We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's so great about THIS place?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What's so great about THIS place?”
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We researched TripAdvisor before making our reservation. This was one of the top-rated hotels in Baton Rouge. But not in my book.

I was turned off when we entered the lobby - a vast, empty, sterile space with four chairs arranged on a small square of rug in the middle. The polar opposite of welcoming and inviting. The feature attraction is a shiny workout room with floor-to-ceiling glass to your right. If you don't want to work out, this space says "Move on quickly!"

Our room was small for 170.00. But the worst part was the vague smell of urine that kept drifting through all night. This was puzzling, as the bathroom seemed clean enough. I discovered the source of the smell the next morning, when I opened the enclosed shower door to be hit in the face with the overwhelming evidence that a previous resident had urinated in the shower. How had housekeeping missed this one? To their credit, the hotel staff quickly assigned me another room (the new one had soap caked on the vanity top, but this was better than the urine!)

The restaurant is a sportsman's paradise. One is surrounded by multiple, multiple large TV's - sports bar style. This is probably a great place for a sports-loving business traveler to relax after a hard day.

In short, we chose the wrong place, and we won't return. Maybe this would be a good stay for a young, hip, business person who wants to watch sports on TV, work out, and isn't picky about cleanliness if the internet is fast enough.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingSouth55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    85
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
75
64
24
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe,La
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Pros- We were very surprised and pleased with this new, upscale, modern Holiday Inn. This hotel is very clean and sleek and located near LSU as wll as many restauraunts on College Drive.The check-in was smooth and easy as was the check out. The front desk personnel were very professional both in their appearance and conduct. They were all very friendly and helpful. The room, a king suite, was huge with plenty of room to spare. Very clean room and bathroom with a very comfortable bed and a pillow menu. Huge bathroom, walk in shower, and jacuzzi tub big enough for two. Our room was right across from the elavators, which are very fast by the way, but we were never disturbed by outside noise. The price was a little high, 189.00 plus tax but it was a Sat. night with a LSU football home game. Great full gym but I wasn't aware just how good due to lack of info on the website. Read more on that in Cons.

Cons- Only a few and maybe a little petty but they should mentioned. First of all the website is very lacking. There are only a few photos and they do not represent the rooms or amenities well. If you are into working out then you will love this hotel but there are no photos of the gym on the website. I wasn't prepared and had to work out in my flip flops, no cardio due to no info on the website about the gym. It's a complete gym with a smith machine, free weights, a full range of dumbells, assorted preloaded curl (easy bars), assorted machines, treadmills and ellipticals with seperate t.v.s on each as well other equipment. Three 40 inch LCDs on the walls. You can get a full work out in this gym, 24/7. All of the equipment is new and in working order. Very impressive gym but a traveler would never know how good it is. In the room there is no pay per view and only HBO with about 65 cable channels. The room had an HD television but no HD channels. The last con is the ironing board and iron. I understand the theft issue but this is a little too inconvenient. The iron is attached to the square end of the board. This eliminates the use of that end of the board which made it very difficult and time consuming to iron. Very irriitating. The iron attaches to the board with an elastic, plastic cord that causes the iron to be unbalanced when placed on the board. I guess it will take a guest getting injured or burned for the company to reconsider this set up. Most of all the property needs more photos for their site.

All in all I highly reccomend this property. I will definitely stay there again but I will bring my own iron, 17 inch laptop to maybe watch a movie and additional gym clothes.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I have stayed at this Holiday Inn three times since the beginning of June on business travel.

The hotel is brand new and very clean, and overall is a great choice in the area. The lobby is nice and open and the front desk staff are exceedingly polite and helpful.

The rooms themselves are quite nicely appointed, with choice of pillows and a nice desk area. There are plenty of electrical outlets all over the room which is helpful if you want to plug in your laptop / cell phone next to the bed! The climate control is nice and quiet and the cieling fan is a bonus, esp. in a city like Baton Rouge. My only issue with the rooms is that there is a HUGE gap between the door and the floor (lets a lot of light in at night), and on the last two visits my door would not dead-bolt, i think the building is probably settling a bit as it is new. As a female traveling alone, i think this problem should be addressed....security is high on my priority list.

One of the best features of the hotel is the fitness center! It is huge and well appointed, and each piece of cardio equipment has its own individual TV (very important when logging an hour on the treadmill). The room is big and bright and faces the pool, it is 100 times better than most other hotel fitness centers (and yes, i hit a LOT of them!)

My biggest gripe about the hotel is the wireless internet. I've found that if you stay on the 'ends' of the hallway, the connection is very spotty. If working from a VPN connection, you'll find that it constantly disconnects you. My computer froze up 3x the last time i was there because of data transmission issues. There is no wired access so the signal strength problem cannot really be worked around, unless you want to sit in the business center or lobby (probably OK unless you have a lot of work to do or want to conduct a netmeeting from your room). Ask for a room towards the center of the hotel and you should be okay...(management...please fix the internet...you'd get 5 stars if not for that!)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravellerinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

This is a great hotel. The staff is friendly, outgoing, and helpful. They really treat you like you're their most important guest. The rooms are beautiful. The sports bar on the bottom floor is great. The only negative thing that occurred was that the room I was holding across the hall from us for friends arriving later was switched without our knowledge/consent. It appeared to be due to a miscommunication between front desk agents. It wasn't that big of a deal, and they were very apologetic.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thrifty-timmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

I will definitely stay here again, great looking place, felt more like a Westin than a Holiday Inn. My only grumble was the wirless internet access (which was not free) was not reliable and its outsourced so there's nothing the staff can do for you outside office hours, I had read about this before and decided to risk it, their business center was fine tho so no disasters.it's a pretty serious weakness for a business oriented hotel, but I am confident they will fix it.

Otherwise everything was great. Service was above and beyond, especially appreciated getting call from hotel telling me airport shuttle was delayed (traffic was horrible) and suggesting a taxi ... much better than leaving me hanging around.

Their high rating is earned.. but please fix the internet!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danintheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

This is a very nice Holiday Inn. Nothing like the "traditional" Holiday Inn you might be used to.

The lobby are is very well decorated and the front desk staff was very friendly.

My king room was well appointed and the furnishing are in good shape. The bed was very comfortable. They have large screen flat panel TVs and a good channel selection.

The Internet was wireless and worked good.

The hotel has a nice work out room and outside pool.

This being a Holiday Inn, there was a restaurant, which I ate breakfast at. The standard breakfast buffet was just okay.

I only had two gripes- the iron is secured to the ironing board which makes it difficult to iron a dress shirt. Also, there seems to be atrend toward desk that are very high with chairs that are low. This makes working on a laptop difficult.

I would recommend this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BhamBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

This was an amazing Holiday Inn. It has to be pretty new just from its looks. The entry way to the hotel is beautiful and the clerks at the front desk are very nice. I asked for a map of the city and the gentleman gave me directions and advice to get all over the city and see all the cool stuff. The gym/fitness center is state-of-the-art. Best one that I have seen at a chain hotel by far. All the rooms are clean and spacious with flat screen tvs with HD service. The free internet is very fast. There is an on site Sports Bar & grill and a Ruth Chris Steakhouse in the same parking lot. Didn't try either though. The only knock on this property is the nightmare traffic you have to get through at the corner of Constitution and College Dr. The exit and on-ramp for I-10 is right there and creates a lot of congestion.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packman8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
2.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Baton Rouge
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Baton Rouge I-10 & College Dr.
3.3 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#9 of 77 in Baton Rouge
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Baton Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Baton Rouge

Property: Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Address: 4848 Constitution Ave, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-3323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
#10 Romantic Hotel in Baton Rouge
#18 Family Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Baton Rouge 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn College Drive Baton Rouge, the newest hotel in the area, enjoys the premier hotel location in Baton Rouge. Situated with direct access to I-10 at College Dr. and Constitution Ave., the hotel is conveniently located to shopping, dining and local attractions and corporate headquarters. Business travelers appreciate the hotel's proximity of the Holiday Inn College Drive Baton Rouge to Shell Oil, Exxon Mobil, Shaw Group, and Dow Chemical. The hotel is also within minutes of several renowned medical facilities such as Mary Byrd Perkins Center, Our Lady of the Lake Hospital, Baton Rouge General, Pennington Biomedical Research Center and Ochsner Health System. The River Center is a 10 minute drive from the hotel. Leisure guests will find the Holiday Inn College Drive Baton Rouge the perfect base for exploring local attractions such as Louisiana State University (LSU), USS Kidd, Southern University (SU), the Blue Bayou Waterpark and Dixie Landing. Shoppers will love visiting The Mall of Louisiana, Perkins Rowe, Tanger Outlets, and Towne Center. A day trip to New Orleans and the French Quarter entertainment is a quick trip down I-10. The hotel features a business center, free wireless Internet, a 24 hour health club, and Sporting News Grill. Each guest room features 37 LCD televisions with high tech audio video and MP3 capability. Relax in our tropical outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Baton Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge s College Drive Hotel Baton Rouge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing