We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Community Coffee served”
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Bossier City
Reviewed 1 March 2013

For a traveler without kids or a wife with me, I would recommend it if you want just the basics. Their rooms need some work but it is a comfortable bed and has flat screen TVs. Plus, I LOVE the fact they serve Community Coffee and are in walking distance of a great steak restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStay S, Guest Relations Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2015

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review regarding your stay at our extended stay hotel.
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

After reading reviews I was skeptical but the room was clean....housekeeping came twice daily....no problems with room at all...had toaster, microwave, coffee maker, utensils, and cookware...loved it...was quiet and i stayed down stairs...everything i needed was convenient....i stayed a whole week

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank respektdatruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStay S, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review regarding your stay at our hotel.
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely, Thank you. GM :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel room we stayed in 2/23 was absolutely disgusting. There was pee all over the floor and around the toilet. There was old coffee in the coffee pot, dirt on the towels, crumbs on the floor, and the curtains were torn with holes. They were doing repairs and left a mess in the bathroom where they were refinishing the baseboards. They were also remodeling outside and there was trash all over the grounds. They refused to give me a refund, and when I asked to at least change rooms they told me they were booked.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStay S, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review regarding your stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Simply stated, this place is a dump, or at least that was true of our two-room suite 122. It neither looked nor smelled clean. It was apparent that a long-term tenant had just left, based on the broken furniture, the pins and other small holes in the wall, the empty rack on the wall where a TV had been, and the cables all over the floor. The experience started with removing the dead battery from the smoke alarm to stop it from chirping. The curtains, windows and other features were uniformly dingy. We had one TV that didn't work at all, and another small one with a terrible picture on most channels. The exterior lighting was nonexistent on the stairs leading up to the suite. The beds were tolerable, after we traded out dirty sheets at the front desk for only slightly better replacements. The desk clerk said that she had worked there three months, and that if she had a dollar for every complaint, she wouldn't have to work. The one good thing was a nice breakfast selection in a much more attractive main office building. But the building where we stayed should be shut down until a full renovation can be done. Choice Hotels should be embarrassed to have this property in its portfolio.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStay S, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review regarding your stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

It's really hard to write a review for this property. It's good in some respects, but quite a study in contrasts, as there are a number of things that make this property ... well ... weird.

Check-in was handled efficiently by a pleasant front desk clerk. The location is convenient - right off of I-20, and there is ample parking close to the room.

First, the good stuff:

The room itself was nicely sized with a surprisingly good floor plan. There was a full kitchen area, with a real, 4-burner stove with oven, full sized microwave, full sized refrigerator, and a full sized kitchen sink. Between the kitchen and the main living area was one of the best work areas that I've seen in any motel, and, in this case, it doubled as a dining table. The work space had ample room, small raised shelves, and 4 electrical outlets at tabletop level. The chair was comfortable as well.

The main living area had a fireplace, loveseat, and chair. The bed was in an adjacent area, and then, around the corner, was a dressing area and bathroom. The climate control worked quite well, and on a cold, damp night, it kept the room quite comfortable. The bed was comfortable, with 4 pillows of different textures.

OK. Now the weird stuff.

The room itself had a strong odor that can only be described as a "wet dog" smell. I don't know if there was something wrong - like mold or dampness - or if it was just that the previous guest may have had, well, a wet dog with him or her. I don't know. But the smell was very noticeable, and it didn't go away.

While the room was in generally good shape, the main entry door was quite scuffed and beat up, and outside, the trim around the door was gone and the room number itself was barely hanging on. There was evidence that they may be doing some exterior work, as I looked around and most of the units in my building had the same missing trim, and one of the units looked like it we being used as a storage area for building materials. I don't necessary count this as a negative; I mention it only because that's what I found.

The smoke detector and the carbon monoxide detectors were laying on the work table. They were not mounted. There was a battery in the smoke detector, but there was none in the carbon monoxide detector, and that unit was somewhat disassembled. Also on the work table was the remnants of what appeared to be some sort of network interfact device and, separately, a mini-USB charger. The lack of an operable, properly installed smoke detector and carbon monoxide detector was a concern. Perhaps they had been removed pending remodeling, but regardless of the reason, the room should not have been rented without these being installed and operational.

Overall:

Had the room not smelled like a wet dog and the safety equipment been installed properly, I probably would have rated this property 4 out of 5. Price wise, it was a good deal compared to other similarly styled properties, and the room itself was pretty comfortable. I did not notice anything of concern going on outside in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, but it was also Christmas Eve.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank step12dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I was on a road trip to West Monroe LA and for $62 a night is fine rooms actually are studios.
I stay in room 821 and i sleep very well, 4 pillows on a comfortable king size bed, kitchenette and bathroom was clean, big flat screen, AC super quiet and working good you may feel the floor weird when walk but i was tired. At least i cant ask for more. Its weird because the place use to be an apartment or studios complex
Only negative thing was the young ghetto punk guys around at 3am with saggy pants and smoking funny stuff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIVERA-SANTIAGO R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This place was very nasty. The room floor upstairs was dirty, all the floors really was nasty&dirty, the stairway was dirty and had crumbs on it. No extra tissue in the bathrooms,
towels, not much of anything really. We stayed here for five days housekeeping did not clean up not even one day. We put the dirty towels outside to be picked up but they just left them there day after day. We had to go to the office to pick up clean towels everyday. Clean the floors ourselfs. Make our own beds everyday. The staff here really sucks. Kitchen sink smelled like old trashcans. The kitchen it self was not stocked with everything that was needed. We was housekeeping while we was here.
~when I read the others reviews I said it can't be that bad!!! They been open for so long. BUT I WAS WRONG! !!!! ITS JUST THAT BAD.
Serious! !!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coko4061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bossier City hotels
0.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Shreveport Bossier City
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#19 of 35 in Bossier City
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bossier City
La Quinta Inn Bossier City
#18 of 35 in Bossier City
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Shreveport-Bossier City
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bossier City
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 35 in Bossier City
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Address: 1001 Gould Dr, Bossier City, LA 71111-4909
Region: United States > Louisiana > Bossier City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 Hotels in Bossier City
Price Range: £39 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Manager Social(Lite Dinner) Mon and Wed evening 4.30 pm till 7.30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing