We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway”
Review of Edgewater Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taylorsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edgewater Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taylorsville
Carmel, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice getaway”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Pleasant location with fairly new and nice cabins. Not a lot to do at this location. Apparently there is walking access to the lake and a beach but we did not use. Also a nice pool but we did not use it either. Our visit was strictly a get away and that is exactly what it was. Restaurant selection in immediate areas is not good however you can bring your own food which we did. Fully equipped kitchen including fridge, range, microwave, and dishwasher. Outdoor charcoal grill bring your own charcoal.
Nice size bedroom with a very comfortable bed.
Bath large with usual vanity, shower/tub, camode.
Nice deck overlooking lake however trees are growing and lake view will disappear in next few years.
Deck has a hot tub of average quality, the only negative is that there is no privacy on the deck for tub use. There is open visibility from one deck to another. They need to have higher deck walls on sides so deck/tub are more private.
Staff is very friendly and pleasant and accommodating.
A great location to relax, if you have a boat even better,
What we liked was central location for visiting distillates and wineries over the non interstate roads and enjoyingsome beautiful views and required we slow down
We visited on a living social/ group on certificate so received for 2 nights for price of one.
This made for an excellent value

Room Tip: Various sizes available from 1, 2' or 3 br with sleeping accommodations for more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cj d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    23
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
47
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The cottage was nice and clean, but available activities were few. There was a view of the lake, but no lake access unless you are willing to hike or drive to the marina. We ended up leaving a day early due to lack of things to do. While we received several special offers from businesses, most required at least a 45 minute drive. Since the televisions offered few channels, none of which are local, we decided we could better spend our time at home.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison S, Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review! Taylorsville Lake is a flood control lake built by the Army Corps of Engineers in the 80’s. Because it does manage the floodwaters of Salt River, the water level of the lake can vary throughout the year and prevents access from most of the banks. The resort is located less than 5 minutes from the marina and the main state boat ramp, and we do offer one of the few places to access the lakeshore via a hiking trail.

I am so sorry that you were unable to find things to do. Our area however offers lots to explore! We are located in the middle of the local wine trail and the Kentucky Bourbon Trail, with 10 bourbon distilleries only 30-40 minutes away in all directions! Historic Bardstown and Frankfort, the state capitol, are both about 35 minutes away, Louisville and all it has to offer is 35 minutes away, and Lexington and its legendary bluegrass horse country is only 45 minutes away. We are located adjacent to Taylorsville Lake Marina which has boats available to rent to explore the 3,000 acre lake, or bring your own boat, canoe or kayak- the main state boat ramp only 5 minutes away! Great local antiquing is also all around us, from antique malls to high end shoppes. The Living Social deal you purchased to stay with us did have special offers with partnering businesses in Frankfort, which is 35 minutes away. We highly recommend Buffalo Trace Distillery and Rick’s White Light Diner for a great tour and fantastic food!

I am also sorry that you felt the television channel selection was limited. The resort tv offers 25 channels, from all four local NBC, ABC, CBS, and Fox stations, to TBS, USA, Nickelodeon, and ESPN channels just to name a few. There is a TV channel list in each cottage. I do wish you had let us know that you were not receiving all of the channels- we would have been happy to reset the system for you!

We wish you well in your future travels!
Sincerely,
Edgewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Visited in the month of May and the trees were in bloom so the view was of trees and not the lake. Still beautiful! The cottage was clean, sturdy nice furniture and airy, filled with sunlight. Kitchen was not well appointed with items for cooking but enough for a short stay. The management company was helpful and courteous and gave us wonderful information on places to see and visit. Had an issue with the air conditioner, after hours, and the concern was addressed immediately.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodi789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Had a great weekend with my husband! Edgewater is secluded enough to get away yet connected enough to stay in touch. Willow and Katrina did our Couples Massage at the Spa; they were fantastic! Close to wineries and distilleries to explore Kentucky.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights and 3 days. It was just as wonderful of a stay as it was last year! The view of the marina and lake from the deck was amazing. The first day we rented a boat down at the marina. The office would've been closed by the time we would be back from boating, so they were very accomadating and gave us our key early. The second day we enjoyed the Bourbon Trail. The cottage was very clean and comfy! We will be back again next year.

Room Tip: The cottages closest to the office have a great elevated deck and view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was my third stay at Edgewater Resort. I obviously love the place because I keep coming back! The property is extremely picturesque as it sits on land overlooking a beautiful lake and the adjoining woods/state park area allow wildlife to be visible from the cottages. As we stepped out on our deck Sunday morning we heard wild turkeys calling to each other, and actually had a gobbler walking through brush near our site. We've also seen eagles soaring overhead... an experience you will very rarely have if you're from Ohio like we are.

The accommodations are very clean and well cared for at Edgewater, and the hot tub experience is simply the best part of the day. We were treated to area vouchers upon check-in, and used those on Saturday for a day trip into Frankfort. Edgewater is also within a reasonable drive to both Bardstown and Louisville. ..great combinations of bourbon, history, and horses!

Also enjoyed the spa services for the first time and will definitely be back for more. The staff was gracious enough to work with our dilemma of running late on Friday afternoon and still got us in for our appointments. We were invited to check out late on Sunday at 2:00 instead of 11:00 and took full advantage of that. It was so nice not having to rush out in the morning.

This is a great destination for a romantic couples weekend or a fun-filled girls getaway. I've done both, and highly recommend Edgewater resort!

Room Tip: The cottages on the cul-de-sacs are more private and still offer a "cove view" of the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincinnatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from our 3rd trip to Edgewater resort and there is nothing more relaxing and so close to home! We always love the personal touches of the cottages and the view is always amazing. The hot tub on the back deck just makes for the perfect end to a relaxing day or fun filled day! The staff at check in are always very knowledgeable and so pleasant to talk to in order get information on events around town. We had perfect weather and only wish we had a boat to cruise the lake! I did visit the spa this time around for the first time and it was the most relaxing head and neck migraine therapy that I have every experienced. My massage therapist Benji made me feel totally relaxed and never rushed. If you are looking to stop, relax and take in breathtaking views, this is the place to go! We are always sad to leave and cannot wait to return! Thanks Edgewater resort for continuing to live up to our expectations!

Room Tip: If you are set on a lake view cottage, make sure you ask which cottages are available, as all cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linzg1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taylorsville
16.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bardstown
Hampton Inn Bardstown
#1 of 8 in Bardstown
707 reviews
17.7 mi away
General Nelson Inn
General Nelson Inn
#2 of 8 in Bardstown
389 reviews
11.9 mi away
Ramada Shelbyville/Louisville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Best Western Shelbyville Lodge
23.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Frankfort
Hampton Inn Frankfort
#1 of 10 in Frankfort
564 reviews
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Resort

Property: Edgewater Resort
Address: 1238 Settlers Trace Rd, Taylorsville, KY 40071-9632
Region: United States > Kentucky > Taylorsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taylorsville
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Taylorsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing