We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Sweet Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Wilmore B&B and Inns
Sebastopol, California
1 review
“Home Sweet Home”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Coming home -- when I think of the 1898 Redbud B&B in Wilmore KY, that is the feeling that it evokes. My family and I recently stayed there and it was a wonderful experience in every way. The house is beautifully renovated with vintage touches that stir memories and visually delight the senses, with enough modern changes for comfort and ease. I loved the wrap-around porch -- it is a great place to hang out and relax, either in the swing or rocking chairs. Suzann, the hostess, adds to the homelike atmosphere with her gracious friendliness. And can she cook? Oh, my, her crepes are heavenly! It was easy to join the Clean Plate Club there. I highly recommend the 1898 Redbud B&B and hope to go back again myself because, I’ll admit it, I’m homesick for that sweet place!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HartleyIA, Owner at 1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review. It was our pleasure having your family visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
41
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I highly recommend this B and B. Suszan is a wonderful cook and Host. Her home is beautiful. We had used the 2 rooms downstairs for family reunion. It was like having a home away from home. Thanks so much Suszan.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Quiet beautifully landscaped setting meticulously manicured where guests can comfortably relax on the wrap-around porch. The inn features heirloom antiques with immaculate guest rooms and common areas evoking an at-home-feeling. Suzann welcomes you with true southern hospitality without being intrusive. Breakfast - oh my!
Words are not sufficient to describe the magic she creates in her kitchen for both breakfast and afternoon treats. Just take a larger belt if you are staying a while.. My B&B was given only top ratings and so does this B&B in my judgment .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EchotaFoscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HartleyIA, Owner at 1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Thank you! We appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed just one night at 1898 Red Bud B&B, as it made the perfect stopping point on our way to the Smoky Mts. The B&B is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious: eggs, bacon, and crepes. Suzann was most helpful in recommending a place for dinner, and she even left out snacks for us in the evening. If we are ever near Wilmore again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATravelerChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had a very relaxing stay at the 1898 Red Bud B&B. We stayed in the Poplar Room, which I was glad about, as I preferred the shower over a tub, as the other room had. The room was very clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. It was obvious that a lot of thought was put in to decorating the house. In the evening, we relaxed on the large wraparound front porch, enjoying the breeze, while sipping on a glass of wine. The breakfast was delicious and also thoughtfully planned out. Suzann was a wonderful hostess and made us feel right at home. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for clean, comfortable accommodations, with a delicious breakfast and a friendly host!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Kansas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Our son had activities at Asbury Seminary, and this was the perfect location. Very comfortable room and bed; just down the street from the college and seminary. We did not use the sitting room downstairs, but it was cozy and had some local reading material. Nice wraparound porch with chairs for sitting and reading--porch swing, too. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. An excellent place to stay in Wilmore.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BanaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The hosts were very friendly, we had a beautiful room, there were special home cooked breakfasts with a gourmet touch, and the grounds were very restful and interesting. Thank you for inviting us to look around and take a respite in your back yard, enjoying the grape arbor, hollyhocks, and soft summer grass.
The female half of us, enjoyed the bathtub and old-fashioned fixtures. The towels were lush, and the bathrobes were a special touch.
The refreshments at night were so nice, especially those scones!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceandRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HartleyIA, Owner at 1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you for your kind words. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmore
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Lexington South
Comfort Inn Lexington South
#2 of 4 in Nicholasville
59 reviews
14.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
12.0 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Harrodsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nicholasville
11.4 mi away
Hilton Lexington Suites
Hilton Lexington Suites
#11 of 71 in Lexington
641 reviews
11.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast

Property: 1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast
Address: 600 N Lexington Ave, Wilmore, KY 40390-1137
Region: United States > Kentucky > Wilmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our recently restored historic 1890's home sits on over an acre of beautifully landscaped grounds. Located in the heart of the "Garden Area" of central Kentucky in the quaint village of Wilmore, home of Asbury University. Keeneland, Lexington, horse farms, vineyards, and historic sites such as Shaker Village are just a short drive away. Small town charm and hospitality await you at the 1898 Red Bud Bed & Breakfast! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing