We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bourbon Trail Respite”
Review of Montgomery Inn BnB

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montgomery Inn BnB
Ranked #5 of 7 Versailles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Bourbon Trail Respite”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Great find on the half way point of our bourbon trail adventure. Montgomery Inn is close to the North End of the trail. The room was clean, large and comfortable - double head shower & jacuzzi tub were added bonus! We were the only guests this night, and it was a quiet stay. Walking distance into Versailles for a casual dinner. Pam fixed us a nice and good breakfast before we got on our way. We would stay again if in the area, and will recommend to others! THANK YOU!!

Room Tip: The French Suite is at the back of a separate building from the main house. Not a great wifi signal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VLKenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    21
    8
    10
    10
See reviews for
11
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My boyfriend and I visited for a quick weekend trip to celebrate our anniversary. We loved it here! We stayed in the Tuscan, which was really cozy and cute. We especially loved the jacuzzi. The price on it was also fantastic. Pam and her family are so nice and made us feel at home. Her kids did a great job of serving breakfast and helping out. The food was delicious, the location was great, and everything exceeded our expectations. I told my boyfriend we needed to come back to Versailles just so we could stay here again. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gobears23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night in Feb as a weekend getaway from Cincinnati. Close to some great wineries and part of the Bourbon trail. About 20 mins from Lexington and Keeneland area. Nice rooms with big jacuzzi tubs in all rooms nice amenities, pleasant service and yummy breakfast. Pleasant relaxingplace to wind down after exploring the bluegrass state.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barjen1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

A weekend surpise getaway for my wife that ended great at Montgomery Inn. We arrived mid-afternoon and were welcomed by Pam in a very friendly manner. She showed us to our room, the Admiral Room, that is inside the main house on the main floor.

There were very nice towels in the bathroom and by the jacuzzi as well as rugs for use at the jaccuzi and shower/tub. Very comfortable robes were also available. The room proved spacious and comfortable for my wife and I. My wife's interjection is the room was beautifully decorated and well furnished.

There were categorized movies we could borrow if we desired in the office.

We were quickly introduced to Ross and Michaela, her children, as it is a family run Inn. Ross later proved to be very knowledgeable about places to eat and the timing to avoid crowds, things to do, and was quick to let us know about some things that may be out of season. At Ross's suggestion, for close and good food, we ate at Melissa's Cottage Cafe. The price was surprising low and the food very good with good sized portions.

After returning to our room and enjoying the jacuzzi we ventured to the breakfast area for something to drink. There were plentiful mugs and glasses for use and many types of teas, coffee, etc as well as snacks. Michaela was an exceptionally mannered young woman who graciouly shared some specialty soda she had purchased for herself as she was passing by the breakfast area.

As we conversed with Pam, the innkeeper, we also met Justin, her husband. He proved exceptionally knowledgeable regarding the equine industry and was really a very nice person to chat with. Easy to say the "staff", or family, were exceptional to us.

We slept very well and my wife made a comment about wanting to get similar pillows as they were very comfortable.

Breakfast the next morning consisted of a frittata, biscuit, sausage, yoguart over fresh blueberries, and chocolate cake. Juices, coffee, teas were available too. VERY good! Pam also made sure we knew she could make eggs if we wanted or needed.

Needless to say we had an excellant stay and plan to return. We did miss out on playing with the cats, strictly outside, and Higgins, the dog.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The Good: This B&B is clean, beautifully furnished, and has a well maintained property. It was nice to have a 'pantry' open 24 hours, allowing myself and my S/O to get some tea befor ebed as well as a snack after a long drive from FL. The Innkeeper was extremeely helpful and friendly, and did quite a bit to make us feel at home. Breakfast was served promptly upon arrival downstairs and was quite tasty and filling. Beautiful linnens and comnfortable pillows were a plus. Very close to several local attractions including distilleries!

The Downside: This is an older home and walls are thin and floors creek at the slightest movement. My room had an instant water heater which required my to run the tap on the tub for a befuddlingly long time before showering. Hot water didn't last long even after this procedure. Unlike many B&B's I have stayed at, there were no choices for breakfast (bedsides coffee or tea). We sat and (thankfully) a nice plate of food was served to us. Picky eaters may want to think about this. Matress was either old or cheap, as I could feel the springs. TV was small and of the CRT variety. It did not help that there were not any batteries in the remote. Oddly, the rooms had ice buckets but there was no ice to be found in the second floor ice machine.

Summary: The B&B is well maintained, has great food, helpful and courteous staff, has nice linens, and is in an excellent location. Unfortunately the hot-water issues, lack of food options for breakfast, and bad matress preventing me from giving this lodging a perfect score. Overall I WOULD recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallyGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

This B and B was a great place to stay. The location as great for the distillery tours in the area. The private entrance room (The Tuscon Room) was quiet and clean. Breakfast was waffles and they were delicious. The host/owner was very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjbaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed in Montgomery Inn, Versailles, in September. Pam the owner/hostess is warm and welcoming, and has lots of good advice to offer if you ask. (Ask about the early morning visits to the Keeneland racecourse to watch the race horses training - a well-kept secret, but Pam knows). A visit to the Shaker village is also worth a day out. Breakfasts, cooked by Pam are plentiful and filling. Tea and coffee and soft drinks/water available all day, and chat to her son and daughter if you get a chance, they are very pleasant. One tip - if eating out (we declined the offer of dinner in, as the menu sounded a bit too much for us) drive 6 miles to Midway, a small town with lots of great eating places to choose from. Eating places in Versaiiles are not the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWiltoncox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Versailles
9.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#44 of 71 in Lexington
161 reviews
16.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington South-Keeneland/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
12.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Frankfort
Hampton Inn Frankfort
#1 of 10 in Frankfort
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montgomery Inn BnB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montgomery Inn BnB

Property: Montgomery Inn BnB
Address: 270 Montgomery Ave, Versailles, KY 40383-1427
Region: United States > Kentucky > Versailles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 year old 10 Jacuzzi suite bed & breakfast Inn in the heart of bourbon and horse country. Family owned and operated, fun and relaxing atmosphere. Great food, great friends, great times at Montgomery Inn BnB! The ca 1911 Montgomery Inn BnB offers 11 guest suites, each with a private bath and a romantic, 2-person Jacuzzi spa tub and shower. Luscious cotton sateen sheets, thick oversized Egyptian cotton towels and thirsty terry bath robes wrap you in comfort. Each room has cable TV with DVD player, wireless internet, hairdryer, irons, and extra pillows. Electric fireplaces, too--so cozy!! Relax with a cool drink in the swing on our wrap around porch and imagine the many who did the same as Gibson girls strolled down the avenue back in the day. Let us know what you are here for: #romantic get-away, #Keeneland thoroughbred racing, #Kentuckybourbontrail and distillery tours, #wineries and vineyards, Red Mile Harness Racing. If we know what you're looking for in a Kentucky Bed and Breakfast, we can better help you have that great experience. Each suite includes a full gourmet breakfast for two each morning, served in the The Club Car Dining Room. Local guests may join you by reservation. Dinner at the Inn is also available by reservation. Suites in the rear wing have private entrances, suites in the main house awaken to the incredible aromas of a delectable and hearty breakfast coming from Pamela's kitchen. Our goal is to tempt and delight each of your senses. We surround you with beauty yet our genuine joy of serving each guest shines through and we hope you'll feel right at home. The 1911 Montgomery Inn BnB is such a peaceful place--singing birds, chirping crickets, simple elegance, comfort and splendor. An ideal spot for rekindling romance, restoring the tired spirit, the 1911 Montgomery Inn BnB is a springboard for new adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Montgomery Hotel Versailles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing