We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience”
Review of CastlePost

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Versailles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
CastlePost
Martin, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I made our way to the great state of Kentucky to stay here. When the castle first comes into view you simply feel exuberant.

We have looked forward to staying here for a long time. I booked us a nice "Majestic" suite. It turned out to be a corner turret suite in the main building. The room had been freshly remodeled and was well appointed.

Privacy is a key word here. You get a lot of it with an overnight stay in the castle. So much so that the place seems like they handed you the keys and said "Here, have fun"!

You hardly ever see staff or employees while there-which suited us just fine. For those that like to have someone around, a concierge, may I help you person, or even a maid to ask a question or two...maybe you should rethink your stay.

I read up on the castle a great deal before our trip and knew that there would be nobody to greet us. Many reviews said that your room card is simply laying on the welcome podium with your name on it as you enter the front door. That is what we encountered. I was on my way in with my third trip of luggage and suit bags when we ran into a nice lady that worked there. None of this was a big deal. We actually enjoyed it.

It boggled me that such a nice place would have so many off the wall reviews, so I emailed to ask a few questions and seek some reassurrance a few weeks before our visit. I received no reply after two attepts.

I called them and explained that I was a travel writer and ended up speaking with the owner on the phone. We had a good candid chat and we decided to meet when we arrived for our stay.

Fair enough...

The building and grounds are nice. It IS a castle, so there is a lot of the color gray. Landscaping, fountains, gates, and railings have given somewhat into to time. It gives the place some aged character that makes it feel more real and homey as opposed to a movie set in Kentucky.

Things like the roof, some walls, the elevator, and guest rooms are undergoing renovations. The place is a work in progress. The inside is picturesque. Mr. Post has had items from different places around the world brought in to accent the building. I like worldly touches and international flavor.

Mr. Post ended up canceling on us and instead we met with the events coordinator/manager. She was well informed and had a good grasp of her job especially considering that she had not been there that long.

They had been steered in a direction in years prior that seemed to cause many problems. Things that ranged from local city/county ordinances, being short staffed, and a facility that has been difficult to maintain all seemed to take the place off mission.

They have some people in place that care and are trying their best. This was evident.
They have a ways to go and time will tell how successful they are. We did enjoy our stay.

Dinner...That was the big slam that I kept seeing in reviews. I was very nervous about taking my girlfriend to dinner here after the things that I had read. I had considered taking her somewhere nice in Lexington but in the end decided to take a chance at the castle.

There were about 15 people eating there when we arrived. The dining room is not as well decorated as other rooms. We were seated and began our experience.
The level of ambiance, sophistication, and elitism that the castle's website and brochure seem to portray do not quite show up at the dinner service.

I honestly want to give this place a fair shake but at the same time do not want to be dishonest. For the prices that the restaurant part charge, the food is substandard. It is ok in quality, I suppose, but has vast room for improvement.

I walked into the kitchen earlier in the day to strike up a conversation with the chef/cooks. I walked away disappointed in both what I saw and in our talk.

I would eat in Lexington if we stayed here again.

In the meantime, you are staying in a CASTLE. That definitely has cool points and causes people to question the honesty of your story when you explain what you did over the weekend. My girlfriend and I danced on the roof top to our favorite slow songs under a bright Kentucky moon. She is now my wife. Magical evenings are what you make of them.

Bottom line here...Do your homework, take your girl on a romantic night there, stay in a nice room, and enjoy exploring. It is not the Lourve, the Biltmore, or the White House so do not expect that. It definitely is it's own thing, but that is the definition of unique.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank Carthage D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    12
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a very unique Bed and Breakfast. The castle experience was great. When we arrived they had already upgraded our room for us. We had driven past this castle for years and it was really fantastic to actually get to see the inside and spend the night! Very quiet, the whole castle is open for your use. We stayed in October so the swimming pool was closed. They have a tennis court, basketball court, card/billiard room, music room, library, etc. . .

The only drawback. In the morning there was no breakfast available so we left. It was 8:30, When I double-checked our resrevation e-mail at home I discovered that the breakfast was served between 9 and noon.

Room Tip: Check the time for breakfast when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RitaR629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Our stay at the Castle Post was amazing! It is most beautiful. We were in awe as we toured the facility. There are some many wonderful things to see. I really felt like a modern day princess. Chelsea was an excellent hostess. I loved everything.....even the soap was wonderful. Chelsea really knows how to make the guests feel welcome! I can't wait to stay there again. It is the most beautiful get away -----greater than I could ever imagine. We had room 103- the grand room! It is close to the main entrance and the dining room. It is also close to the billiards room!

Room Tip: Several rooms downstairs. Close to everything!! Great for people with disabilities--I had an injury...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Versailles, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We went for the recent "Castlevania" and it was an awesome experience for a Halloween party! The Castle is small, 2 floors and you feel more like you are in someone's home. The turret room was outstanding, which we got as a free upgrade, but the jet tub didn't work and coffee pot dirty. Beds were great but staff is scarce but attentive when you can find them. Due to our event, the restaurant was closed. The appetizers served at the event were not good...For $40 a person and a cash bar, we expected more. Continental breakfast was barely edible but the dining room is gorgeous! If they can upgrade food and some minor attention to details, this is a gold mine! Looking forward to going at least once in warm weather and enjoy pool, tennis courts and bocce. Will probably eat elsewhere, tho!

Room Tip: The turret rooms have a separate sitting room...larger walk-in closet than the grand room. But you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moreheadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trafalgar, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were the only 3 couples in the resort and enjoyed it very much. The staff were all very nice and the rooms were large and comfortable. Since we were the only ones present, we were upgraded to corner rooms that were very nice. The recreational area at night was a fun place to unwind also. Also a great location very close to the Keeneland race track and many restaurants. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keithbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Went here on our anniversary , very nice, meal was great, but you don't have to include it in your stay. They will upgrade room, if available . Romantic , lots of things to do. Probably the best room we have stayed in, very friendly, helpful, relaxing

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Pretty place n horse country do not waste your money there. The food was really bad the service matched. I have stayed at several bed and breakfast this one was the most expensive but the worst.I have had better breakfast at the Holiday Inn!!! I was there for my daughter's birthday the amenities that say they are not available what disappoint and very misleading. The customer service needs training class or two. I should offer my services at least half off.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank royalmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Versailles
7.1 mi away
The Campbell House
The Campbell House
#18 of 71 in Lexington
676 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington South-Keeneland/Airport
9.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Courtyard Lexington Keeneland/Airport
7.8 mi away
Hilton Lexington Suites
Hilton Lexington Suites
#12 of 71 in Lexington
649 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#44 of 71 in Lexington
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CastlePost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CastlePost

Property: CastlePost
Address: 230 Pisgah Pike, Versailles, KY 40383-9200
Region: United States > Kentucky > Versailles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CastlePost is a luxury tourist home located near Keeneland Race Track, the Kentucky Horse Park and the Lexington Airport. CastlePost features 16 stately guest rooms, an elegant ballroom, billiard room, tennis court, basketball court, swimming pool and so much more. CastlePost is more than another Lexington bed & breakfast, the CastlePost includes a grand dining experience nightly from our own executive chef. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlepost Hotel Versailles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing