We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best authentic italian restuarent in BR”

DiGiulio Brothers Italian Cafe
Ranked #71 of 1,032 Restaurants in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best authentic italian restuarent in BR”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I have been here several times with my boyfriend, and we have NEVER been disappointed. It is not your mainstream Olive Garden style italian restuarant. It has a very intimate, romantic and authentic italian atmosphere.-dim lighting, lit candles, excellent wine selection. Although like some of the other reviews, it is a smaller restaurant with tables near each other. The outside perception is a little bit misleading as well when you park with the gravel parking lot. The first time we walked in, we immediately fell in love with this place. The authentic italian small-town atmosphere they create is intoxicating! They make your experience extremely personable, and since, it has become our anniversary spot each year. The portions are very large, and whatever entree you order, you will not be disappointed! LOVE!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This is a great little place. Very typical of a New York neighborhood restaurant. Everything is tremendous the food, the service, and the atmosphere. It does get busy so be prepared to wait a bit but it certainly worth it. One of the best places in Baton Rouge to eat..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken6973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable neighborhood atmosphere.”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Good food and service. Adequate selection of Italian meals to select from. Good size portions. Well stocked bar.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LAsharky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Authentic Northern Italian with an LA Flavor”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Featuring an extensive menu that covers the usual Italian pasta favorites plus the addition of create your own pizzas and the expected Louisiana seafood variety--this restaurant has very good food, very friendly staff, and a wonderful neighborhood ambiance.

Definitely a place worth returning to--so many terrific meals! So little time!! And, oh dear!! I'm sure that it's not going to be good for the waistline.

Good for families--but, imo, not for very little kids. Can be a very romantic place--with a great wine selection. (Think Disney's 'Lady and the Tramp' sharing a plate of spaghetti and meatballs!)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caveatactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, TX
Level Contributor
139 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Ambiance!”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

What I really like about DiGiulio's is the feel to the restaurant, you feel like you are eating in your uncle's restaurant and not the local chain. The restaurant is relatively small so I would recommend getting there before 6 PM if you don't want to wait as they do not take reservations. I had a chicken dish and the house cabernet sauvignon that were both wonderful. I would recommend this restaurant more for couples or groups of 4 or less. The wait staff was excellent and very friendly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasLSUFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DiGiulio Brothers Italian Cafe also viewed

 

Been to DiGiulio Brothers Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing