We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go back again this year!”
Review of Ridgeback House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ridgeback House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windmeul
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of October for my father's 80th birthday celebration. The rooms were large, very clean and well appointed. The breakfast was ample and delicious. Vanessa and her team were so friendly and helpful. The birthday lunch at the restaurant for 18 people was the best ever. The Rhodesian Ridgeback dogs were beautiful too. The view, the service, the food.....why stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moorhounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Ridgeback House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed with Vanessa and her lovely dogs at our trip to Cape Town. Ridgeback house is an absolutely beautiful place to stay at if you visit Paarl. Fantastic view from the balcony and excellent wine tasting at the tasting room!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sofie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Lovely guest house with spectacular views. Breakfast each morning was outstanding and the staff were very attentive to all of my needs. Location was great as it wasn't too far away from the city. I look forward to my next visit and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OHFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Seldom have I found a host as caring and accommodating as Vanessa. She goes out of her way to assure you are cared for and comfortable. I thoroughly enjoyed the transfer back in time when I stayed in a room that was generations old yet well kept and comfortable. The kitchen produced a wonderful dinner and breakfast and all of this = a great find and good value. I would return and I commend it strongly to those want to relax and be refreshed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We only stayed 2 nights as we did not have time for longer, sadly. Very nice. Friendly and helpful people all round; I was a little unwell with flu and all were very kind. Beautiful setting on working wine farm with lovely walks amongst the laden vines. Great breakfasts. Fabulous wines for tasting and drinking. Terrific value. Easy access to Paarl for eating out in fine restaurants, and hostess Vanessa is full of useful advice and suggestions. A few small gripes: we stayed in the "honeymoon" suite and the passage light shone through the window above the door and reflected off the mirror into our eyes when in bed, even when dim. And security lights outside somehow always managed to shine through a crack in curtains. I am very sensitive to light. A feather pillow each would have been a nice but not necessary touch. There was also too much scented air freshener in the room. But we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Ridgeback House.

Room Tip: If sensitive to light and you prefer a very dark room, avoid "honeymoon suite"
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamarich13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed two nights at Ridgeback House and it was very pleasant.
In the morning I had the opportunity to see and to take pictures of the grapes harvested in the fields. 'Hands on' if you like to.....
Breakfasts are served in a very nice and big dining room (loved the Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot preserves on toast). Very nice appointed lounge with big sofas and wing-chairs.
Wines are of very good quality. Vanessa is a very friendly host and she and her team are very helpful. We liked the snacks served with our pre-dinner glass of wine.

Room Tip: We stayed in the larger (honeymoon) room which is very big with very large bathroom (bath and shower...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j2sy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I stayed at Ridgeback House two years ago and decided to spend some time again there. It is quite easy to travel around, Stellenbosch and Franschhoek being at 30 minutes away drive. And this place is so relaxing, exactly what I needed! Staying there again was like staying home. Vanessa took again extremely good care of me, spoiling me with what I like for breakfast and organizing a delicious dinner for me (highly appreciated as some guest houses doesn't offer it...).

The house is an old farm house with all the charm and the character of this kind of house but having been transformed for our comfort. I had the honeymoon room again, very clean and comfortable, very good price for value. I also enjoyed very relaxing moments around the pool and at the wine tasting house (some very good wines there). I don't remember if it was available in the past but there is free WiFi.

I can only recommend Ridgeback House and should you need anything, I am sure that Vanessa will organize it for you as she did for me. Thanks so much for this memorable stay, it is a proper different experience from the anonymous hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windmeul
7.3 mi away
De Leeuwenhof Hotel/Guesthouse
8.0 mi away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
184 reviews
4.9 mi away
Zomerlust Guesthouse
Zomerlust Guesthouse
#9 of 14 in Paarl
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Grande Roche Hotel
Grande Roche Hotel
#2 of 14 in Paarl
493 reviews
4.5 mi away
Perle-du-Cap Private Suite Estate
6.4 mi away
Goedemoed Country Inn
Goedemoed Country Inn
#7 of 14 in Paarl
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgeback House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgeback House

Address: Langverwacht Farm, Off R44, Windmeul, Paarl 7630, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl > Windmeul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windmeul
Price Range: £69 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ridgeback House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ridgeback Guest House founded in 2008, originally the old farm house,located in the middle of the 62 hectare farm nestled amongst the working vineyards,overlooking the magnificent Paarl Limietberg Mountains and home to our award winning Ridgeback Wines.Ridgeback House offers a truly luxurious experience with stylish accommodation, fine home cooking, attentive service and some of the best wine South Africa has to offer.All rooms are individually decorated, all en-suite. Four rooms have private balconies overlooking beautiful koppies and vineyards.Ridgeback House caters for a wide range of clients from corporate clients through to get-away seekers and nature enthusiasts. It serves as a great base to explore the Cape Winelands and Cape Town with countless attractions, or sit back,relax and simply enjoy the outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Ridgeback House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing