We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean with a great view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean with a great view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located a block away from the levee and within walking distance from many restaurants. The hotel is modern and our room was quite clean. Amenities were simple, just a safe and single-serve coffee maker. The nicest aspect of the room was the view of the Mississippi River from the room. Overall, no complaints about the stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    272
    161
    81
    49
See reviews for
183
225
41
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

The waitress insisted to take the breakfast buffet as she didn’t want to give me a full service. I ended up ordering eggs benedict and instead of poaching the eggs I received some kind of oily fried egg whites smashed together as if they were poached. I ended up eating just fruit. Giving a second chance I came back the next day and tried the buffet. I asked for two fried eggs over easy and I got two oily super well done fried eggs. Horrible! Once again I ended up eating fruit. The two mornings I was attended by the same waitress who preferred to talk with the girl behind the buffet doing the omelettes that too serve me. Both days when she served my horrible eggs she said they looked very tasty and good as she was trying to cover her friend. The coffee was good but they only served my one cup and didn’t offer more.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
4 Thank Jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus H, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel and restaurant. I understand that you were disappointed in our breakfast offerings, I have brought your comments to our culinary team and we are actively reworking our offerings with your concerns in mind. The next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back to see the changes we have made and provide feedback. Thank you once again for your comments.

Thank you,

Marcus Hennigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glynn, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Cool historic hotel. Nice hotel staff, great buffet breakfast, big windows in rooms on city view side. Nice place to stay in downtown baton rouge. Close to everything and has shuttle service. Would stay again. Vallet parking is extra $17 or you can park $5 at open lot one block down from hotel. Very close to restaurants, bars, museums, etc. walking distance to lots of things.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed the week of Christmas got a wonderful upgrade beautiful historical hotel great staff. The river view is a must coffee in the lobby rocks. Architecture of this building amazing. I believe some renovations are due to start love to see this classy hotel rock some refurbishment s

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank eeseasdaszds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

very clean hotel and freindly staff. bathrooms were updated and clean. good water pressure in the shower and plenty of hot water. the hotel has a old charm feel, with modern quality's. I will stay here again when visiting baton rouge la.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, La
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for New Years Eve to go downtown for festivities. The Hotel is kinda of old but has been remodeled some. I like the fact that you are 1 block off 3rd st where there a lot of nice Bars, Pubs & restaurants. I find the rooms a little dated & small but they where clean. Its not quite as nice as the other Hiltons we stay at. I would stay here again just because of the location & the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank MargaritaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were traveling back home to the Carolina coast from Houston and decided to stay in Baton Rouge at the last minute. We found the Hilton Baton Rouge and decided to stay there based upon previous reviews. The hotel was very easy to find and was in a great location downtown. The front desk staff was very friendly. Our room was small but comfortable. Unfortunately, it was not in very good repair. The handle on the hot water faucet fell off when I turned it and the wallpaper was peeling off the bathroom wall. The worse part was the room was not thoroughly cleaned from the previous occupants. There was hair in the bathroom sink and tub and there was a partially used shampoo container in the tub. Yuck...The sheets appeared clean so we all slept well. We had breakfast the next morning in the Kingfish Grill. Service was poor. We waited 10-15 minutes and no one, absolutely no one was there to greet us, show us to a table, nothing. We did not see a single service person. We did see another diner sitting at a table so we seated ourselves and started to go through the breakfast buffet. At this time, we heard some raucous laughter from the kitchen area and then saw several staff members coming out. We were served at the omelette station by a very nice young man who said that he didn't work this area but was happy to help us. He did a great job. We were then approached by two different people, one who appeared to be a manager and another waitress, who both told us that we were sitting in a closed station. We offered to move but they said no. Our waitress was not friendly and seemed annoyed with us from the get go. The food was quite good but the service and professionalism were poor. We paid, checked out and left. The valet gentleman was very helpful and friendly.

Overall, this was comfortable hotel and would be a fine place to stay if the management addressed these issues we experienced. If I had a choice, I would not choose to stay here again. There are other options for my money in this area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anent66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
7.1 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#5 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
0.1 mi away
WATERMARK Baton Rouge, Autograph Collection
7.5 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#13 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center

Property: Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Address: 201 Lafayette St, Baton Rouge, LA 70801-1205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Baton Rouge
#19 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the finest accommodations in Baton Rouge at the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center! We are located in the heart of downtown and the Baton Rouge City Center, just off I-10/I-110 and adjacent to the Mississippi River.We are in the heart of the Central Business District, minutes from the Louisiana State Capitol, LSU, the Louisiana Arts & Science Museum, Shaw Center for the Arts, and the Old Governor's Mansion, amongst many other popular attractions in this vibrant city.Our hotel is a AAA 4-Diamond historical hotel, originally built in 1927 and renovated completely, keeping the historic character and touches of the time period, while bringing the hotel up to the level of excellence and luxury that you would expect. Our hotel offers a beautiful outdoor pool complete with a sundeck overlooking the Mississippi River. Looking for authentic cajun cooking? Visit The Kingfish Grill located on-site! Look no further than the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Hotel Baton Rouge
Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing