We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Hotel is pretty, but service is not up to par. Employees are nice but not very competent. Once employee said the van could accommodate me. The second employee said the van could not accommodate me. Room service order was lost. Front desk did not order cab as needed, and then could not get another cab in a timely fashion

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

Housekeeping staff should all be fired and management should be retrained. Dirty rooms... Nice people... Mold in the showers, no liners in the trashcans, dirt on the doors and walls. My bathroom wall had a hole from where someone kicked in the door and the bathrobe hook penetrated the drywall. Coffee maker didn't work so had it replaced. Replacement coffemaker still had two old used bags of coffee in it. Not clean. Sheets so hard they gave me rub burns on my elbows from turning over at night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Yianni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus H, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Yianni,
Thank you for your candid feedback on your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet expectations and I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. I understand the condition of your restroom was of concern, I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience, currently we are in the middle of a 8 Million which will be done in July 2014 . Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,
Marcus Hennigan 2253445866

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

One of the best breakfast buffets I have experienced. The offering was plentiful and all that I had was of a great quality. I enjoy the breakfast buffed every time I stay there. Service is always good and the eggs are available anyway you want them prepared. They are prepared by a joyful cook.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Staff was outstanding! From Valet, Front desk & Driver. Great Location in Downtown area. Loved they had a shuttle back & forth to the Rivercenter. Would highly recommend to friends & family. Great Bar & restaurant as well!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel is In the downtown area close to restaurants, the state capitol, the Shaw Theatre, the science museum, and the USS Kidd.Though I didn't see that much within walking distance.
Valet parking is about $16/day. (No self-parking available.)

It looks like an older hotel; I think it’s a historic building. I didn't get to explore much of the hotel, though. If you’re a Hilton HHonors Gold or Diamond member, the breakfast buffet is complimentary. It’s not really complimentary, though, as you still pay tax and tip. The lunch menu on their website is not what they are currently serving in the restaurant, though the people in the restaurant were very pleasant. Health center is open 24 hours/day, but it’s small, more like a typical Hampton Inn (a few treadmills and dumbbells, but no weight machines).

Some rooms have a view of the river, which is pretty industrial. The rooms have wired and wireless internet. I think it’s complimentary. However, there is no refrigerator or microwave oven in the room. The shower is nicely done, with a grab bar and a towel rack and shelves in the shower for easy reach. Bathroom has a lack of counter space. Rack for the soap and shampoo works if you’re taking a bath, but too low if you’re taking a shower. No lock on the bathroom door, and one of the doorknobs was missing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank statmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Hilton Captital Hilton in Baton Rouge was a great place to stay. It is located in the scenic area by the river. There are many good dining casual places within walking distance in and around the hotel They provided a hotel shuttle free of charge to and from the riverside convention center.Overall great stay...will return again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Rhea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed there Feb5-Feb 7 rm 445.We had the best experience for our first time there! There was never a person who worked there that didn't greet us with a smile!
We were with
PSC company. Food was amazing! The concierge Cesar was absolutely wonderful!
He was the best.! He was training a newbie on Friday Maegan. She was so great she has a great mentor!! Our room was great! Love them all! Will definitely
come back!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
7.1 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#9 of 77 in Baton Rouge
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
3.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate
0.1 mi away
WATERMARK Baton Rouge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center

Address: 201 Lafayette St, Baton Rouge, LA 70801-1205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Baton Rouge
#19 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range: £97 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the finest accommodations in Baton Rouge at the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center! We are located in the heart of downtown and the Baton Rouge City Center, just off I-10/I-110 and adjacent to the Mississippi River.We are in the heart of the Central Business District, minutes from the Louisiana State Capitol, LSU, the Louisiana Arts & Science Museum, Shaw Center for the Arts, and the Old Governor's Mansion, amongst many other popular attractions in this vibrant city.Our hotel is a AAA 4-Diamond historical hotel, originally built in 1927 and renovated completely, keeping the historic character and touches of the time period, while bringing the hotel up to the level of excellence and luxury that you would expect. Our hotel offers a beautiful outdoor pool complete with a sundeck overlooking the Mississippi River. Looking for authentic cajun cooking? Visit The Kingfish Grill located on-site! Look no further than the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Hotel Baton Rouge
Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing