We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like the Pony"s” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrah's Louisiana Downs

Harrah's Louisiana Downs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the Super Derby is a world-class track offering both quarter horse and thoroughbred racing.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
239 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“If you like the Pony"s”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Have been here several times, fun place to spend the afternoon. We now rent a box, third deck a lot better for kids and view doesn't help to pick winners.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    775
    412
    299
    85
    93
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good facility that could be great again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

The last time I was at Louisiana Downs was before I was old enough to place a bet. I remember a palace of horse racing. I don't think anyone could call it a palace but it could be good again. It is still a very good facility compared to other horse complexes of its size and age but could use a facelift and expansion. I recommend LAD to any other fans of horseracing.

The Casino is pretty good as well but felt cramped and could use an expansion as well. The Total Rewards and Promotions personell we very helpful and friendly despite the volume of people they were attending.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“We went for the gambling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

It has been a number of years since our last visit. We stopped going because customer service was non-existent. That has changed! Very friendly now.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank girlgodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shreveport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great horse racing with a casino attached ( machines only)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Several new hotels on the property and fabulous steak and bar b que rest. across the street. The track runs quality horses and offers off track betting. Casino is very popular with locals and out of towners

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank randyhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
235 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Checked it out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Now I'm not a huge horse racing fan but this place looks really run down outside broken down. The inside is also incredibly worn and gloomy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShadowAce888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harrah's Louisiana Downs also viewed

 

Been to Harrah's Louisiana Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing