We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and welcoming”
Review of Ridgeback House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ridgeback House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windmeul
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Vanessa at Ridgeback is an excellent host. We first met her when visiting the vineyard for a tasting four years ago. We were delighted.to find that she has added a B&B guesthouse since then, and so it was the obvious choice for our stay in Paarl.
We had the suite, which offered a huge amount of space. It was such a delight to wake up and be able to look out across the vines. Paarl can get very hit, so it was great to be able to relax by the pool under a shade.

The dining room isn't just used for breakfast. One evening we enjoyed dinner on the estate. We enjoyed beautifully cooked Hake, and were able to enjoy the wine from the estate without worrying about drinking and driving!

Included in the package was a tasting and a tour of the cellar.. The winemaker - Toit - gave us a very good understanding of his craft. We were very lucky as they were just harvesting the white grapes, so we were able to see the beginning of the fermentation in the oak barrels.
In addition to the B&B, we enjoyed a lovely lunch by the lake, washed down with a tasting of the current batch of wine for sale.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthernPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2011

Being an active traveler in the Western Cape, I can only warmly recommend Ridgeback House!

Everything was perfect. The welcome of Vanessa, the proprietor of the Guest House, and her dogs, two Ridgebacks (hence the name). Despite our plane being very late, she waited for us till 10pm.
We had the honeymoon suite. The decor is tastefully done. The bathroom is beautiful with lots of wood.
The bedroom, bathroom and common areas are very clean.

After a delicious breakfast, we went to a farm nearby for a horse ride. Vanessa organized everything for us.
We then went to a wine tasting in the Ridgeback wine tasting area. The setting is fabulous and incredibly relaxing. You can enjoy their wine and good food on a shaded wooden deck on the edge of a pond.

I can only encourage you to spend couple of nights there and hope you find the place as delightful as I did.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

My husband and I stayed here while we attended a wedding for 3 nights. The room we had was all the way at the end of the corridor and it was heavenly, we had a balcony overlooking the vineyards, a huge bed and a massive bedroom. the bathroom was huge too, you could have just slept in there! The staff were great and really accommodating. There was an honesty bar as well as a bar fridge in the room. The breakfasts were gorgeous. I would definatley like to go back again some day.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliseukIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank frankn7300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank J_rgen_F198585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helmut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carola1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windmeul
7.3 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
6.1 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
8.0 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Zomerlust Guesthouse
Zomerlust Guesthouse
#9 of 14 in Paarl
26 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
502 reviews
4.5 mi away
Perle-du-Cap Private Suite Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgeback House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgeback House

Address: Langverwacht Farm, Off R44, Windmeul, Paarl 7630, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl > Windmeul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windmeul
Price Range: £71 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ridgeback House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ridgeback Guest House founded in 2008, originally the old farm house,located in the middle of the 62 hectare farm nestled amongst the working vineyards,overlooking the magnificent Paarl Limietberg Mountains and home to our award winning Ridgeback Wines.Ridgeback House offers a truly luxurious experience with stylish accommodation, fine home cooking, attentive service and some of the best wine South Africa has to offer.All rooms are individually decorated, all en-suite. Four rooms have private balconies overlooking beautiful koppies and vineyards.Ridgeback House caters for a wide range of clients from corporate clients through to get-away seekers and nature enthusiasts. It serves as a great base to explore the Cape Winelands and Cape Town with countless attractions, or sit back,relax and simply enjoy the outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Ridgeback House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing