We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop on a tour of downtown!”

Louisiana State Capitol
Ranked #4 of 71 things to do in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This art deco masterpiece has been the site of a bombing, an assassination and the infinite machinations of state kingpins and politicos.
Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stop on a tour of downtown!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This isn't a "stay all day" attraction, but the architecture and design work that went into the State Capitol building is certainly worth absorbing for a couple hours. Beautiful work both inside and out, in stone and in paint.

The more interesting aspects involve the site of Huey Long's assassination, and on the day of our visit, there was a guide who seemed very knowledgeable about the event who gave us a short story of both the official and "unofficial" versions of the story.

The view from the top, though, makes this an experience you shouldn't miss. Being able to walk the entire way around the observation deck on top of the tower gives views that are rare in this part of Louisiana. The elevator ride, particularly the smaller elevator that takes you up the last few floors, might not be the best for someone who's overtly nervous about such things, or claustrophobic.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CooterBrwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    197
    48
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, PEI
Level 6 Contributor
463 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Glad we waited to get in....”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

There was a long line up to get through security however we were glad we waiting. A bit disappointed the observation deck on the 27th(?) floor was closed as well however enjoyed the beautiful art deco décor of the lobby and being able to see the chambers. Do try to ask the custodian about the lobby. One gentleman was especially friendly and pointed out many interesting features we would have otherwise missed. You might have to try a few "employees" before you find one willing to chat but worth the effort. Take time to walk around the grounds and over to the Arsenal Building.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HappyCanadian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Tight Security”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A nice building, but it felt like going through the airport to get in. A very different architecture.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BevoBurn96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful building!!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We visited the state capital and it was amazing!!! The architecture is incredible and if we'd have had a bit longer... we'd have loved to have gone inside. Just seeing the outside and taking pictures was good enough for now, though.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JamPack1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jabbeke, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
288 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Go to the 27th floor for the view”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We visited this Capitol on June 10th.
There is free parking available in 948 N. River Road.
You can visit the House of Senate and Representatives on the 1st floor. Afterwards you can go to the 27th floor to get a splendid view of the city and the Mississippi.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AmarilisVos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louisiana State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Louisiana State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing