We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Springfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The host, Todd, was wonderful. The inn was fabulous, like staying in a museum, with 14 foot ceilings and period furnishings throughout. The rooms were huge and the beds were very plush and comfortable. We spent the days visiting various historic sites related to Abraham Lincoln and his family. Then we spent the night in our beautiful Lincoln-era rooms. This is only my second stay at a bed & breakfast, and it was a wonderful experience. I will definitely try it again, and I recommend Maple Hill Manor.

Room Tip: My room was at the top of the stairs, and it was completely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 848Mira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd A, Owner at 1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you 848Mira! We appreciated your "wonderful" comments. Thank you for mentioning all the Lincoln sites around our location, as there is an abundance of Lincoln sites to enjoy. Springfield's new Lincoln Legacy Museum in our historic Courthouse is incredibly well organized and educational. The Lincoln Homestead State Park just 5 miles away showcases the log cabins where the Lincoln Family lived...it all started right here for Thomas Lincoln and Nancy Hanks, parents of our most favorite U.S. President! Not far away, is the Lincoln Birthplace National Park - an amazing place, that is FREE TO TOUR! Knob Creek is considered Lincoln's Boyhood Home, a log cabin located in an incredibly beautiful valley location - it's one of my favorite places to just sit, relax, and think about what it must have been like in Lincoln's early years and the education and perception that was formed at this simple setting, surrounded by such a majestic landscape! Thank you again, Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    31
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
240
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The manor is beautiful, and the history is equally as fascinating. It has some interesting ties to the Civil War, and that added to its allure.

Even more charming than the property (which is almost impossible to out-charm) is the graciousness of the service you will receive here. You will feel quite comfortable in the presence of one of the most polite and genuinely nice people you have ever met.

The innkeepers have also raised 2 very friendly dogs you will encounter on the property...they were raised so well that our 6-lb diabetic and shy Chihuahua actually played with them outside for awhile. He hasn't made friends with any dogs outside our home...ever! What wonderful memories were made.

We also appreciated the easy drive into Bardstown-a straight shot and just what we needed for a relaxing getaway. No maps or getting lost, just easy country living.

There is so much to say, but most has already been said here. We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite, which has a private entrance and deck at the back of the manor. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CourtneyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd A, Owner at 1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you Courtney for posting such a glowing review of your stay at Maple Hill Manor. It was a pleasure hosting you and your lil one ... our dogs loved your Chihuahua! We look forward to seeing all three of you again soon! Thank you so very much! Todd & Tyler, Owners/Innkeepers, Maple Hill Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Exceeds Expectations in every way that a B&B possibly could.
Great Home, Outstanding Service and good eats!
We tied this 3 night stay in with the Kentucky Bourbon Trail including a side day trip to Keeneland.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd A, Owner at 1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you Ken for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Maple Hill Manor. It was a pleasure hosting you and your group for the Bourbon Trail as well as racing at Keeneland. We are centrally located among the Bourbon Trail Sites...and only 40 minutes from Keeneland Race Track. We look forward to having you and your group back, as there is an abundance of things to see and do in our area! Don't forget about the Kentucky Cooperage, where 95% of the barrels are produced - they offer and informative, behind the scene tour of how the Bourbon Barrels are made - it's fascinating! Not to mention, all the small crafted distilleries around us, such as Limestone Branch, Willett, Wilderness Trail, among others. Please just let us know when you are ready to return - we would love to have you back! Until then, continue enjoying that Kentucky Bourbon! Thank you again! Todd & Tyler, Owners/Innkeepers, Maple Hill Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at Maple Hill Manor in March '14. The rooms are exactly as promoted on the site and the overall location is perfect for a getaway. The manor is situated just off the beaten path, which makes it feel special --- yet still close to regional attractions. We will definitely be back and soon! Also, the breakfast and desserts are fantastic!!!!! Todd makes everyone feel so welcome and goes the extra mile to ensure every guest feels warmly welcomed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd A, Owner at 1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for sharing such a glowing review of Maple Hill Manor! We appreciated your comments and helpful advice for other travelers. Our off the beaten path, does serve us well in that we are centrally located among the Bourbon Trail, Wine Trail, Lincoln and Civil War Heritage Sites...and one feels like they truly escape to a peaceful and relaxing country setting after a busy day of touring the local attractions and shopping the quaint gift shops and antique stores. We are so very glad you had such an enjoyable experience! We look forward to having you back soon! Thank you again! Todd & Tyler, Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonville, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Todd and Tyler are class all the way. The house, our room, the food, their hospitality…everything was first class. My wife and I stayed at MHM for our 14th wedding anniversary, and could not have picked a better spot. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd A, Owner at 1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your 14th Anniversary Celebration. We are so very glad that it was a memorable, romantic stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you! We look forward to hosting you for your 15th Anniversary next year ... if not sooner! Thank you again! Todd & Tyler, Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We recently visited Maple Hill Manor and had a delightful experience. Todd greeted us and provided an overview/tour of the historic manor. My husband and I spent a quiet evening sharing a large overstuffed chair in the Clara Barton room, a bottle of wine, and a piece of pecan pie (that was incredible!). We watched a movie and enjoyed each others company. In the morning, we were treated to a beautifully presented gourmet breakfast. Todd was a gracious host and made us feel quite at home. I highly recommend a visit to Maple Hill Manor!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan57Ed53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd A, Owner at 1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of Maple Hill Manor! We enjoyed hosting you and your husband for a relaxing getaway. Thank you for your endorsement of our wonderful, historic home and the hospitality that you received. We would love to have you back! Thank you again! Todd & Tyler, Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Kudos to the Innkeepers. This is a wonderful property, with hospitable and gracious hosts and delectable breakfasts. The perfect choice for any escape. We look forward to a return visit and a peak at the new inn. The alpacas were a great treat. What ham's! The Inn's location is ideal for short or extended day excursions, and a pleasure to come home to in the evening. Highly recommend that you list this bed and breakfast on your spring gravel bucket list.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd A, Owner at 1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Kudos to you too, for sharing such a wonderful review of Maple Hill Manor! Your comments will be helpful to many future visitors in making their decision about a memorable B&B experience. Thank you for mentioning our central location, since we are off the beaten path...but a wonderful central location among so many wonderful things to enjoy throughout the region. Many guests will stay with us for several days and venture out to explore and discover the abundance of attractions, scenic beauty of the countryside, and the many quaint historic towns that surround us. It was a pleasure hosting you and look forward to having you back very soon! Thank you again! Todd & Tyler, Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
19.0 mi away
General Nelson Inn
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lebanon
Hampton Inn Lebanon
#1 of 2 in Lebanon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Old Bardstown Inn
Old Bardstown Inn
#4 of 8 in Bardstown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
19.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Bardstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
18.9 mi away
Bourbon Manor Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: 1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2941 Perryville Rd., U.S. 150, Lincoln National Heritage By-Way, Springfield, KY 40069
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Springfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Hill Manor is an award-winning B&B. Recognized nationally as voted #1 in the U.S. as the B&B with the “Most Historical Charm,” voted one of the “Best B&Bs in the South,” voted “Best Breakfast in the Southeast,” TOP 10 Innkeepers in the U.S., and voted as “Kentucky’s Best B&B” by readers of Kentucky Monthly Magazine. Since 1988, Maple Hill Manor has welcomed tourists, providing overnight accommodations and hosting special events, weddings, and retreats. Homemade Desserts, award-winning Full Country Breakfast, and 24-hour beverages included. Well-known for it's historic romantic B&B Accommodations, Murder Mysteries, Champion Suri Alpacas & Llamas, and Fiber Farm Store featuring a wide variety of garments and gift items made from Alpaca Fiber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your 1851 Historic Maple Hill Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing