We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Here I am again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ridgeback House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ridgeback House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windmeul
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Here I am again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

I stayed at Ridgeback House two years ago and decided to spend some time again there. It is quite easy to travel around, Stellenbosch and Franschhoek being at 30 minutes away drive. And this place is so relaxing, exactly what I needed! Staying there again was like staying home. Vanessa took again extremely good care of me, spoiling me with what I like for breakfast and organizing a delicious dinner for me (highly appreciated as some guest houses doesn't offer it...).

The house is an old farm house with all the charm and the character of this kind of house but having been transformed for our comfort. I had the honeymoon room again, very clean and comfortable, very good price for value. I also enjoyed very relaxing moments around the pool and at the wine tasting house (some very good wines there). I don't remember if it was available in the past but there is free WiFi.

I can only recommend Ridgeback House and should you need anything, I am sure that Vanessa will organize it for you as she did for me. Thanks so much for this memorable stay, it is a proper different experience from the anonymous hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
30
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead,Berkshire,UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

It is a shame for the owners to have to write a poor review but they really need to give some thought to how much Ridgeback is in need of some care and attention. As you arrive you can see the front door needs painting, many of garden chairs are stained, one outside locks for the balcony door was missing, the balcony furniture was very basic ( just some cushions would help) and the balcony needed good sweep although it had been very windy which will not have helped.
The dining room and siting room are exceptionally drab. The magazines that have been put out are two years old and books on the coffee tables are torn.
We had dinner on our first night and it was the worst meal we have ever had in hundreds we have had in South Africa . No choice was given, even the salad was poor and the dessert had the appearance of being bought in a supermarket. The breakfast was a little better but lacked imagination.
We stayed in the Berlin room which should have a good view but part is blocked by a tree in the garden - it simply needs trimming but seems to be the sort of detail that is not noticed.
The staff seem to try their best but really the place let's down so many other guest houses which by enlarge are a great credit to South Africa. It is very,very overpriced. Trying to find something positive to say the bedroom was very clean and there were plenty of towels.
Note: in error I made an entry against a Fitness Centre but was unable to remove it - I certainly can not therefore say it is terrible.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puteaux, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

end november, we have 2 nights in this marvellous place: beautiful view, house,and furniture. wonderful room very clean; breakfast, dinner and wine were perfect ( excellent snacks served in the room), exceptionnal kindnesss of the people
we do recommand this place and hope to come back again from France

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genevieve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Our stay at Ridgeback was excellent. Very confortable rooms with excellent breakfast and very friendly hosting. An excellent place to relax and get some very good recommendations around Paarl. The stay was worth it!!! Many thanks.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

For me traveling at this te alone this small cozy guest house was as we say in agrikaa piek fyn. Like being in a family housr. Real again as we say in Afrikaans gasvryheid.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karldieboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Being guesthouse owners ourselves (in Cape Town, actually!), we must first apologise to the effervescent Vanessa and team for having to put up with some nit picking couple coming to stay in your property for a weekend! But my word, was it worth it.

The house is on top of hill, with vast public spaces for a B&B, all impeccably furnished, and each room (with one exception, appartently) has a balcony with a view. The pool area is delighful: kind of like a Roman villa with the house surrounding an inner courtyard. Vanessa, ladies and gentleman, is the kind of host that everyone wishes they could have all holiday: she greeted us with pool towels in hand and, when Liz got really sick with food poisoning (from a Paarl restaurant we were not that impressed with), Vanessa took the trouble to bring us food in the room, totally beyond the call of duty and not at all expected.

The bed and bathroom were all extremely comfortable: we're obviously a picky pair but couldn't fault anything, in fact, we left inspired and rested.

What would I like to have seen? Perhaps a little more choice for vegetarians in the cooked breakfast but that Merlot jam and croissants was really all I needed. Superb.

Room Tip: Rather go for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParkerCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
253 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Vanessa at Ridgeback is an excellent host. We first met her when visiting the vineyard for a tasting four years ago. We were delighted.to find that she has added a B&B guesthouse since then, and so it was the obvious choice for our stay in Paarl.
We had the suite, which offered a huge amount of space. It was such a delight to wake up and be able to look out across the vines. Paarl can get very hit, so it was great to be able to relax by the pool under a shade.

The dining room isn't just used for breakfast. One evening we enjoyed dinner on the estate. We enjoyed beautifully cooked Hake, and were able to enjoy the wine from the estate without worrying about drinking and driving!

Included in the package was a tasting and a tour of the cellar.. The winemaker - Toit - gave us a very good understanding of his craft. We were very lucky as they were just harvesting the white grapes, so we were able to see the beginning of the fermentation in the oak barrels.
In addition to the B&B, we enjoyed a lovely lunch by the lake, washed down with a tasting of the current batch of wine for sale.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windmeul
7.3 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
8.0 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Perle-du-Cap Private Suite Estate
6.1 mi away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
5.4 mi away
Pontac Manor Hotel
Pontac Manor Hotel
#11 of 14 in Paarl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgeback House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgeback House

Property: Ridgeback House
Address: Langverwacht Farm, Off R44, Windmeul, Paarl 7630, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl > Windmeul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windmeul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ridgeback House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ridgeback Guest House founded in 2008, originally the old farm house,located in the middle of the 62 hectare farm nestled amongst the working vineyards,overlooking the magnificent Paarl Limietberg Mountains and home to our award winning Ridgeback Wines.Ridgeback House offers a truly luxurious experience with stylish accommodation, fine home cooking, attentive service and some of the best wine South Africa has to offer.All rooms are individually decorated, all en-suite. Four rooms have private balconies overlooking beautiful koppies and vineyards.Ridgeback House caters for a wide range of clients from corporate clients through to get-away seekers and nature enthusiasts. It serves as a great base to explore the Cape Winelands and Cape Town with countless attractions, or sit back,relax and simply enjoy the outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ridgeback House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing