We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful & Stunning & Very Informative”

The Old Governor's Mansion
Ranked #16 of 66 things to do in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once the home to nine Louisiana Governors, this restored house museum includes memorabilia such as Huey Long's pajamas and Jimmie Davis' guitar, and is furnished to reflect the era in which it was occupied, 1930-1962.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Stunning & Very Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to the Old Governors Mansion. The Architecture is truly amazing. It's like a "mini" White House. The furniture & clothing & photos are very interesting. There are many great photo opportunities here.

This is also a must see when visiting Baton Rouge.

There is parking available in the front driveway (which we did not realize) but we parked across from the back of the property in a Pay to Park lot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hannahandtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    29
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hiawassee, Georgia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This mansion is awesome! I walked through and looked around, and could only imagine what would I do with a place like this???

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gisele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a beautifully preserved Mansion.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Built under direction of then Governor Huey P Long, who had aspirations of running for president. This mansion is obviously fashioned to look very much like the White House (on the outside).
Beautifully preserved both inside and out. It's a piece of Louisiana history that is a must see!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatStroke64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugoton, Kansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Louisiana's Little White House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We visited The old Louisiana Governor's Mansion while on a stop on our American Queen Cruise of the Mississippi River during our stop at Baton Rouge. It is part of their free bus tour for passenger's on the steamboat.
What intrigued us the most about the former Governor's Mansion is it is a 3/4 scale replica of the White House found in Washington D.C. Governor Huey Long when he became governor of Louisiana decided he didn't think the former governor's mansion was nice enough, so using the pretense that it was termite infested, quickly signed an order for the destruction of the old mansion and had the new building built over the objections of many in Louisiana, his new, expensive Mansion on the same site. This was done during 1930 in the midst of the growing depression. It is known that Huey Long had designs on becoming president of the United States and so had the new mansion built to replicate the White House in Washington on a slightly smaller scale (about 2/3 scale with the copy of the west wing of the White House included.) However, the west wing is on the opposite side on the Louisiana Little White House.) It is said he wanted to be familiar with the White House when he became President of the United States. He might have made it too if he had not been gunned down at the Louisiana capitol.The cost of building the new mansion was $150,000.00 in 1930. That was a large sum for the depression era for a building just for the governor of a state. They spent another $22,000.00 furnishing the house in drapes, fancy imported wall paper, and marble floors. The house was used as the governor's mansion until 1963 when yet another new governor's mansion was built for Louisiana. This home has been carefully restored and has displays in different rooms of all the different governor's who lived in the house while governor. It is now used for tourism and wedding receptions and special events. We found the tour very interesting and was designed to be handicap and wheel chair accessible. Elevators took us to upper levels. Much of what was the copy of the west wing is used for office space for the staff and some are saved as the offices of former Governors as they looked during their term in office. The mansion itself is gorgeous and the living quarters complete with bathrooms have a mostly 50's feel to them. We found all the things that belonged to the several governor's quite interesting and especially the things belonging to Huey Long and his family. We found the tour guides friendly and very knowledgeable. They volunteer their time to do this. We really enjoyed seeing some of the secret passages and hidden panels in the walls that allowed the governors to take short cuts around the mansion and also let them avoid talking to people they didn't want to visit with. Since we have never been to the Real White House this smaller scale version was very interesting for us to visit and gave us some insight to the one in Washington. I am sure the Nation's White House also has secret passages and rooms within it, but I suppose in different locations. Unlike the real White House this version you can visit all most all of the rooms including the former living quarters. Lot's of personal items belonging to several governor's that lived here are on display as well as gifts they received while in office from people around the world. The ballroom is awesome and designed through the use of mirrors to look even larger than it is creating an interesting Illusion. The house itself is extremely nice and is now air-conditioned. The paintings on the walls were spectacular as was the furnishings.We thought the Old Governor's Mansion was the most interesting to us of the things we saw in Baton Rouge. Well worth the effort for a visit. For the wealthy, this would be a spectacular place to hold a wedding and is available for that use.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Randal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary, Louisiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sightseeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Took a tour and really enjoyed the history that surronded the lovely place. Will be coming back and bringing my grandkids.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jduplessis0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Governor's Mansion also viewed

 

Been to The Old Governor's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing