We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean”
Review of Sunset Motor Lodge

Sunset Motor Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stanford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanford
Dayton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Clean”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

It was a nice surprise to find such a clean and comfortable lodge at a decent price. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful. My son and I were visiting a friend in Lancaster so this was close and we will definitely stay here again when we visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenKincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
3
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were here 10 years ago to visit family and were pleased with our visit then and decided to stay here again this time while visiting. It was even better this time since they have made quite a few renovations since then because of new owners. We really didn't spend much time in the room but were very happy with the amenities and the overall condition of the room. It was nice to have a small refrigerator at our disposal and the snacks were very much appreciated. The next time we go to visit family we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 12 and it was very quiet and convenient to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSSEMISWEET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

It's so nice to come into town and stay in a local cozy place. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful. I love the popcorn, snacks and bottled water that you leave in the room. NICE TOUCH! We went to see the Omish Village and rode the paddle boat. There is also a nice lake within 10 minutes of the hotel. I like that the hotel was clean, affordable and close to all the attractions that we wanted to see.

Room Tip: Stay in 11 or 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Tazewell, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2012

My friend and I hunt deer in this area and have stayed at a few other local motels. We had chosen the larger chains for several years dismissing the local small place with out thought. Last year my buddy went alone and tried the Sunset Motor Lodge finding to be clean and well kept. He asked me to try it on our next trip and I did. It is our place from now on, period. It is not large but clean and well furnished. Not only did it have the normal fridge, microwave,soap act. they had a toaster, free bottled water and snacks. My buddy ate the moon pie first thing. I loved the pillow and even told my wife it was the best pillow I had ever seen in a motel. When i went back i complemented them on the pillows and offered to buy two. They GAVE them to me.

Dr.D and Mickey

Room Tip: Tell them the hunting boys from TN we recommended the Sunset Motor Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelDonesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This was a very unexpected find. The nostalgic look and well decorated grounds are very welcoming. Then, to find nice clean rooms with little extras like free snacks, bottled water, coffee and hot chocolate was definitely an added bonus. The owner and staff were very friendly. We really enjoyed our stay, and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Starwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We where there just before Halloween, the way they had it fixed up for the holiday was great.
The room was very clean and the bed was the most comfortable that we had out of all the rest
of the places we stay. People very nice, would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wintasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Newly remodeled very clean rooms. Very cozy and very nice beds. I have terminal illness and felt very comfortable staying here. Room was very very clean. Couldn't have stayed if it wasn't clean. They had snacks and bottled water in room. Felt like home.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila2012m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
425 reviews
7.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Danville
Red Roof Inn Danville
#4 of 6 in Danville
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 6 in Danville
140 reviews
7.2 mi away
Super 8 Danville
Super 8 Danville
#6 of 6 in Danville
164 reviews
7.1 mi away
Quality Inn Danville
Quality Inn Danville
#5 of 6 in Danville
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motor Lodge

Property: Sunset Motor Lodge
Address: 915 Danville Ave, Stanford, KY 40484-9554
Region: United States > Kentucky > Stanford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanford
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing