We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Interstate”
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Bossier City
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel seems to be a work in progress. Construction materials litter the grounds and extend to the parking areas. The room we had was in much need of repair and updating. It had a kitchen but no coffee maker or on room coffee. The refrigerator had a foul odor as did the room. The carpet was worn and out dated. Only one reason to stay here is availability.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStay S, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

Checked in on my anniversary July 4. To start off we had to get up some stairs thatseemed to be made for children,The small stairwells made it very hard to go up with luggage.The first thing my wife frowned on was the noisy bathroom vent. Next was the not dirty, but filthy air condition vent near the bathroom. Afterwards was the closet door that had two doors, but only one would open. We got through the first night (so I thought) to hear loud music at 1 am. Next was houskeeping banging on the door at 9am. We had to threaten to call the office to get her to come back to half way clean the room.That's just day one. The real problem came after we called for towels at 8am, only to have to call back hours later and be answered by a seemingly aggrevated office manager. Towels came 5 hrs later- no service to room and the water wasn't working for about a half hour. i'll stop there now because I'm getting more pissed the more I type cause I'm still in the hotel and the trip "WILL" be cut short!!! THANKS FOR NOTHING MAINSTAY!!!

Room Tip: stay away at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStay S, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

this place was nice for the price. there was some remodeling going but our room was nice. unlike the other reviews our room didn't smell and had clean sheets. the AC work wonderful the microwave work there was even a coffee pot dishwasher and full size stove. the fridgerator was like a house. Our room nor did the fridge smell when you open it up but could use a wiping on top. there were signs of remodeling in the room fresh carpet ,fresh paint,... however being a painter, I noticed that the ceiling was not cut in around the smoke detector. the front door could have used some work as well as the toilet paper holders in the bathroom. the door to the air conditioning unit was dirty... but overall the room was nice I would stay there again. Maby have a new owners they just need some time to fix it up. the free breakfast was good and the staff was very courteous and friendly. didn't swim in the pool but it looks nice is well. as far as parking goes there could be a little more. we stayed in room 223 and the noise from i-20 was annoying but I slept well. the outside have been freshly painted and look nice however there were some trim that was forgotten. I do believe there needs to be better quality control after the rooms have been completed. but for the overall price this day was
nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank health-department
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStay S, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review regarding your stay at our hotel.
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

1. Dirty-not vacuumed, surfaces not cleaned
2. Beat up and run down. Furniture abused etc.
3. Disorganized- staff put queen sheet on king bed and left it hanging half off.
4. Tacky-I knew when I walked in and saw the condoms for sale at the front desk that I had screwed up. Obviously not run by someone who has a solid grasp on things.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodneyWyrosdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MainStay S, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review regarding your stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

For our recent reservation, we were "upgraded" to a "penthouse suite." What a joke. This room was in horrible need of a renovation and thorough cleaning.
Starting with the room door, 30% of the paint was peeled off (looked like a workshed door), the door didn't fit the frame correctly (you could see a lot of light around it), and the lock felt flimsy at best.
The smoke alarm was hanging from its wires.
The electrical outlet plates on the walls were barely attached and askew (showing the space behind it).
Found a few bugs on the bed.
The walls were stained and dirty.
The downstairs couch and chair were very stained (we used a sheet over it as a cover).
To boot, a large party in the adjacent building was partying late into the night in the courtyard, very noisy. Also, the nearby interstate noise was so loud it kept us from sleeping well.
At checkout, when I told the front desk clerk about all the above, her response was that this was a 30-year-old hotel with 1-year-old new owners and these things "take time to fix." At this rate, they won't have any customers by the time they get around to fixing things up.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas_marcum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We checked in and found our Executive Suite unmade. Called the office at 4:30 pm and let them know. The said they would send housekeeping. We headed to Saturday evening mass, dinner and returned at 8pm to the same unmade unclean room. Desk clerk said Sorry, I don't know how they keep this place open. I don't know what to tell you. I asked if they could move us she said no there was nothing available. I took sheets and towels and made my own bed. In the morning I spoke to the manager and said there was no way I was paying for a room I had to clean and make up myself, she said she couldn't do that. The room would have to be paid for. I reluctantly paid. The hotel looked very nice on the exterior. It was a residence type hotel, kitchen cabinet where glasses were kept had a box of mouse poisoning and I know why. The cabinet drawer under the stove had mouse tracings. Lots of them. The curtains were hanging by 3 drape hooks. General upkeep of rooms were poor at best. Carpet was moldy by the window and closet door was off the track and propped. I would think it was on the middle of remodeling but we ran into folks at breakfast the next morning and they let us look at their regular suite and theirs was not any different other than their bed was made for them and they only had dirty dishes in the cupboard, no mouse poison.

On the positive, lobby was clean and beautifully modern. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Overall we were satisfied with the rooms. We had two rooms - a 2 bedroom suite and King Bed suite. The 2 bedroom suite was in pretty good condition. The king suite had a few issues. The bathroom wasnt too clean. There was mold surrounding the AC vent in the bathroom. The door that housed the AC unit was covered with dust and the vent cover was broken. The fridge had a smell when you opened it.

Would I stay there again.. Yes but not in that particular room unless they fix some of the issue.

Also.. dont expect to feed a family of 3 - there was only one fork, one spoon, and one knife.. :)

And the swimming pool and hot tub were closed for the season (to be opened May 1) but that thing was so disgusting that i dont recommend anyone swim in it even after its cleaned and opened. There was a thick slimy film covering the hot tub and both were so green you couldnt see the bottom.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dantespeak123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bossier City hotels
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Shreveport-Bossier City
0.9 mi away
Crossland Economy Studios - Shreveport - Bossier City
0.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Shreveport Bossier City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bossier City
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#19 of 35 in Bossier City
87 reviews
5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bossier City
Comfort Suites Bossier City
#8 of 35 in Bossier City
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Address: 1001 Gould Dr, Bossier City, LA 71111-4909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Bossier City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Bossier City
Price Range: £37 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Manager Social(Lite Dinner) Mon and Wed evening 4.30 pm till 7.30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing