We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel
Ranked #67 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Needs Work”
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed here for two nights and were extremely underwhelmed. The rooms were extremely outdated and smelled a little moldy. That is odd especially considering we were on the 9th floor. The staff were nice, but by no means went out of their way for you. Other than the rooms themselves, my biggest issue was that you have a lot of casino traffic coming through, who don't really care about the fact people are staying there. The new management really has a long way to go to make this a nice place. It really looks like Sheraton dumped it for a reason.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    59
    96
    109
    134
See reviews for
72
74
35
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2010

THis place has an unplesant smell (dirty). The best part of my experience was the courteous bellman. The room's air conditioner (wall inside unit) was noisy. It leaked and the floor got wet half way the room. On top of that they charged the wrong credit card!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shasmith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Baton Rouge hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Came for a Regional soccer tournament. In essence:
* service poor
* buffet very poor (bad fruit, bad danish, bad bagels, boxes of cereal, $12)
*gym very bad, old, out of service
* beds very good!
* Casino horrendous, get shots before entering
*access to downtown v. good
*TVs old small boxes....get flatscreens!
*swimming pool small and not clean looking

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Accelerance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Let me start by saying that we stayed here 6 years ago, back when it was a Sheraton and it was great. When I checked in yesterday, I was at the front desk speaking to the person behind the counter to get my room key and a heavy set maintenance guy came rushing over, leaned in on the counter in front of me and interrupted our conversation to talk about some work issue. (seems like he could have waited 1 second, or at least brought it to his own supervisor). I am not high-maintenance but I stay at a LOT of hotels all over the U.S.. The staff person could have said either "excuse me" or "sorry to interrupt...". The guy checking me in didn't smile or make eye contact and lacked all basics of a warm welcome. Next, housekeeping wanted to come in within 5 mins. of checking into the room & I said no thanks - the woman asked if I'd sign something. There is no "Please Do Not Disturb" door knob hangers. Who has heard of a hotel without this simple convenience? Then when we were leaving for dinner at around 8:30 pm, Luther Vandross-ish music was crackly/blasting (not even decent sound quality) and you couldn't talk to the person next to you without yelling. From 6p-8p, there were kids and a barking dog in the hallway. The pool is only open from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. What if you wanted to take a dip before heading out to work? Pretty lame hours. Also, the valet service was not polite and acted like we were bothering him. Our company will not be staying here again. Really disappointed that we didn't stay at the Hilton. The General Manager of Belle of Baton Rouge should consider sending his staff to a nice hotel for a morale-boosting workshop, (as most of them seem to hate their job) so they can see how most hotel staff treat their guests. P.S. The Atrium seems to be a gorgeous space with such potential if there was a bit more professionalism.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urbantraveler504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Twice as good as last years stay, but still needs improvement. I am forced to stay at this hotel every year for a Mardi Gras event. Every year I write a review and blast the poor service at this property. Well this year it was twice as good as last year, but still needs attention. This hotel knows it will be completely occupied these dates every year. The local Mardi Gras Krewes fill up the downtown hotels. So not having enough staff is inexcusable. The rooms are fine, it is the service that is poor.

The check in process had improved 100% over previous years. Keys were made up in advance and we didn't have to wait 45 minutes to check in. Check out was just as easy. Thanks for the effort. That's it for the improvements.

Suggestions:
If you are going to have Valet Parking, then have ATTENDANTS!! Otherwise do away with it. You can't get them to take your car and you can't get them to retrieve your car. So why have it.

If you are going to have a bar, then STAFF IT!! Closing the bar at 10:15 PM when it is completely full of thirsty patrons makes no sense. Probably the only bar in South Louisiana to EVER close at 10:15 PM. An absolute disgrace to the legacy of the area. It is Mardi Gras, people are inclined to DRINK!! Let them spend their money!!

If you are going to have bathrooms and inside plumbing, then have the amenities needed. Very few people have stayed at more hotels than me and this was the first time I didn't have any soap in the bathroom. A very simple task, and easy to correct. Everywhere but this Sheraton.

If you are going to have a Concierge Floor, then have a Concierge!!

They are making improvements here. However, at the current rate of improvement, I'll be too old or dead before they reach my expectations of a Sheraton property.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fsrtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Not the best of places....if parking in the covered parking lot that was for both the casino and hotel, it is located in the worst area for both, and there is really no direction of how to enter the hotel from it. The bed was comfortable; however, noisy guests that I heard until well after 2 A.M. coming back to their rooms and then having to listen to staff talking very loudly out in the hall at 7 A.M. was enough to make me get out of town earlier than I planned.
Bathroom is very small, the lighting is poor, there were two black hairs on the sink vanity (not mine), no stopper in the sink, and the tub filled with water as I was taking a shower. Upon checkout, I wasn't even asked if I enjoyed my stay. I'll try not to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydchl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Very nice room. Typical to a Sheraton. The bathroom is ridiculously small, you actually have to stand on the side of the toilet to shut the door to the bathroom. The door to the bathroom is maybe one inch from the front of the toilet, so its difficult to shut the door. The hotel should really install pocket doors.

Otherwise perfect for one night.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
2.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
#25 of 77 in Baton Rouge
569 reviews
0.4 mi away
WATERMARK Baton Rouge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel

Property: Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel
Address: 103 France St, Baton Rouge, LA 70802-6208 (Formerly Sheraton Baton Rouge Convention Center Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Baton Rouge, our casino & hotel is the ideal place to stay & play. Exciting, fun gaming action 24/7! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Belle of Baton Rouge Casino & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Of Baton Rouge Hotel Baton Rouge
Belle Of Baton Rouge Casino And Hotel
Sheraton Baton Rouge Hotel
Baton Rouge Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing