We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!!!!!”
Review of Siegen Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Siegen Inn
Ranked #43 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed for 1 night at the Siegen Inn, the night I checked in I was asked to hold the room on my debit card which was fine, but when I checked out I ask to take the room off my card, and I paid cash. When I got home I found out that I had paid twice. The lady Britney left the room on my card and took my $100.68 dollars in cash. When I called back to let them know the manager was MEAN and RUDE. She said her name was Tina and would not give me the number to the Supervisor/ Owner and that he/she said they would not call me. Thanks for nothing Siegen Inn. PLEASE do not stay here because when they make mistake they don't even try to make it right. I stayed the first week in July 2014 and I am still waiting on my $100.68 credit. Can I please have my money back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank Keidra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSiegen, Manager at Siegen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We apologize for your experience at our hotel. What had happened was that you checked into one room and at checkout, you mentioned and brought the key back for another room since your group had so many rooms and keys were exchanged among one another at the front desk. Because of this, your charge remained on the original checked in room and cash was posted on the room you mentioned and checked out of. This was fixed and your card was refunded immediately on first contact, but because you used a debit card (not a credit card) for payment, it can take between two week to one month to reverse the charge and this reversal time is dependent on your bank. Otherwise, I am very glad that the rest of your group enjoyed a very pleasant stay at our hotel and look forward to having you stay with us in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was pleasant....it was myself my husband and our three girls(12,10,7)....my girls had a blast in the pool even though it was smaller than we expected but it served its purpose. The breakfast was great. Overall it was a good place to stay would definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elvira1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSiegen, Manager at Siegen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

We are waiting for you to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The four day stay was cut to two days due to loudness of other guests, particularly from midnight to 6am. At times it appeared as if the guests were drunk and fighting. Although the location of the hotel was great the rooms did not seem to meet the PLUS standard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
9  Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSiegen, Manager at Siegen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry about your experience . We are becoming an independent hotel and will try to go above and beyond your expectations. We are totally renovating all areas of the hotel and will continue to incorporate the guests' input into every aspect of improvements. Please give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank furri
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Perhaps a bit pricey, Baton Rouge's brand new Best Western Plus hotel was a treat for we weary travelers! The beds were very comfortable. The pillows were small, but numerous and fluffy. Didn't really care for the thin, white bedspread. Like a heavier one. The A/C was COLD!!! Even on 76! Nice workout area. Pool small and crowded with kids staying for tournaments. Nice breakfast. Wish they would change it up a bit every other day or so, but satisfying. Staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. Rooms spacious. Whoever did their tiling left them open to repairs needed. Bathroom shelf was falling off and tile near closet fell off. Unusual for a new hotel. Sliding closet door came off the tracks. BUT -- overall, it was a very pretty, comfortable, nice stay!! Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank jrichey5456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our company tries to put our employees in a Best Western everywhere we go, and we are never disappointed. This stay was no different. Friendly staff, clean rooms, and awesome service. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This facility is basically new - about a year old. And yet on the inside it looks like its about 10 years old. Poorly maintained facility with filthy carpets, broken fixtures, and dangerous electrical sockets. It definitely does not meet my expectations for a Best Western Plus facility. The one redeeming quality is comfortable beds and pillows.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
9  Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vishal J, Manager at Siegen Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Sir, Thank You so much for your feedback about our hotel and we will be very happy to investigate the issues you have found. Like any relationship, including business and customer, it is most important to clarify problems with each other during the stay. However, I am very happy to inform you that since the last month we are undergoing continuous renovation which included the time during your stay, but due to higher occupancy we can't limit room inventory because we never deny any service to our guests who we consider our family. Furthermore, it is our topmost priority to ensure the safety of every guest, and we have investigated all areas included electrical sockets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Baton Rouge Siegen Lane
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn South
Sleep Inn South
#26 of 77 in Baton Rouge
178 reviews
5.0 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#37 of 77 in Baton Rouge
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge - I-10 East
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Siegen Lane
5.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
#28 of 77 in Baton Rouge
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siegen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siegen Inn

Address: 10707 Honore Ln, Baton Rouge, LA 70809-4502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range: £63 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Siegen Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Baton Rouge hotel is minutes away from the State Capitol, LSU Football Stadium, and many corporate offices. The superior location provides access to many restaurants in a walking distance. This hotel is 100% Non-Smoking and offers high-speed wired and wireless Internet in all its guest rooms and public areas. Also, the meeting room is available to all our guests for free. Furthermore, it also features a fitness room so you can work out. This hotel has a great location and amenities to meet you business or leisure travel needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Siegen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing