We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hampton!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hampton!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This Hampton is simply beautiful and the service was great during our two-night stay. It is located downtown and within walking distance to several historical attractions, museums and quite a few restaurants. The breakfast was a cut above what we usually have at Hamptons and the setting of the breakfast area is really attractive. We booked a corner suite with a wrap-around balcony. We had a great view of the river and all the barge activity, which we found very interesting to watch. One thing to note is that there is major construction catty-corrner from the hotel (between the hotel and the river) and that interrupted our view somewhat, but my husband loves to watch construction and he actually enjoyed seeing it. You can park for $9 a night in the garage across the street or pay $15 to park in the lot right by the front door. It is definitely worth the extra cost to park there.
This is a great place to stay in Baton Rouge!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desertbluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Greetings from Baton Rouge Desertbluff,

Let me first and foremost take a moment to thank you for your most recent review. I also want to thank you for choosing our hotel during your most recent visit to Baton Rouge. We want to ensure that each and everyone of our guests are 100% satisfied during their stay and afterwards! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!. We love being able to offer our guests our unique blend of Southern charm and hospitality and I will be sure to pass on your review our staff! If my staff or I can be of any assistance to you now or in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us! Thank you again!

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Baton Rouge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    156
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
227
170
41
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Marys, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

First I like to say how friendly Steve at the front desk when we arrived. He was extremely personable and made us feel welcome. The room was beautiful, very clean, large bath area and plenty of towel. All the service personnel were extremely nice and helpful. Recommended a great restaurant that we really enjoyed and loved that we could walk around downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Good day Susan M,

Greetings from Baton Rouge! Let me first and foremost take a moment to thank you for your most recent review. I also want to thank you for choosing our hotel during your most recent visit to Baton Rouge. We want to ensure that each and everyone of our guests are 100% satisfied during their stay and afterwards! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!. We love being able to offer our guests our unique blend of Southern charm and hospitality and I will be sure to pass on your review our staff! If my staff or I can be of any assistance to you now or in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us! Thank you again!

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Baton Rouge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just walking in the door, you will quickly notice that this is definitely a very special Hampton Inn. They clearly spared no expense when building this property. Everything down to the smallest details have been perfected here. From a great location, well-appointed rooms, and an awesome staff, you will not be sad you chose to stay here. No need to splurge for the "great" Renaissance down by the mall. The Hampton Inn is the way to go in Baton Rouge, and is convenient to get almost anywhere in town in a timely manner.

The few times I have been here, the breakfast has not been the same couple of items, but instead rotates with great creativity and variety, while allowing health-nuts to eat good with alternatives such as turkey bacon offered.

The rooms offer large TVs (no PPV, but you can plug in your laptop with your own cables and watch Netflix), walk-in showers, and other modern amenities. The hotel also offers complimentary wifi. The only thing this property is missing with the awesome view of the Mississippi River it has is a roof-top pool. Also, it should be noted that the fitness center is not 24/7 like they are in most hotels.

Being this is a downtown area, parking is not complimentary. The garage across the street is well-secured and convenient. This must be a state owned garage as I frequently saw State Police patrolling inside the garage.

In the many places I have stayed at in Baton Rouge, this is definitely the best place hotel in all aspects. You cannot beat what they have to offer at the great value Hampton Inn offers.

Room Tip: Anything with a view is great! Rooms on the first floor have much larger windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joepercussion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Bonjour joepercussion!

Greetings from Baton Rouge! Let me first and foremost take a moment to thank you for your most recent review. I also want to thank you for choosing our hotel during your most recent visit to Baton Rouge. We want to ensure that each and everyone of our guests are 100% satisfied during their stay and afterwards! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!. We love being able to offer our guests our unique blend of Southern charm and hospitality and I will be sure to pass on your review our staff! If my staff or I can be of any assistance to you now or in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us! Thank you again!

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Baton Rouge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Room was nice, clean, large shower, plenty of towels, ac on super cold at arrival which helped the opposing swelter outside. The check in was fast, impressive new interior, area around the hotel had obviously received a recent update. Hotel was located along the river where there is a park and river walk, great place for a morning jog. Several places to eat and site see were close. Parking was$14 for the lot or$9 in the garage. Free parking was available on the street, if you can find it. Full breakfast was available in the morning. There is currently construction on the north west corner. I'm not sure if they started early or not, we were up on sat. At 530 and on Sunday by 8, both days construction seemed to start after. However, DON'T STAY ON THE PARKING SIDE! Freaking 2 story rooftop bar in the lot played horrible live music until 2am!! Acoustics were terrible! It sounded like loud, bad, guitar accompanied karaoke! They should have warned us! I thought, wow, that's why everything is so clean and nice, they are trying to make up for this horrible bar!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank lani c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Lani C,

Greetings from Baton Rouge! Let me first and foremost take a moment to thank you for your most recent review. I also want to thank you for choosing our hotel during your most recent visit to Baton Rouge. We want to ensure that each and everyone of our guests are 100% satisfied during their stay and afterwards! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel but would like to apologize that you had an unpleasant experience. Being in a downtown locale does present some challenges but we hope that our location and hotel more than make up for it. We love being able to offer our guests our unique blend of Southern charm and hospitality and I will be sure to pass on your review our staff! If my staff or I can be of any assistance to you now or in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us! Thank you again!

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Baton Rouge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

It's a Hampton Inn, so it's clean, folks are friendly, they offer a free breakfast - all standard Hampton stuff. What sets it apart a bit is the location one block off the Mississippi River within easy walking distance of all downtown Baton Rouge has to offer...which turns out is quite a bit these days. An easy strike to LSU and the football stadium, easy access to the airport, and a direct shot to points north if you feel the need to see the 'real' Baton Rouge away from tourist stops.

Room Tip: Up as high as you can get and facing the river...ask for a balcony room too.
See more room tips
Green Features: Standard stuff with towels, lights, etc. Glad they do it.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukejames52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Bonjour lukejames52,

Let me first and foremost take a moment to thank you for your most recent review. I also want to thank you for choosing our hotel during your most recent visit to Baton Rouge. We want to ensure that each and everyone of our guests are 100% satisfied during their stay and afterwards! We also wanted to let you know that our downtown is growing by leaps and bounds over with additional restaurants and attractions expected to open over the course of the next few months. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!. We love being able to offer our guests our unique blend of Southern charm and hospitality and I will be sure to pass on your review our staff! If my staff or I can be of any assistance to you now or in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us! Thank you again!

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Baton Rouge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I rate this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in,,,,very clean rooms and great servicefriendly atmosphere everything we need it was right there and this will be one of the hotels I will come backto on our next family vacation

Green Features: Very good very friendly atmosphereeverybody was friendly patient and kind
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toni y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
toni y,

Greetings from Baton Rouge! Let me first and foremost take a moment to thank you for your most recent review. I also want to thank you for choosing our hotel during your most recent visit to Baton Rouge. We want to ensure that each and everyone of our guests are 100% satisfied during their stay and afterwards! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!. We love being able to offer our guests our unique blend of Southern charm and hospitality and I will be sure to pass on your review our staff! If my staff or I can be of any assistance to you now or in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us! Thank you again!

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Baton Rouge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great hotel for business and perfect location to walk to restaurants in area. I was greeted at the Front Desk with a big smile and a professional manner. It was pouring rain outside and the manager told me I could leave my car by the front door of the hotel until the rain subsided. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Greetings from Cajun Country Robin F,

Greetings from Baton Rouge! Let me first and foremost take a moment to thank you for your most recent review. I also want to thank you for choosing our hotel during your most recent visit to Baton Rouge. We want to ensure that each and everyone of our guests are 100% satisfied during their stay and afterwards! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!. We love being able to offer our guests our unique blend of Southern charm and hospitality and I will be sure to pass on your review our staff! If my staff or I can be of any assistance to you now or in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us! Thank you again!

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Baton Rouge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
345 reviews
6.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Baton Rouge
7.2 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#8 of 77 in Baton Rouge
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
Address: 462 Lafayette St, Baton Rouge, LA 70802-5407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Baton Rouge Downtown is located in the heart of Baton Rouge, Louisiana's vibrant Downtown business, entertainment and dining district. Our new boutique style priced right hotel in Downtown Baton Rouge is the perfect place for you to stay, whether you come for business or pleasure: * Our Baton Rouge hotel is just minutes from LSU – Louisiana State University, and Tiger Stadium, home of the Fighting Tigers * Located less than 4 miles from our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Baton Rouge hotel in Downtown, you'll find the Louisiana Community & Technical College *Just a short walk to LSU Museum of Art, Old State Capitol and Louisiana State Capitol * Short drive to Southern University located 9 miles from our hotel * Located right across from the IBM Services Center Baton Rouge * Within walking distance to a variety of restaurants, bars and local attractions * Featuring Room Service Provided by Little Village Italian Restaurant * Short walk to the North Boulevard Town Square where you'll enjoy live concerts and weekend festivals * Have some fun in one of the casinos the Baton Rouge has to offer * Enjoy some of our Guestrooms & Suites with balconies overlooking the Mississippi River and Downtown Baton Rouge * The 200,000sq.ft. Baton Rouge River Center is located within walking distance to the hotel, home of conventions, concerts, and Broadway plays * Baton Rouge Airport (BTR) is less than 7 miles from the hotel * Easy access to major highways: I-110, I-10 and I-12 Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton hotel in Baton Rouge Downtown is complete with signature features such as circular one bedroom suites overlooking the Mississippi River, and guest rooms and studio suites with balconies. Our Louisiana Baton Rouge hotel offers premier lodging with elegant, amenity filled guest rooms, unsurpassed views and a warm inviting decor: * 137 stylish and comfortable Rooms & Suites * Free High-Speed Internet Access in the entire Hotel * Free "On The House™" hot breakfast and "On The Run Breakfast Bags™" * Free Local Calls, 800 Access Calls, and Long Distance Access * 42" HDTVs with extended cable including HD Channels * Hairdryer, Iron & full-size Ironing board and Coffee Maker in all Guestrooms * Suites include microwave, mini-fridge, and wet bar * Rooms include microwave and mini-fridge * 2 telephones with speakerphone, and voice-mail featured in all Guestrooms * 1,250+ sq.ft. of flexible function spcaces with audio-visual equipment for your next business meeting or social event * 24-hour Business Center * 24-hour Jump Start Fitness Center * 24-hour convenience store * 100% non-smoking * Parking garage including covered parking (charges apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing