We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour”

Three Chimneys Farm
Ranked #5 of 22 things to do in Versailles
Attraction details
Westminster, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tour”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The tour bus took us into the farm got to see where a famous stallion was buried with the statue on his grave. The grounds are so well keep it was beautiful. This is a tour out of Lexington and price was great.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joymay51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    2
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fascinating look at a boutique breeding operation.”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Friendly staff and beautifully manicured grounds. They brought Lewis Michael and Point Given out for us to photograph in the barn attached to the breeding shed. You can't get your photo taken with them when they are out but it's possible to get a picture by their name plate on the stall door. The biggest treat was when they brought Flower Alley outside for us to photograph. His son I'll Have Another has won the Derby and Preakness and will be attempting a Triple Crown win at the Belmont on June 9.
We were allowed to watch Point Given cover a mare named Spanked. We'll be watching in a couple years to see if that foal has a racing career.
Overall an amazing tour and I want to thank the owners for opening their farm to the public.

Helpful?
1 Thank bersurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, IL
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Interesting and Informative”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This is the second time my wife and I have visited Three Chimneys. I scheduled our tour in advance by contacting Three Chimneys directly. There was a $10 charge for the one hour tour, but the money was donated to a very worthy cause. It is a beautiful facility in the middle of horse country. The very professional staff provides wonderful insight into the thoroughbred business, particularly for the uninitiated, like us. Sue, our tour leader, was very pleasant and most informative. This was the first time we were able to observe a breeding session, which we found to be very interesting and were most appreciative of the opportunity. This is a first class operation and a "must see" for anyone wanting to experience the beauty and focus of the area.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrandpaTuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dayton, ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous stallions”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The stallions at Three Chimneys are really living the good life. You can tell how happy they are, and how well they're treated, by the condition of the grounds, and barns, and horses themselves. We got to see Big Brown, War Chant, Dynaformer, Red Giant, Exchange Rate, Point Given, and several others. The tour guide is very well-informed, and you can tell she actually knows the horses (and the cat who has never missed a tour). She was great with questions, and altered our tour a little so that we could see a mare being bred.
Great tour, and well worth the drive from Lexington.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelFan18123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bessemer, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice stud farm”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

we enjoyed the two resident cats that took the tour with us, and was very excited when we got to see a breeding session. they take such great care of these beautiful horses....thoughout their entire life!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Chimneys Farm also viewed

 

Been to Three Chimneys Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing