We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but a Little Too Rigid”
Review of The Woodford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodford Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Woodford Inn for 2 nights during our bourbon trail visits (plus 2 nights in Bardstown at the Talbott Inn). The accommodations were nice and clean, and the location convenient to several distilleries. The grounds are lovely. Our room, #6, had only 2 hangers in the closet. Fortunately, it had 2 large chairs that we used to "hang" our clothes. The beds are tempur pedic and very comfortable, though a bit high off the ground. I'm 5' 2" and had to hop to get on the bed. The one thing we didn't like was the rigidness of the breakfasts. We had to order breakfast by 8PM the night before indicating what we wanted to eat (limited selection), what time we wanted to eat (in 15 minute increments), and where we wanted to eat (inside, in the enclosed sun room, or outside). Overall, a lovely B&B, just not to our style.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here during our weekend bourbon tour. The room was comfortable and clean but more than the accommodations, the atmosphere was spot on. The staff created a relaxed and enjoyable environment. We stayed over on a Friday night and enjoyed live music on the front lawn. We sipped drinks - well mixed by super friendly bar tenders - in rocking chairs on the porch. The Woodford Inn is also the home of Addie's Restaurant. As a result, locals and visitors alike mingle throughout the property. We met delightful and colorful Versailles residents and felt very welcomed.

We are eager to return to the region as there is plenty to see and experience but we are equally eager to return to the Woodford Inn to enjoy the hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristins255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a very nice place that was surely in keeping with our four day long "bourbon tour". Conveniently and centrally located amongst the three distilleries that we toured,(Four Roses, Woodford Reserve, and Buffalo Trace) getting around was easy.

It is nestled in the delightful town of Versailles (yes, its pronounced Ver-Sales) in a quiet neighborhood. You can tell that it is a local favorite for dinner, as many people came for some good food.

I say its more of a tavern than a B&B for a few reasons. A B&B serves breakfast only. This place serves very nice almost gourmet quality breakfast, lunch, and dinner. This is a fairly large place, with 10 guest rooms, all on the second floor. Downstairs has three dining rooms, a large living room with a large TV, and a very active bar, complete with a musician on some nights.

Over all, I have no complaints. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to assure a pleasant stay. There were, however, two issues with our room. The sink in the bathroom drained very slowly, as it was almost clogged up. But more important, the thermostat didn't seem to work at all. No matter what we set the temp setting to, it blew continuously and stayed at 70 degrees.
I recommend this place as a nice get away, especiallyif you want to experience the Bourbon culture.

Room Tip: Room three has a bathtub with only a hand held shower head. Not a conventional shower. If this mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night. We did a Bourbon tour during the day. We asked the hotel for a tour guide/driver. The hotel recommended us Abe. He was amazing - very professional. It was worth every penny! The Woodford Inn was a perfect stay, very charming hotel, clean rooms and friendly stuff. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and it was delicious - great service! At the bar we had a flight with four Bourbon samples - what we highly recommend to do the same! We felt very welcome. Thank you for the amazing unforgettable stay! P & S

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SylviaK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and I were in town for my father in law's funeral in Georgetown. Since we came all the way to Kentucky, hubby decided he wanted to check out some bourbon distilleries. We were only intending on staying for 2 nights and wanted something located close enough to Georgetown, but even closer to distilleries. Somehow, through google searching, we found Woodford Inn. What a gem of a place this was. Southern hospitality at it's finest. Good restaurant and bar on site, clean rooms, beautiful grounds, and well maintained property. Everyone we met at Woodford Inn was wonderful. We had such a lovely stay, we extended our trip.

I do wish they had King Sized beds though - totally not a deal breaker, especially since the mattresses are Tempur-pedics!

Room Tip: The website is very clear on room descriptions. We stayed in Room 8: Large bathroom, but close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

On a recent trip through Kentucky bourbon country we had the option to stay in Lexington or Frankfurt at one of the usual chain hotels, but decided on the Woodford Inn. Great choice. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed and attached bathroom, all clean with good quality soaps and thick towels. The night we were there was very busy, but staff still found time to give us lots of attention, from serving cocktails on the lawn and frequent check backs if we needed anything else, to accommodating us in the dining room when it got too windy outside. I love the idea of ordering breakfast the night before and also selecting where and when you want breakfast served.. It was ready at the selected time and was served with a smile. All the staff was helpful and friendly. I will go out of my way to stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to call the inn for directions - it is difficult to navigate the roads through horse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indianalr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We spent 2 nights here while over Mother's Day weekend. The home is beautiful, the staff is incredibly friendly, the restaurant serves deliscious food and it is in a great location. On Friday evening there was live music on the front porch and it was so fun and relaxing to just sit in a rocking chair and listen to him play. After touring several bourbon places on Saturday, it was very easy to return to the house , enjoy a cocktail on the porch and another great dinner without having to get back in the car and find a place to eat! We ran out of time to do everything you could do in the area so we are already planning our return trip!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djmccOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Versailles
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Frankfort
Hampton Inn Frankfort
#1 of 10 in Frankfort
620 reviews
12.8 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#4 of 71 in Lexington
486 reviews
10.6 mi away
Bluegrass Inn
Bluegrass Inn
#4 of 10 in Frankfort
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton
10.1 mi away
Residence Inn Lexington Keeneland/Airport
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodford Inn

Address: 140 Park St, Versailles, KY 40383-1218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Versailles
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a sponsor of the famous Kentucky Bourbon Trail, The Woodford Inn is a twist from your "traditional B&B" and provides a lively and personal experience the moment you walk in the door! Addie's Restaurant & Bar is located on the first floor, which also includes our outdoor pavilion for dining and live music during warm weather. It is a staple for not only the customers staying at the Inn, but for the local community as well. If you are looking for beautiful rooms, great dining and fun staff, look no further than The Woodford Inn for your next stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing