We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a mini White House”

The Old Governor's Mansion
Ranked #17 of 71 things to do in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once the home to nine Louisiana Governors, this restored house museum includes memorabilia such as Huey Long's pajamas and Jimmie Davis' guitar, and is furnished to reflect the era in which it was occupied, 1930-1962.
MIAMI
Level 6 Contributor
815 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“a mini White House”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We only saw this from the outside but it looks like a small replica of the White House. It was designed by Thomas Jefferson and built in 1930.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MIAMISHEILA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    29
    10
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Worth the trip to see it. Highly recommended. Check out the different colored bathrooms. It is on the trolley stop which is free and runs from 10:30-2:30

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joann09134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Like Yankees imagine we would have;)”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Beautiful antebellum mansion and grounds. Old South perfection! Lovely drive throughout lakefront, manicured lawns and stately homes snake their way toward the Governors mansion.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jewelryjunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, LA
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Huey's Dream”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Tourists visiting this excellent exhibit may not know or be told that it is an exact replica of the White House. Huey Long supposedly said , "I want to know where the light switches are when I get there." This free attraction is a great snapshot of Louisiana's colorful history.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MGKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Stunning & Very Informative”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to the Old Governors Mansion. The Architecture is truly amazing. It's like a "mini" White House. The furniture & clothing & photos are very interesting. There are many great photo opportunities here.

This is also a must see when visiting Baton Rouge.

There is parking available in the front driveway (which we did not realize) but we parked across from the back of the property in a Pay to Park lot.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hannahandtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Governor's Mansion also viewed

 

Been to The Old Governor's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing