We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites University
Ranked #39 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I guess we stayed during just the right time and in the right room. I couldn't help but notice the previous bad reviews. Staff was kind and courteous. Our room was spacious. Separate kitchen area with everything you need. Beds were big. Good nights' sleep, housekeeping did not kick us out. That's always nice. Usually they are terrorizing you to leave. Lobby was clean. Elevator was clean. Exterior was nice and if I remember correctly, there was plenty of parking. Used to work for Choice Hotels and stayed here under my discount. Property is adequate, nothing special. No problems encountered though.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NextStopIsWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    19
    11
    14
    29
See reviews for
43
26
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coon Rapids
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Was in town for the USBC bowling tournament, traveling with husband, son & brother-in-law so stayed in one of the suites. The front room was a bit small but still served its purpose. Brother-in-law slept on pull out couch. Bedroom was very large, beds were comfortable. The only downside was that you had to walk thru the bedroom to get to the bathroom. Staff was very friendly & helpful:-).Was non-smoking but room definately had a smoky smell to it!!!! Breakfast was good - could have scrambled eggs, waffles, sausage, cold cereal or pastries.
Was going to stop at the bar that was only a couple of blocks away to have a hamburger but they did not open until 5:00 so ended up at Chick-Fil-A's which was ok I guess.. and then when coming back from bowling thought we could stop & have a beer...but they closed at midnight. Bars in Minnesota are open until 2:00 am so found that a bit odd

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gambler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjb158, Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your response. AND thank you for choosing us for the most recent USBC tournament. We enjoyed having you stay at our hotel.
Our breakfast does have nice options, with something for even the pickiest eaters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

The front desk and the staff did a wonerful job . Room were huge and comfortable. Breakfast plus was good to see. I was very happy with my stay. some of us for get YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR! My friends stayed at the Bell casino and paid triple what i did and guess what. Place was horrible and the service no comment. I love the comfort suites

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDAWG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjb158, Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt like it was worth the money spent.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blue mountains
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Very Very unhappy with this hotel and the staff. Please note that the location is also within a stones throw of strip club, so family's beware. We didn't see the club until the next morning, but it explains a lot about the Comfort Inn's reluctance to assist with even minor requests - like a mattress on the pull-out couch! We had booked this far in advance - our first stop on a long cross-country military orders move. Long story, but I'll sum up: We were a party of 6 with 3 small children...lobby looks pretty good, front desk staff, sort of stand offish - ok so far. Reach the room - old, worn, dark, not so clean. We're very tired, just want to sleep. Electrical outlet didn't work in the bathroom, we found a shoe left from the previous guest (a high, high, high heel, so surprised she'd missed it upon leaving)..., so after unpacking and getting the kids ready for bed, we pulled out the couch and it did not have a mattress; no big deal, we'll call for one...but the front desk girl at first didn't even react, then curtly said she'd move us to another room...we had our stuff scattered around, our freaked out cat hiding somewhere and the kids cranky. We asked her if we couldn't just get another mattress from another room, and she said, no. Then silence...whaaaat? She was very unprofessional & rude. After a long conversation, she agreed to a roll-away bed, and this was delivered with much ado. I won't even go there. Then, we discover that we only had two towels in the bathroom....of course she can't bring us towels, we'll need to go down and get them. Again, stone cold silence from her. A conversation with the manager in the morning and turning in the dancing shoe did result in the room being comped, but seriously, we wouldn't stay here again if we were paid to. I think the recent good review of this place had to be by someone with a vested interest.

Room Tip: Tip is don't select a room here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjb158, Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your stay with us.
We are sorry that you experienced problems.
We work hard to make sure that every stay for every guest is one that we can be proud of and has you coming back to our hotel the next time you are in town.

We have taken efforts as a result of your review to train our front desk on additional measures on handling requests such as roll away beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The front desk greeted us very warmly. Our stay was better than expected. The room was recently upgraded with newer carpet and nice bedding. The bathroom overall size was small and the bathtub was very very slick. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. In fact better hotel than one on I10. This one sits back just a short distance from freeway. Close to shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Had a room on the back side third floor near elevator. Excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjb158, Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
We are thankful for your business and glad that you enjoyed your stay over the competition in the Baton Rouge area. The Comfort Suites University, like you mentioned, is located just a few blocks off of I-10 and has a great location.

We hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Room smelled of body odor. Poor layout of the room. Uncomfortable bed. Sheets had tears in them, the comforter was more like a curtain from 1970. There were hairs in the bed, and on the towels. Floor was dirty. The ceiling in the shower had holes in it. I woke up itching all over. There wasn't even a remote in my room. I literally have nothing good to say about this place. You would be better off staying in your vehicle if you don't have any other options.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chdever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjb158, Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your stay at our hotel.
We apologize that you experienced issues. No guest should have to deal with torn sheets and uncomfortable beds.
We are working hard to make improvements to our hotel and hope that you will come try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Checked in....then checked out. Not happy with this place at all. Room was "odd". Two large bedrooms...ONE bathroom located in one of the bedrooms. No access without going through a bedroom. Floors were dirty. Furniture torn and very WORN. Bathroom VERY small. Strange for such large rooms. Ok......then we saw the pool. No way..... It was dirty and cloudy. The only good thing was the staff was very nice and allowed us to leave without any hassle.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjb158, Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for being candid with your comments from your stay.
Since you have stayed, there have been changes in the management of the hotel and improvements made.
Our pool is inviting and ready for you.

We hope that you will come and try us again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Baton Rouge I-10 & College Dr.
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Baton Rouge University Area
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn College Drive
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University

Property: Comfort Suites University
Address: 3045 Valley Creek Dr, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-3148
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites University 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites University Hotel Baton Rouge
Comfort Suites Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing