We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs-Room 228 !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel
Ranked #66 of 78 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Reserved 2 nights… left hours after checking in. My first time seeing bed bugs.
Started itching. After noticing 3 whelps on arm and back, we noticed a bug on my pillow. Turned the light on to see a red bug. We began inspecting the sheets and found several. We captured a couple in an Altoid box and brought them down to the front desk. We decided to give it another shot after we were given another room. Upon entering, it smelled moldy. The cushion was removed from the chair in the corner. There was hair and hair pins in the chair. It was disgusting so we left.
Although I had just showered at the hotel, I not only showered again once I arrived home but washed my hair and left my clothing and belongings on the my porch to be checked the following day.
On rainy days, expect to see buckets placed throughout the lobby area. The building has had leaks for a while.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Candyheartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erick A, Owner at Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. This type of correspondence is very valuable to us because it gives us the opportunity to improve our operations.

In your comments you had mentioned in short that you had bed bugs in your room and that you even brought some down to the front desk. First, I want to begin by saying we take these comments and issues very seriously. As you had stated that it was room 228 we have taken the room out of service and with our relationship with Ecolab we have treated the room as a precautionary measure. Again, when these types of complaints are made, be assured that we take them very seriously and do look into the matter.
I am happy to hear our hotel front desk staff tried to accommodate your stay by placing you in another room. I do apologize as that room to, fell below your standards. I can assure you though that in the coming weeks the Belle hotel will be improved! In the end of this month we are beginning a hotel renovation that will include new carpeting, deep cleaning of all the rooms, product replacement i.e. where chairs are worn/ripped. We have also been replacing air conditioning units and will continue to do so as well.

With your taking the time to post your concerns and comments I can see that you are concerned with this matter. Just as I am replying, I would hope that you understand that I share your same concern. We do take our guest's health and safety very seriously and all reports of bugs in guest rooms are investigated. It is important for us to get to the root causes of these types of complaints.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to the opportunity of being able to WOW you on your next visit. Your concerns addressed above are not the norm and we would like to have the opportunity to show you that we can deliver exceptional service and product.

Sincerely,
Belle of Baton Rouge Casino Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
There are newer reviews for Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Where to start? Rooms in this property need to be gutted and start over. Carpets are worn all over, and the carpet in y room felt damp and sticky. The bathroom was so small you had to go all the way in to shut the door. Mold in the shower. No coffee in room. Had to wait until they opened the lobby snack shop before coffee was available. Most restaurants were closed during the week. The one open was nothing better than average.
The saving grace for this property is the staff. VERY nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DougN50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erick A, Owner at Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

We appreciate your feedback, Doug, and we really wish we could've given you a better stay. Mold in the shower and damp flooring are completely unacceptable, and we're sorry you had to deal with our oversight of the issues. Had you let us know, we would've cleaned the area accordingly. As for our property needing some work -- you're right, and that's why we're beginning renovations that will include new carpeting and a deep cleaning of each room. You mentioned some issues regarding food and coffee, and it sounds like there was a bit of a miscommunication on both counts: Complimentary coffee is provided in the lobby for all of our guests. Our restaurant, Shucks, is open throughout the week with a variety of food for both lunch and dinner. We're confident that if given another chance, you'll see some major improvements.

All the best,
Belle of Baton Rouge Casino Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Online said casino nearby and did not clearly state that children were not welcome in restaurants, pool area or fitness center. Tunica and Vegas have options for kids but this hotel did not. Even with parents our 17, 15 and 4 year olds were not allowed in any part of the hotel including pool and restaurant . Hours on everything close early so for people traveling and getting in late you better eat before you arrive . Queen size beds are actually full size beds so we had to rent 2 rooms because my husband and I could not comfortably fit in one. This was our last chance at a family vacation / LSU tour for my son before kids start back to school and my 4 year old was so excited to go to the hotel and swim so trip was ruined. Peeling paint in bathroom and vomit in hall made it not so great . Will not be coming back to this hotel when my son starts college here Baton Rouge has plenty of other options. Checking out in 10 hours and we will spend the remainder of our time and money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexanderaccounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erick A, Owner at Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

We're really sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your stay. We would never intentionally mislead any of our guests. Our age limit is in place to provide the bulk of our guests the best possible experience here, so we're sorry if this didn't meet your expectations. While our website clearly states that the pool is only open for ages 18 and above, our restaurant does not follow this guideline. All ages are welcome -- it seems like there may have been a miscommunication on this point.

We wish you would've let us know of all the issues you were having with you room -- typically, we're able to find a solution to our guests' concerns. That said, we're beginning renovations that will include new carpeting and a deep cleaning of each of the rooms, which should improve the atmosphere we provide our guests.

Sincerely,
Belle of Baton Rouge Casino Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We came for a family reunion. That meant we had family members under the age of 18. We would have loved to use the outdoor pool but our youngest members were not allowed even in the company of their parents during the day. Outrageous! First hotel I've stated at with such an age restriction.

Event was lovely; staff was nice. No fridge in room and no food outside of the casino available after 10 p.m. The bathroom was definitely built for one. The carpet smelled a bit and was perpetually damp.

Okay stay but not a first choice, especially for family trips.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Valtina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erick A, Owner at Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thanks for the feedback, Valtina. We're sorry about the confusion regarding the pool -- this is definitely something we can do a better job of letting our guests know about beforehand. As for the room, we're sorry things didn't exactly meet your expectations. Had you let us know, we would've done our best to make things right. Being an older hotel, we know there is some work to do. That's why we will soon be making renovations to replace carpeting in the rooms and give the hotel a deep clean. These changes should make a world of difference, and if you ever stay with us again, we're hopeful we'll show you a better time.

All the best,
Belle of Baton Rouge Casino Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here for a soccer tournament. At first I was a little nervous about staying here with kids. I had called a few weeks before our stay and the staff did not seem very knowledgeable or helpful. Once we arrived however, the hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate the breakfast buffet every morning which was great. There was a good selection of items along with fresh fruit. The ladies working at the buffet were also very helpful. We walked to the civic center and later along the river to a Mexican restaurant. The casino is in a separate building if you choose to go there. There was MMA show the week we were there but our room was very quiet and we did not hear any noise at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalmTreesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erick A, Owner at Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We apologize for any confusion that took place prior to your visit. Although we're typically on top of questions that guests have, it sounds like you might've caught us at a particularly busy time. Thankfully it seems that problems were a thing of the past once you arrived. If you're ever in Baton Rouge again, we'd love to have you back!

Take care,
Belle of Baton Rouge Casino Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights but seriously considered just driving home even though we had already paid for the room. Unfriendly hotel staff. Breakfast for 9 yr old child was same price as adult... $12.99 each. Bathroom very very small! Train honks horn throughout the night interrupting our sleep. Blinds do not shut so room is full of sun bright & early. No food to eat anywhere after 10pm. Food during the day is not very good. Better to go out to eat. Not kid friendly at all. We will never stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank PilznerMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erick A, Owner at Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

This is obviously not the experience we wanted you to have, and we can only apologize for any inconveniences or discomfort our hotel caused you and your family. We completely understand your frustrations toward the pricing of our breakfast, but given that we're a casino, we rarely have children staying with us. That said, your complaint is definitely something we can look into.

As for the train tracks, unfortunately our location is not something we can change; however, we certainly could've fixed your broken blinds had you just called down to the desk. From the food to the service to the amenities, we're sorry we couldn't provide your family a better stay.

Sincerely,
Belle of Baton Rouge Casino Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel several years ago with our kids during a regional swim meet. It was being run by a large, national chain at the time. It has since changed hands, and appears as if nothing has been touched since. The pool was cloudy, so I wouldn't plan to swim. The hot tub was covered and not useable. Stained carpets in public areas were frequently seen. The framed posters in the elevators were torn down and the gummy residue was left on the walls.
On the positive side, the sheets were clean, as was the bathroom. The beds were comfortable enough, but not plush. We had a view of the USS Kidd and the old and new State Capitals; but, whoever built the parking garage didn't give thought to the fact that it blocks the view of the Mississippi River Bridge. It did have a small refrigerator and microwave in the room as well.
It was just for one night during a college tour, so for the sale price we paid, I can't complain.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ryeholts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erick A, Owner at Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Whether you're staying for a month, a week, or a day, we want you to feel comfortable while here. We do have some work to do, but have no doubt that we're looking into the future and figuring out the best ways to please our guests.

You mentioned that the pool was foggy during your visit, but that's not the norm -- it's very likely that we were adjusting chemicals on the day you visited. As for the carpets, given that we're a casino, it can be difficult to keep up with the constant trails left by our guests and visitors, but rest assured that we frequently do intensive cleaning that goes deeper than our day-to-day upkeep. If you return again, we know we'll do better by you.

All the best,
Belle of Baton Rouge Casino Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge Downtown
2.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
#25 of 78 in Baton Rouge
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
0.4 mi away
WATERMARK Baton Rouge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel

Address: 103 France St, Baton Rouge, LA 70802-6208 (Formerly Sheraton Baton Rouge Convention Center Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 78 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range: £53 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Baton Rouge, our casino & hotel is the ideal place to stay & play. Exciting, fun gaming action 24/7! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Of Baton Rouge Hotel Baton Rouge
Belle Of Baton Rouge Casino And Hotel
Sheraton Baton Rouge Hotel
Baton Rouge Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing