We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Downtown Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel for the LSU/S. Carolina Game and were expecting a not-so-good experience based on other reviews. First, I thought it was a good location. We were able
to get to campus via RiverRoad and park quickly. More importantly after the game, again jumped on RiverRoad and avoided alot of traffic. The hotel itself is a historical site and was restored in 2006. The rooms are stylish but as mentioned the bathrooms are smaller.
Showers mainly but there are some Double bed rooms that have tubs/showers. It is a Hilton property and in my opinion, not too shabby. There are nice linens and a good mattress. There is a hot breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant which I found was plentiful and good. My only point to the hotel staff is there should be an on-going maintanence program. An eagle eye is needed to insure walls are wiped cleaned AND touch up paint is applied where needed...especially in the dining area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th -7th floor for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank browniegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBR, General Manager at Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. We take all comments seriously and in the future will pay more attention to the details like you have suggested. Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.

Daniel Rhodes
General Manager
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

961 - 967 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

Baton Rouge is a nice place-downtown is so quiet. The Hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful, and we were able to walk where we wanted. Others at the hotel said it was among the nicest that had stayed in in town. The hotel only reopened in 2006, and will have some more renovations soon. But the rooms were fine. I would stay here again. The Executive Lounge is really very small, but opens late - but not on weekends. I would avoid Football weekends. The breakfast was not very good - probably because the lounge is so small. Don't expect a hot breakfast in the Executive Lounge.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Miss' and the hotel has a view, but its nothing to write home about. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anecessaryevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Just back from a three night stay at this Hilton property. Staff was pleasant, gym was decent, wifi was free, well located in downtown, but this place has substantial drawbacks. First, many of the king size bed rooms are so small it's hard to move around. Bathroom could not accommodate more than one person, period, and even that was tight. Second, the plumbing, at least in our room, was a mess. There was hot water coming out of the cold water faucet, and yet not much hot water coming out of the shower. (The shower is as poorly designed as one could imagine...there's no option to turn it on without getting completely wet, so be prepared for an initial cold blast.) The TV in our room, and in other rooms, did not work well - many channels had poor or non-existent reception on lots of the standard cable channels. (And this was even after an earnest engineer came to try to fix it.) I don't know the other choices in downtown BR, but one might consider alternatives.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBR, General Manager at Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

I’m sorry we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your recent stay. We have addressed the issues regarding the shower and television with our Engineering department. Your comments will help us to correct these issues and we hope you will consider staying with us the next time you visit Baton Rouge.

Sincerely,
Daniel Rhodes
General Manager
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

With historical buildings it is sometimes hard to reconfigure. But the bathroom with this king room is tiny and too make it worst the floor tiles in the small shower are dirty. Small is one thing but cleanliness is a different story

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marymorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonBR, General Manager at Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

We are glad you chose our hotel during your stay in our area and we apologize for the dirty tiles as posted in your review. I have spoken to our housekeeping staff so that this issue gets rectified and does not occur in the future. We assure you that if you give us another opportunity, you won't be disappointed.

Sincerely,
Daniel Rhodes
General Manager
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Overall the service is very friendly and the hotel is nice. The beds are comfortable but very small. A true queen would be nicer
Do not stay on the 9th floor south end. Evidently there is a ballroom on 10th floor and the music was thumping and pounding on floor went on very late and then started early on the following am.
Overall loved location with the activities around it, kids enjoyed Old Capitol tour which is next door to hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauriceMarfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

had to come into baton rouge to meet some friends to see the Tigers play (Geaux Tigers). booked here last minute. checked in. was told that they were very busy. ok...???!!! went to my room. noticed that there was lots of glasses and dishes from room service next to my room. ok...must be very busy!!! crashed for a few hours. good nice bed. came out and noticed that the glasses were still there. had to wait a while to get the rental. went to the game. the stadium was very close. so the hotel is well located. then went back. crowded. went back to my room. the glasses are still there. now you're kidding!!! tried to sleep. lots of noise from the street. actually the noise was so loud that the windows in my room on the 5th floor were shaking. after about 15 minutes, the stopped it. i finally was able to sleep. the bed was really nice. overall, a decent stay. the hotel itself is beautiful but i would be careful when to book it so that you are not overwhelmed by the crowds and the noise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shark4rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center for a weekend getaway to the LSU game.

Overall this was a very nice hotel and a good experience. Clean, pleasent staff, conveniently located, wonderful views of the Mississippi. I wouldn't hesistate to stay here again for a weekend.

My only disappointment was with the pool area. While it was clean, had comfortable Frontgate furniture and a great view of the Mississippi, it lacked for lack a better word...fun. Since it was a night game and the weather was so fantastic, we figured we'd spend a few hours at the pool. After we got settled, we realized there weren't any amenities other than the pool itself. No bar, so no cocktails, beer or even bottled water. No food service. No TV's to watch other college games. While there are speakers all around the patio, there wasn't even any music playing. What looks like it would be their bar from our room was actually the Viking cooking school and it was all chained and locked. They are losing out on great revenue

We had a great weekend and look forward to traveling here again.

Room Tip: River front. We stayed on the 6th floor and we had a great view.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank ERPMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
7.1 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#10 of 77 in Baton Rouge
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
3.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate
0.1 mi away
WATERMARK Baton Rouge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center

Address: 201 Lafayette St, Baton Rouge, LA 70801-1205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Baton Rouge
#19 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range: £98 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the finest accommodations in Baton Rouge at the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center! We are located in the heart of downtown and the Baton Rouge City Center, just off I-10/I-110 and adjacent to the Mississippi River.We are in the heart of the Central Business District, minutes from the Louisiana State Capitol, LSU, the Louisiana Arts & Science Museum, Shaw Center for the Arts, and the Old Governor's Mansion, amongst many other popular attractions in this vibrant city.Our hotel is a AAA 4-Diamond historical hotel, originally built in 1927 and renovated completely, keeping the historic character and touches of the time period, while bringing the hotel up to the level of excellence and luxury that you would expect. Our hotel offers a beautiful outdoor pool complete with a sundeck overlooking the Mississippi River. Looking for authentic cajun cooking? Visit The Kingfish Grill located on-site! Look no further than the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Hotel Baton Rouge
Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing