one could sleep quietly if others were still up. There is no tv in bedroom. Other cottages were nearby but trees create a feeling of seclusion. Park has many hiking trails, even the easy ones are difficult. We did the Battleship trail up to Natural Bridge and Leaning rock back down. Both are challenging, a lot of wooden steps as well as rock steps and a few steep inclinces- but very beautiful. PLEASE take water with you- we gave all our water away to families with kids that we passed by that were beet red, sweating and tired- the trails really are harder than stated in the brochure, not impossible but enough to make your legs burn by the time your 1/3 way up. There is a quaint gift shop at the begining of the trails where you can grab water or snack. Also in this area is a crystal clear swimming pool and a place to rent paddleboats.If you are not a hiker there is an awesome skylift that will take you to the top and back. The first day we were there it was closed but had been fixed and re-opened by the next morning. Thats a must do. Tickets were 10.00 per person and well worth it. You cannot see the natural bridge from skylift- you will need to walk to it from the top station. Surprisingly the only wildlife we saw was a stray turtle outside our cottage. He enjoyed some apples.There is also a buffet at the lodge building. We did not eat there but it smelled very good. Park is jammed pack with activites to keep a family busy for days. I will go back again.

Room Tip: remember some cottages have a lot of steps to get to them.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iwanttoseeamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My family and I stayed in the lodge. The lodge is old but was very clean and well maintained. The staff was quite friendly. Our room was nice and comfortable. There was no fridge or microwave in the room but they do have ice machines. The mattress was soft and comfortable but the pillows were flat and lumpy. There was a private balcony with chairs and side table that looked into the forest. They have a small, nice gift shop. The food in the restaurant is really good. The have a buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner or you can order off of their menu. One whole wall of the restaurant was glass windows so we would watch the birds and squirrels eat out of the feeders while we ate our meal. The view from the lodge is breathtaking and you can see the pool below. The pool is a short drive away or you can walk down the steps that go all the way down the mountain (which we did). The pool was also very nice and clean. I loved laying in the sun and looking at the beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenbee90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This place is beautiful. We stayed in the lodge and enjoyed a room on the second floor with a balcony. The view was breathtaking. It was like spending the night in a lovely tree house. I would recommend this one to anyone hope to experience the beauty of the Kentucky Appalachian Mountians. The buffet is very good and the service is great. Stop in and go for a hike.

Room Tip: Check out a room with a balcony. It is beautiful. You will not be dissappointed.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyDayKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I was so tired when I arrived at this Resort surrounded by aesthetic lakes and mountain scenery. As I walked in the door of this resort with sixteen other people from Berea College, I was ready to relax and take a nap. I enjoyed my stay for the simple fact that it was cozy, had an in-house buffet, cordial staff members, and great therapeutic pillows. Some disadvantages of this resort were the faulty Wi-Fi-connection, and cold showers depending on the time of day, which were things this resort really had no control over. Conversely, my stay was not bad.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Latrice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slade
5.8 mi away
Cliffview Resort
Cliffview Resort
#1 of 2 in Campton
146 reviews
6.6 mi away
Campton Parkway Inn
Campton Parkway Inn
#2 of 2 in Campton
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Black Bear Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Natural Bridge State Resort Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natural Bridge State Resort Park

Address: 2135 Natural Bridge Road, Slade, KY 40376-9026
Region: United States > Kentucky > Slade
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Slade
Price Range: £54 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Natural Bridge State Resort Park 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Natural Bridge State Resort Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Bridge State Resort Cottages Hotel Slade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing