We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cumberland Inn and Museum
Nearby Hotels
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Corbin)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Red Roof
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
202
69
18
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
202
69
18
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscollege studentsadjacent buildinggrand pianobeautiful hotelonsite restaurantwafflesenjoyed the indoor poolin house restaurantbiscuits and gravyreasonable ratesroad noisebreakfast buffetfast foodthe rooms were nicefamily reunionroad tripwe've stayed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We used the Cumberland Inn to break our journey from Nashville to Virginia. The Inn has a most impressive entrance which suggested a quality experience. The reception was friendly and helpful. Our room was of a very good standard and offered excellent value.
We had read good reports of the restaurant and decided to eat there in the evening.The dining room itself was welcoming with surprisingly comfortable chairs. Unfortunately the food that we ordered was probably the least memorable of our entire USA visit. My wife ordered breaded shrimp which came coated with cheese whilst my french fries were in fact potato wedges completely smothered with cheese - not french fries as we know them. Two very greasy choices.
The buffet breakfast included in the room rate was very basic and we just managed coffee and scrambled egg before departing.
In summary the Cumberland Inn is highly recommended for a stay but the dining could be so much better. Unfortunately there seem to be few alternatives in Williamsburg and do note it is a 'dry' town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Run by students from the Cumberland College, it is clean, well-appointed, with great service from the students who do most of the work in most of the areas of the hotel. Greeted with a great smile from a lovely young lady, she described available rooms and their pluses and minuses (close to the highway). Later in the evening received a call from the desk to be sure the room met my requirements and was there anything that I needed. In the morning their is a hot buffet breakfast (included in the room rate of about $89.00) and some more smiling faces. Bed was extremely comfortable, nice flat screen TV, free internet, and adequate amenities For the price you can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the highway.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inkblot_doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papartin, General Manager at Cumberland Inn and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Your comment on our service and friendliness of the staff is much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

After a long days travel, two tired moms and two kids, we couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. The hotel is impeccably clean, the staff is accommodating, the pool nice, and the beds a delight to sleep in. In the future we will drive the extra miles or cut the day short to stay at the Cumberland Inn for a peaceful night's rest. Be sure to allow time to visit the museum of wild animals from around the world just a short walk across the parking lot. This place is a real gem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papartin, General Manager at Cumberland Inn and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

We are so Happy your enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We were on a motorcycle trip traveling through KY and wanted a different place to stay, Cumberland Inn was it! Absolutely beautiful place to stay, friendly staff, clean rooms, nice pool and hot tub! The restaurant on site is a bonus, food was very good and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We had a King room, very spacious. Mini fridge and microwave in room too. Bed was very comfortable. Didn't notice any noise.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1511deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papartin, General Manager at Cumberland Inn and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

We are glad you enjoyed all we have to offer. Our staff proudly serves our guests with southern hospitality and we appreciate the kudos you gave us for it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I had heard of Cumberland Falls during a previous trip through this part of Kentucky, and wanted to stay somewhere close enough to be able to go to the park and view the river and falls. During a full moon on a clear night the falls create a "moonbow" effect, the only one in the USA to do so, and only one of two falls in the world to do so, the other being in Africa. We arrived at the Cumberland Inn early in the afternoon, were able to have a delicious lunch in their lovely dining room just off the lobby, and were able to get in to our assigned room immediately. The facility is absolutely lovely and impressive in quality appointments and decor, the room spacious and beds very comfortable. The hotel has students from adjacent Cumberland College working in various positions as a part of their studies in hotel management. The campus is just blocks away and is beautifully landscaped with buildings that appear brand new. The college is a small liberal arts college with about 3300 students. The Inn is easily visible and accessible from the Interstate. Parking spaces are plentiful in front of the Inn and are well lighted . We stayed in the wing housing the large swimming pool and were sorry that our swim suits were not easily reached, so we did not take a dip. Across the parking lot on the second story of another wing, there is an interesting museum housing a large collection of crosses of all sizes and materials. We so enjoyed our one night stay that we plan to visit again. The rates were reasonable and the military discount was welcomed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pokeylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
papartin, General Manager at Cumberland Inn and Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

We are excited to read your comments and happy that you had an excellent stay with us.
Thank you for your comments and your business. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews