We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of A Storybook Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Versailles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Storybook Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Versailles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Wife and I feel fortunate to have spent a night at A Storybook Inn. Actually, the reviews, including this one, fail to do justice in accurately delineating how beautifully appointed and meticulously detailed this property is presented. Elise, the proprietor, is a joy to be around and is in touch with the local people and actvities. Obviously she enjoys people and has a willingness to suggest best restaurants, sites and activities in the local area. It quickly became obvious why the Inn has won many awards.

We certainly recommend A Storybook Inn and have firm plans to return for several days to facilitate a tour of the surrounding horse farms. You will not go wrong with A Storybook Inn. BTW, we stayed in the Gone With the Wind Suite.

Room Tip: Choose room based on size, cost and bed size as all are equal in appointment and presentation. We l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

A Storybook Inn is elegant, charming and beautiful. Elise, the Inn Keeper spared no expense updating this gorgeous home. It has old world charm with wonderful modern amenities. Breakfast each morning was top notch. A fine dining restaurant could not have done better. The food was plentiful and delicious. The staff was welcoming and friendly. The only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. We have stayed in Bed & Breakfasts before but I doubt if we will ever stay in a property as immaculate and grand. We absolutely loved A Storybook Inn. Thank You Elise!

Room Tip: Somewhere In Time is a gorgeous room. This is the largest suite at the Inn. The decor is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This bed and breakfast is amazing. Nestled back from the road on a tree-lined avenue from the moment you enter the driveway to stepping out the door on your way up the road you will be pampered. We stayed in the Gone With the Wind room. It was beautiful ......... Let's just say, Elise, the owner, definitely does "give a darn,". We will be back and will send friends to the inn. This stay was a wonderful culmination of a day of Kentucky bourbon tours and beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cnickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed two nights in the guest house with another couple, it was truly amazing, we enjoyed every moment and wished we had stayed longer. The beds were like sleeping on top of clouds, the gorgeous fluffy towels and quality fixtures made the bathrooms second to none.

The care and consideration that has gone into the styling of the Inn makes it superb, you could spend hours admiring every room not to forget the gardens.

Our interim Inn Keepers, Jim and Susan were welcoming and friendly and we enjoyed amazing breakfasts in the gorgeous conservatory each morning and arriving to find delicious home baked snacks and drinks after such a long drive was very much appreciated.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough and would not hesitate to book it again if we were ever to return to Kentucky.

Thanks for the wonderful memories.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank FAMILYOFFIVE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed three nights in the Huntsman Cottage with another couple and loved every minute. The decor, the attention to detail, the breakfasts and afternoon snacks, the hospitality - all were perfect. This is a separate accommodation from the Inn, complete with many amenities - complete kitchen, deck/grill, laundry room, office, living room w/fireplace, three bedrooms. We had privacy, plenty of room to relax and enjoy, and wonderfully comfortable sleeping quarters.

Breakfast was served at the Inn in the conservatory - and we were over served each morning! Everything was excellent and we were given ample opportunity to fine tune with respect to allergies, preferences, dietary needs, etc.

Elise and her staff were cordial and offered a wealth of info on local dining, sights, interests.

Already planning a return!

Room Tip: If you are travel even with just one other couple or family the Huntsman Cottage is a good option.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Pinot09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My family of four (plus the dog) rented the Huntsman Guesthouse at A Storybook Inn last weekend, and it couldn't have gone better! The house was beautiful, comfortable, clean, and the perfect size for us to be 'together' and have our 'own space.'

The inn staff was friendly and professional, the breakfast was amazing, and the grounds were blooming and beautiful!

We can't wait to return :)

Room Tip: If you're staying with a larger group, the guest house is worth the investment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

On a recent trip to Ky. (5/12-5/15) our party of 4 stayed at the Inn's guest house. Three bedrooms, office, fully equipped kitchen, DR, LR (with fireplace and TV, laundry room, 1/2 bath, deck with grill - attention to details is the norm at the Inn. When we arrived back at the Inn after a full Bourbon Trail experience, we found wonderful snacks prepared by Elise and staff (cheese and crackers, artichoke dip, cookies, cakes, fruit - we were never hungry. Breakfasts in the Inn's solarium was a treat for the senses. Sunlit room, lovely table settings, delicious offerings from the kitchen - waffles, quiche, yogurt and fruit, fabulous scones, muffins - and oh yes - pork products (great bacon). The Inn and grounds are even lovlier than the on line pictures indicate as well as being extremely well kept, clean and quiet. There are some trails and small park you can access from the Inn to work off breakfast and afternoon treats. Elise was very helpful in suggesting things to do and convinced us to return for the horse farm tours and to visit some of the more historical sites this area offers. About 20 minutes from Lexington, where the restaurants were wondeful (Dudley's, Jonathan's at Gratz Park both were enjoyable). We put Storybook on our short list of the best B&B's we've stayed at during our travels.

Room Tip: We stayed at a detached guest house - great for families or 3 couples - very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OH_Winer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Versailles
11.6 mi away
The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton
13.0 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#4 of 71 in Lexington
389 reviews
13.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Rabbit Creek Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Charred Oaks Inn
Charred Oaks Inn
#3 of 7 in Versailles
30 reviews
5.9 mi away
Chateau Annette
Chateau Annette
#5 of 6 in Lexington
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Storybook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Storybook Inn

Address: 277 Rose Hill Ave, Versailles, KY 40383-1223
Region: United States > Kentucky > Versailles
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Versailles
Price Range: £151 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, historic...A Storybook Inn is upscale in every way! A Select Registry Property. Excellence in style and service! There is a reason that our wonderful guests give us 5 star reviews! Incredible culinary delights! More like a small European luxury hotel say our well-traveled guest! At A Storybook Inn, our emphasis is on you! This dear old place envelopes one with a delicious sense of calm! Minutes from the world famous Keeneland Race Course, world class Thoroughbred Horse Farms. We can arrange a tour for you! A Storybook Inn is a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of the world. We have hosted guests from around the world, including ambassadors and European royalty's entourage. But we also host the local events with the same distinction. Our 50 foot glass conservatory with the garden view is a splendid place to have your multi-course breakfast. Come see why A Storybook Inn is "close to everything but world's apart!" ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing