We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRENDOUS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel - Baton Rouge
Ranked #71 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Centreville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HORRENDOUS”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

First room was a dump- we asked for another one and were moved. after moving in , we discovered there was no phone . Bath tub was dirty as well as walls. It smelled , but not as bad as first one. The sign outside gave a pr ice; however at check in. we were told that was price if we stayed a week.-- nightly rate was 25%. more. What a Come -on.!!
Morning meal was OK, however it is dificult to eat after the dirty room experience. You really worry if you may get sick. I will never stay here again and would not recommend it to my worst enemy!!

Room Tip: Don't take any room at this establishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel - Baton Rouge, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us during your last visit.

We also appreciate the effort you have taken to give us review and we take them quite seriously towards improvement.

We are sorry for the inconvenience you had whatsoever.

The entire issue related to the cleanliness and other hygiene related problem in the room has been investigated. Appropriate steps have been taken and this will never happen again.

We hope you will make a note of this and shall choose us once again when you visit our area and see the change.

Sincerely
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    4
    3
    30
See reviews for
14
8
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Already posted a review on hotels.com. Also sending team out to review hotel details as they misrepresent the rooms. Anyways, was a bad stay. The hotel caters to the bad crowd. Had hookers hanging around outside when we pulled up. Drug deals going on in front of the sign in window and free rooms given to the ladies friends. We hadn't even been there 5 minutes. We checked in anyways cause we were tired and it was late. The beds are twin/minifull size when they advertise them as queen. Dimensions were 52.5 x 74.5 when queen are 60 x 80. They refused to acknowledge they do that. They also allow the condensate drain from the A/C's on the second floor to drip onto the first floor. The rooms are not secure, doors are broken, windows are loose. Carpet was cut up in patches, almost like a crime scene. They also double charged us, which we did get back. However they won't refund the second night even though we checked out after one night. My recommendation is to drive 10 more miles and get a better hotel for about 10 dollars more. By the way we were to scared to eat breakfast there.

Room Tip: Go about 10 miles east on highway 12 and get a room. Much better place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moe92136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel - Baton Rouge, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Security and management were approached about eliminating the “business dealings” going on the Hotel property.

• Management was informed to check the information which are displayed on various website and rectify if required.

• Maintenance was informed of the problem you experienced with the A.C, Doors, window, carpet and instructed to see to solving the problem.

I hope that the next time you visit our area you will once again choose to stay at the Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Baton Rouge hotels

1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My room was dirty shower was not clean the shower head was broken so water was all over the small bathroom when I first got into the room there was water on the floor because the refrigerator was not working so I told the girl at the front desk that I need towels and she told me not to come get them because she was going to get someone to bring them and they never came I slipped in the water plus the alarm clock didn't work and I couldn't sleep because people was outside my room door talking all night and I still have yet to see or speak to a manager

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smiliy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel - Baton Rouge, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that you like the location.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the broken shower head, not working refrigerator, not working alarm clock in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.
• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.
• Housekeeping was instructed to see to it that the rooms are properly supplied with towels before being released as ready for occupancy.
• Management was approached about their responsibility to seed to it that our valued guests are thoughtful of their fellow guests when it comes to unnecessary amounts of noise.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The moment we open the door, the awful smell came along welcome us. The entire room is awful and very uncomfortable. Decoration of the room is old, filthy and dark, even I have opened the curtain to let the sunshine in. This hotel really is in bad condition.Table light wasn't working. Door frame was damaged, Iron board has stained on it. Towel rod got rusty. Worst thing is we saw spiders in bathroom. And few places on my leg got bitten by unknown insect.
It is non smoking room but we found out the blanket has burnt hole by cigarette.
Breakfast has very limited choice and repeatedly daily.They also don't refill. Often we found the bread section is empty with no bread at all.
It is huge disappointed and the price is way too expensive for the condition of the motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiajiabinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel - Baton Rouge, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize we were unable to provide you with an exceptional stay.

We take our guest reviews quite seriously. Upon receipt of your review, we have taken the steps to eliminate any smell and other observations made by you.

We have taken adequate steps to check and ensure that the overall amenities and a system to maintain the cleanliness of the rooms perfect before checking in a new guest and the concerned staffs have been given the required training.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay with us.

I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I'm not picky when it comes to hotels as long as they are CLEAN! I arrived at 2am to this hotel after driving 12 hrs, I was given a filthy room with bed sheets that had stains and cigarette burns. I was given a 2nd room which carpet was filth and again, the bed sheets were dirty. We were so exhausted that we settled for the 3rd room. which had roaches. The toilet had nasty stains and the bed shirt of the bed had really disgusting stains. ( I have pictures to prove it! ) THIS HOTEL SHOULD NOT BE OPEN UNTIL THEY LEARN BASIC HYGIENE! THE OWNER AND IT'S ASSOCIATED SHOULD BE ASHAMED.

Room Tip: Pay the extra 10-20 bucks. It will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel - Baton Rouge, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hello Esteemed Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Magnuson, Baton Rouge recently.

We saw your review and apologize for your experience howsoever it might have happened.

We have engaged a professional team to check the housekeeping, cleanliness and all the amenities and to ensure the rooms are in the finest condition before a new guest is checked in.

Also we plan to redo the entire property in the near future.

It is our earnest request to make note of the actions and reconsider your decision.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoover
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

First mad at Expedia--two uses both regrettable--one actually probably a nice place in good area of Dallas BUT under construction so indoor pool and gym were closed and nothing in their business center worked. “Gee” those features won’t important to me in my week stay. And EXPEDIA DID NOTHING AND WOULDN’T LET ME CANCEL THEN. That was a couple of years ago and they did nothing---“NOW”I got the Indian phone center shuffle where the "supervisor" was far less comprehending than the first girl--didn't speak English well we are sorry you are not happy but can do nothing. I was cool but wanted to blow up as he repeated what I had just acknowledged and said AGAIN AND AGAIN.

Now this place NOT A 2 STAR BY ANY STRETCH OF THE IMAGINATION ---next to a two one star chains Super Whatever and Knight's Inn also not 2 star places (lowest spot on the chains—motels, not hotels). OK room was passable and since the staff and owner were nice I wanted to like this place UNTIL I showered and found out how dirty the floors were--I walked barefoot in the room (not outside) maybe coal miners stayed before me--that bad my son has played in mud and less dirt washed off---which is too bad because another review showed stained sheets--they were clean and although dated the room and bed was OK. Where this place really dies is the clientele—“think ghetto” it is a weekly rental for those who can't get an apartment--that is why I HATE EXPEDIA --I travel often I have never had a bad experience with Travelocity, Price Line nor Hotwire--they don't play with ratings adding stars and update--also those trying to figure what hotels they using for deals are is easy on side sites with people telling what hotels are secret hotels being used.

Liked the owner but he had no illusions able this place --actually said in more blunt terms about the people who stay here-- I am thrifty because I travel all over the country and company is not picking the tab but not desperately climbing the ladder anymore that I must go cheap to survive, so I won't try to ever stay in under a 3 star again NOR EVER USE EXPEDIA AGAIN--THEY LIE!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodmarc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel - Baton Rouge, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us during your recent visit to our area.

We definitely appreciate your review and observations.

In fact, it’s one of the only ways we can improve.

Thanks for all your observations and we have taken steps to improve upon your suggested areas.

We would like to invite you once again to choose is when you visit our area and experience the difference.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here one niggt as we drove from LA to DC. The room was in the same price range as other cities and located off a freeway. Once we arrived the room we were suppose to stay i would not open. After getting an ard security guard to check it out first before allowong me to walk in they realized they had left a families belonging in the room and locked it up to force them to pay.

The guests living their long term were rough. I was worried my car would be broken into and even slept with a knife.

Staff was terrible. House keeping woke us up at 9 after we drove all night and then stood outside our dopr at 11 to throw us out. Worst hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magnusonhotelbatonro, Webmaster at Magnuson Hotel - Baton Rouge, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Magnuson Hotel Baton Rouge for your recent stay in our area.

We are sorry that it wasn’t the pleasant experience you had anticipated.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated.

We have given special training to the hotel staff to offer our guests the best hospitality and service always.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, You will once again choose us for your stay.

We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
3.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Baton Rouge / Seigen Lane
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel
1.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Baton Rouge
Red Roof Inn Baton Rouge
#48 of 77 in Baton Rouge
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn South
Sleep Inn South
#26 of 77 in Baton Rouge
172 reviews
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Baton Rouge/I-10
Super 8 Baton Rouge/I-10
#42 of 77 in Baton Rouge
54 reviews
2.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Baton Rouge
WoodSpring Suites Baton Rouge
#47 of 77 in Baton Rouge
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel - Baton Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel - Baton Rouge

Property: Magnuson Hotel - Baton Rouge
Address: 9999 Gwenadele Ave, Baton Rouge, LA 70816-8143 (Formerly Days Inn Baton Rouge)
Region: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel - Baton Rouge 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Magnuson Hotel, we pride ourselves on superior customer service and clean, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. Our spacious, well-appointed guest rooms, each featuring a microwave, refrigerator, wireless high-speed internet access, and cable satellite television, are the perfect place for a night of rest before heading back down the road or an extended stay in the area. Guests can enjoy free parking, our outdoor seasonal pool, meeting and banquet facilities, and complimentary continental breakfast each morning. We’re also pet friendly, so you never have to worry about leaving your favorite four-legged companions behind. Book a stay next time you’re in Baton Rouge -- we just know you’ll feel right at home with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Magnuson Hotel - Baton Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing