We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has seen better days” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Bossier City
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
125 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Has seen better days”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

I am just finishing a 2nd 10+ day stay @ this hotel (my client's choice) & have another 10 days coming up next month (unfortunately).

To say this place has seen better days would be an understatement, but that's the nicest way I think of to say it's a dump. While the gatehouse is well kept up, the individual bungelows & units themselves are quite run-down. The building style leads to a feeling that each unit is run down, dark, dirty, & dingy, the ground floor units much more so than the 2nd floor units. There is very little natural light &, unless you like bugs, no way to get any fresh air in as they have taken most of the screen doors off. The lighting w/in the unit is very dim & even w/every light turned on, it still seems dark. While the front desk staff, for the most part, are very nice, I was quite surprised when, there were tornados in the area & the power went out one night, not a single staff person ever checked to see if I was ok; I guess they take the 'resident' part of Residence Inn literally. Soundproofing of the individual units is poor & the roar from the freeway can be bothersome @ night. Housekeeping is very much hit or miss-trash isn't collected one day, clean towels & toilet paper left sitting on the arm of the sofa another, etc-it became something of a game to see what would be done, or not done, upon returning each evening.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    20
    17
    14
    22
See reviews for
25
9
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

What a dump! Not up to the normal RI standards of Marriott. This place has been rode hard and put away sopping wet way too many times....

This is one of the old style RI layouts with little bungalow buildings of 16 "suites" per. The exterior of this place is REALLY bad and worn terribly but hasn't seen a new coat of paint for quite some time.... Dirty, smelly, in need of demolition instead of renovation.

The interiors are poorly updated.... a bit of carpet, drapery, wall paper and 20 coats of paint just make it look like an old hooker with too much make-up... closets were filthy, furniture was worn and tired.

You can surely find something nicer and newer for the same or less $$... especially if you opt to stay closer to Shreveport instead of Bossier.

Oh yeah... no WiFi in the bungalows... only very slow wired connection... at least it was free (though considering the cost of the room, it's worth it to pay elsewhere).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScatSpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

I just got back from Shreveport and stayed at the Residence Inn Shreveport-Airport location. They are going through a full renovation getting new carpet and furniture in all the rooms and public spaces. The colors are very vibrant and looks very modern. They are not done but, I got to peek in a room that was being renovated. I can't wait to come back in the summer to see what the finish product looks like.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choleycole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

This place is getting tired and shabby now. The doors are hanging off the cupboards and the furniture looks like it's come from a junk shop. I also found that the cupboard bases had been lined with either brown paper or cardboard. TVs are antiques and the signal is terrible. The room also hadn't been cleaned very well since there were crumbs and goodness knows what under the beds. This is my last stay here, in the future I will be looking for alternative accommodation, especially at the prices these guys are charging.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian71037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
593 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

This wasn't up to the standards of other Residence Inns we have been to. Saying that, it was nice enough. There was a fireplace, which I was unaware of before arrival. The community had an apartment-like feel (and the units had a full kitchen), so that would be great for a long term stay. We stayed two nights and were very comfortable. There was an outdoor pool that was very pretty at night and yummy hot breakfast. One huge plus - the pull out sofa was unbelievably comfortable, no joke. We didn’t even know we were on a pull out, it felt like a bed. I would stay here again, but I have to say I would check into Springhill Suites first (which was unavailable during the weekend we were there.) Springhill has nicer amenities and feels newer.

  • Liked — The location, the pull out sofa.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank explorepossibilities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2007

Stayed here twice during a Hollywood shoot in Nov and December and both times found the place to be excellent. Had an upper room and a lower room. They are both very spacious with a living room and a desk, another table/desk where the fully functioning kitchen is and then a comfortable bed.

The place is done condo/townhouse style. I never heard another peep from anyone during my 3 week total stay.

There's lots of closet space and the shower is decent.

Plenty of food around - Ralph and Kakoos is just down the block and there's a 24 hour diner as well.

The place isn't easy to find... just look for the Holiday Inn and its right past.

Its very convenient to the Louisiana boardward (just 2 exits away) and for those addicted to Starbucks, there's one a mile to the North.

Overall, I was very pleased. I also understand they have 2 story 2br suites for families as well..

Almost forgot, the pool is open until 10 and they have their own laundry room as well

  • Liked — The Room
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank matthew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2005

This Residence Inn has seen better days. Decor is old and worn.

That being said, the staff were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2005, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bossier City hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bossier City
La Quinta Inn Bossier City
#18 of 35 in Bossier City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 35 in Bossier City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#16 of 35 in Bossier City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Shreveport-Bossier City
0.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Shreveport Bossier City
2.4 mi away
Ramada Bossier City
Ramada Bossier City
#23 of 35 in Bossier City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Property: MainStay Suites
Address: 1001 Gould Drive, Bossier City, LA 71111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Bossier City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Bossier City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Manager Social(Lite Dinner) Mon and Wed evening 4.30 pm till 7.30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing