We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodford Reserve Distillery

Woodford Reserve Distillery
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bourbon distillery
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a cool place to visit. Visitor center was modern, people were friendly, grounds were clean, and tour was organized, and best of all, the Bourbon was Excellent:) Oh, that Double Oaked Bourbon was good...
I enjoyed the tour and $10 ticket worth every penny. I love the fact that they give everyone a hearing device for the tour, so everyone could hear the guide, so many place could learn from this.
They do need to put some one way signs around the place, the tour bus got stuck couple of times because all the first time visitors going the wrong way.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    260
    72
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eldridge, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun and Educational!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Historical and visually beautiful distillery!!! The tour was educational and interesting and topped off with a tasting of the product!!! I would definitely recommend doing this tour, even if you don't drink bourbon!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tjsmith68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of the 2014 Bourbon Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Completed the 2014 Kentucky Bourbon Tour - distilleries change each year. Woodford Reserve was the best of the 8 this year. Especially when it came to the tasting.

Our guide JB was the most knowledgeable of all. He carefully explained a 3 step process to use for bourbon tasting that no others did.

Put this on your list to go to.

Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Distillery in the Heart of Horse Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had been to Woodford before for the Bourbon trail, but this was the first time for one of our traveling companions and it did not disappoint for the 2nd time!

First of all, the staff is very warm and welcoming.

The tour is about an hour long. You walk into the house and go to the front desk to purchase your ticket. It's $10 for anyone over 21 and free for anyone under 21. Online it says the tours run every hour; however, on a crowded day, they run as many as necessary. We arrived at 1:15 and thought we'd have to wait another 45mins, but they went ahead with a smaller group at 1:20, which was very accommodating. You meet the tour guide, they give you headphones, and you take a very short bus ride down to the distilling area. The guide walks you through the whole distilling process from start to finish and usually gives a brief history on the bourbon making process, prohibition, and Kentucky bourbon. Our tour guide was absolutely excellent. Steve B. is a retired Physics/Chemistry teacher, so he explained the whole chemical process extremely well and made sure everyone understood how bourbon is actually made. He was very attentive as well, making sure everyone could hear him, allowing each person a chance to ask questions, etc. It was great to have a tour guide who really knew his stuff! At the end of the tour, the bus takes you back up to the house and they take you to the sampling room to sample the bourbon. Again, we loved our guide, so he did a great job explaining the flavors and telling us how to taste properly.

The place itself is beautiful! It's located right in the middle of the famous Kentucky horse farms, so the drive is gorgeous. The buildings are all original build with the limestone. It's also pretty cool to see the whole production of this particular bourbon, since this is the only place it is made.

This is definitely a fun stop if you're in Lexington, KY. This is one of about 6 distilleries on the Kentucky Bourbon Trail. Each distillery on the trail has their own stamp (you can get a passport book at any of the participating distilleries) and once you go to them all there is some sort of prize. We used to live in the area, so we just completed one at a time, but it would be fun to try to do the whole trail in one day/weekend trip. Woodford is one of my favorite tours because of the knowledge of the staff and the gorgeous location. It's a very professional tour, compared with some of the others. We love the Bourbon Trail, especially Woodford Reserve!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Standard and boring ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This tour was quite boring. Our your guide was nice but she was very old and talked very quiet, although they give you a microphone with a one sided head set, which is more annoying than anything!!! You can't hear anyone else in your group with that thing in your ear and it's so much more impersonal!! The tour was average. There were several facts that the tour guide included that were untrue, including telling us that the copper stills are illegal to use now which is false! The gift shop was very plain there was average expensive stuff, and not a lot to choose from. The old buildings are beautiful and the distillery is nice but the $10 spent (which is double the cost of most of the others, some are even free and a better experience) for this tour was too much I would have rather just visited and walked around the buildings myself. At the end of the day on our way back to Cincinnati we stopped at this brand new distillery called New Riff at Newport Kentucky, in the party center plaza, it was AMAZING!!! If you have to opportunity to visit definitely take this free tour it was by far the most informative and the distiller gave the tour so he actually knew how everything operated!

Helpful?
Thank Rerego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woodford Reserve Distillery also viewed

 

Been to Woodford Reserve Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing