We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Li'l Abner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Li'l Abner Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Slade
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Li'l Abner Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slade
Rosedale, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Li'l Abner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Nice find on our spur of the moment trip to place I went as a child in the early 1970's. Nothing fancy. Clean and comfy beds. Nice area close to park. Great helpful people, staff helped us find family contacts in that area and family cemetery. Beautiful area. Would go back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    36
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
23
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

After looking for a place to stay in the Red River Gorge area we lucked onto this place. We stayed there late in October.This motel is probably one of the nicest ''mom and pop'' motels you will find. No,its not luxury.But it is very clean and the staff is top notch.If you go to the Gorge area check them out.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tonyc94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

What a lucky find. Motel at first looked questionable from the outside but don't let it fool you. Room was so clean and cute. Very close to the Natural Bridge Park. No need to pay double and stay at a park lodge. Bonus: Coffee was excellent too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unieduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noblesville, IN
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

After reading the good reviews on Trip Advisor, I made a reservation for my husband and I at the Li'l Abner Motel for our recent getaway to the Natural Bridge/Red River Gorge area. It's an older motel, but it's extremely clean and well-maintained. The staff was very friendly, recommending local eating spots, attractions, etc. Our room had a mini-fridge, which made it perfect for bringing milk for cereal, lunch meat/cheese for packing sandwiches, storing our leftover pizza from Miguel's (excellent pizza just up the road). The motel was perfectly situated to accessing the Natural Bridge State Park, as well as driving along the Red River Gorge Scenic Driving Route. I guess my only complaint would be the noise; if we visit the area again, I would definitely stay at this motel, but I would request a room farther away from the office. We were only a few rooms away from the office, so there seemed to be a lot of activity/noise going on outside our room with people walking to/from the office and ice machine. Other than that, an enjoyable stay at a very reasonable rate!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank original_ck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maineville, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

The Li'l Abner Motel is a great value! Located near Natural Bridge Park in Kentucky, the Li'l Abner Motel is a clean and neat motel. The lady at the front desk was very helpful to us. Also, the motel does allow dogs. I only wish the restaurant at the motel was open. The lady at the front desk recommended Miguels' Pizza to us. Miguel's Pizza is located two minutes from the Li'l Abner Motel. Breakfast is offered at Miguel's Pizza until 11:00 am. The pizza at Miguel's is very good. You can choose from a large variety of toppings for your pizza. The service at Miguel's Pizza is fast and friendly. I would recommend to the Li'l Abner Motel to upgrade the televisions in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle River, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

A group of friends on motorcycles stayed Friday and Saturday night (Sept.28-29). We booked over the internet... sight unseen. The only conversations I had was with the owner "Bill". We had 8 rooms. As most of the group had traveled and stayed in various motels in the past we anticipated negative comments.

Not A One. The place was spotless. Fresh. Clean. The management and people were among the friendliest we ever met. We had a BBQ Saturday with an outdoor fire.

It was quiet, peaceful and better that any of us could have imagined. In a rare moment like this... absolutely no one had even the tiniest negative comment. Many wished they had come here before now and definitely plan on a return trip.

Lil Abner is ideally located close to tons of exciting activities. All being well we will be returning next year with even more people.

Lil Abner Motel.... Absolutely Fantastic !!

Room Tip: Rooms 16-28 are virtually brand new and the suites at the back are even better... if that is possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FLHTPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Great place to stay. Grounds, pool and rooms very clean and neat. Owner was always out cleaning grounds and attending to details. Owner was friendly and went well out of the way in helping with local roads, families etc. The motel is quiet with a pleasant atmosphere and the evenings are quiet. Just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMari0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slade
6.7 mi away
Cliffview Resort
Cliffview Resort
#1 of 2 in Campton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
8.1 mi away
Campton Parkway Inn
Campton Parkway Inn
#2 of 2 in Campton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
23.8 mi away
Ramada Limited Mount Sterling
Ramada Limited Mount Sterling
#1 of 4 in Mount Sterling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#2 of 4 in Mount Sterling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.0 mi away
Natural Bridge State Resort Park
0.6 mi away
Black Bear Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Li'l Abner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Li'l Abner Motel

Property: Li'l Abner Motel
Address: 100 Natural Bridge Rd, Slade, KY 40376-9022
Region: United States > Kentucky > Slade
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Slade
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Li`l Abner Hotel Slade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing